We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what is offered” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hosteria Del Mar to your Saves list
Hosteria Del Mar
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Tapia St | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 San Juan B&B and Inns
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what is offered”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the hotel since we were attending a wedding there. We tried calling several times during the week with no answer to telephone calls. The room we had needs refurbishing to the furniture, curtains, bathroom, airconditioning (which did not cool the room), screens and lamps. We had a room with beach view but the screens were so broken etc we could not see through them. The wedding ceremony and recepción áreas were very pretty and the service was good. I find the rooms are deteriorated for the rate being paid. Although we were not able to enjoy the beach because of bad weather, it is right on a pretty beach which is a plus. It is really a shame that such a pretty place is not taken better care of. Bear in mine that I am a resident of Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    95
    51
    38
    57
See reviews for
50
124
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My original review got rejected, so here's my attempt to tone it down some...

You can't beat the hotel's location on the beach, but this place is *edit* unpleasant. We were 'upgraded' from an ocean front standard to an apartment. That just meant that we had a dirty kitchen to go with the dirty room. I'm not that picky when it comes to accommodation, and I've hosteled with the best of em. But when there's a half-eaten Snickers waiting for you in the kitchen, a rusty refrigerator, a bed sloping toward the middle, hair on the bed, and a *edit* moldy smell... that's too much. *edit* If you want to use this beach, which is great, then you can do that. It's in a gated community, but you'll find the way in. *edit*

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

we stayed recently because we have no power at home (near hotel). expecting to forget problems and enjoy our stay we paid for upgraded room. we went out for dinner and when get back found no hospitality at all, treated like strangers. no basics (ice, glasses, refrigerator, soap, towels). broken-damaged things (shower-no hot water, screens, a/c). no cleaning (floors, hallways). no peace (shower leaking all night, noise coming from outside, workers making all kind of noises in the morning). no interest in providing guests with the best due to lack of commitment, management, dedication. fire cabinet has no fire hose. no fire alarms. no signage. no printer to process your registration and payment. lack of sufficient public toilet rooms. restaurant hours are not always the same and full menu is unavailable most times.

Room Tip: search at other guesthouses, b&b and inns nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel should be condemned! We have been going there for 3 years and this will be our last. Yes it has a beautiful ocean view but the last room I had was not renovated. the maid did a lousy job cleaning, The balcony was never swept. The sheets were old and were never changed. I constantly had to ask for towels and hangers. They only had 1 key for the room available. There was never hot water. The toilet broke and took them a while to fix. They changed their menu and no longer serve breakfast which use to be complimentary. The beach chairs are old and on the weekends the locals take them leaving paid customers without. The owners are never there. We were very disappointed with the new menu. It wasn't kid friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel while in the Ocean Park area of Puerto Rico for 2 nights. We stayed in Room 106 which had a beautiful ocean view. Our room was clean and the bathroom was renovated with plenty of towels and toiletries, however, we never had hot water. The room had a safe and the air conditioning worked great. We found the staff to be friendly and accommodating, especially Maria and Eduardgo. One electrical outlet was loose and we had a shortage of plugs to charge our phones. The door to the outside deck area was hard to open due to a board being too high on the recently renovated deck which blocked the door opening and you had to lift the door handle up to get out. All these problems were reported to management before leaving.

This hotel did not serve breakfast, but had some coffee in the lobby for guests. The only WiFi access is in the lobby. This hotel is in a neighborhood setting and there are restaurants and a nice Walgreen's within walking distance. Our favorite restaurant was Molini's. President Obama's picture is on the wall at Kasalta when he last visited Puerto Rico. We found the food in Puerto Rico to be more expensive than expected. Also, the cab fare from the airport which is fairly close to Hosteria Del Mar is $19 plus $1 for each bag which we also found expensive. There is a city gate that locks every night at 6PM and you will only have one entry gate back to the hotel after 6PM. You can catch a bus for 75 cents in front of Walgreen's to Old San Juan and there is a free white tourist tram which drives you all around Old San Juan. The cruise ships come in on Saturday and Sunday and the place is packed, so if you can visit Old San Juan another day then it won't be so crowded. There were 3 cruise ships docked one day while we were there.

Room Tip: Room 106 has a recently renovated bathroom and an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I called Hosteria Del Mar and made a room reservation. At the time of the call, the owner of the hotel told me that if I needed to cancel the reservation, it needed to be canceled 14 days before the date of arrival or I would be charged a $25 cancelation fee. My travel plans changed and I needed to cancel the room an entire month before I was scheduled to arrive. I was told then that I would be charged a $25 fee just for canceling. They indicated that I can find the cancelation policy on-line, but I would have had to have made the reservation via the web site to see it. This hotel is fleecing customers, lies about its cancelation policies, and then claims that it should have been seen online, which it is not there unless you book a room online. I travel to PR frequently and will need a place to stay regularly - several times a year. Hosteria Del Mar certainly will not be one of those places, with its tricky policies, and generally poor management. If I were you, I'd think twice about this place, which is apparently so hard up for money it makes people who aren't staying there pay-up. I've traveled to many countries, over the last 15 years and this is a first --- paying $25 for canceling 1 month in advance. Amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

the hotel is somewhat run down but the management is doing some upgrade and the staff was very friendly.Our first unit was clean but shabby. On our second stay we had a large, clean and upgraded room in the back quite comfortable but right beside the generator and noisier. The restaurant is open from 11.00 on and the food was excellent. The beach is right at the door step and goes on for miles. It is a residential area not many restaurant around but a very good bakery close by,perfect for breakfast.
It was a good place for our first and last day of our stay in Puerto Rico and not far from the airport

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hosteria Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Del Mar

Address: 1 Tapia St | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hosteria Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hosteria Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Del Mar Hotel San Juan
Hosteria Del Mar San Juan
Hosteria Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.