We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute beachfront inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tres Palmas Inn

Save Saved
You added Tres Palmas Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tres Palmas Inn
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2212 Park Boulevard, San Juan 00913, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 San Juan B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cute beachfront inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent one night at the Tres Palmas at the beginning of our Puerto Rico trip.

The property is right across the street from the beach, and was definitely a nice welcome to the island. Our room was not the cleanest, but manageable for one night, and a decent size.

Breakfast was standard - cereal, milk, pastries. It was enough to get us on the road, but nothing incredible.

The layout of the inn is also really nice - there are lots of areas to sit, a small pool, hammocks, etc. You could really just chill out here. We unfortunately had to be out in the morning to get to Fajardo but would have enjoyed relaxing in the hammocks staring at the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your layover. Tank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope you come and visit us again soon. We will keep working hard and doing our best to make each of our guest happy.

Once againg thak you and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    76
    30
    5
    0
See reviews for
57
158
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I chose this hotel to stay for one night as I was going on a cruise the next day. It was about 15 minutes from the cruise port. I was surprised by the room as it was much bigger than I expected. It's like a small apartment. When I walked in, there was a small sitting area with bar stools, a full refrigerator, microwave, stove, and even dishes to use. There was an actual bedroom to go inside of, and a full bathroom. It was across the street from the beach, and perfect for a one night stay.

The one thing I want to point out about this place that many hotels can learn is that the staff here is AMAZING!!! They were so helpful. I arrived with two large bags and was walking with a cane. The person who checked me in knew I was coming and called me by name when I arrived. Instead of telling me where my room was, he actually walked me to my room. He really tried to take my bags for me, but of course I'm stubborn and didn't let him. The next morning, they served us breakfast. Again...the staff was extremely helpful.

Thanks so much for a pleasant stay. I won't forget you guys ever!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for this amazing review! We appreciate being the hotel of your choice for your layover. It thrills us to know that you had such a wonderful experience. Our staff is always looking for ways to make each guest's experience the best as possible. We do hope to see you again on future visits to Puerto Rico!

Once again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

If you prefer small inns/B&B's vs a large hotel, this is a great alternative. We had room 10 which was recently refurbished. It was bright, spacious, immaculately clean, and comfortable beds. The staff here was so helpful and pleasant, especially Jose, who we mostly dealt with. We met the owner, Edwin, the day we were checking out and he was delightful and very much wanted to know of our experience there and if we had any suggestions for improvement. They serve a nice little continental breakfast outside (covered overhead) and one morning Jose even made us French toast. The ocean is right across the street but a bit rocky for swimming so I'd recommend going a few blocks down the beach to Ocean Park if you want to swim. The place had a unique little ambience with how the rooms, all with their own exterior door, are laid out and nicely private. It's a bit of a walk to the nearest restaurants in either direction, but if you enjoy a nice walk then you're good. On this particular trip I was traveling with a girlfriend, but I'd love to come back with my husband if I ever get back to San Juan.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We want to thank you for this amazing review! Our employees love reading reviews like this one. They are passionate about their work and the guests are their motivation. After all how can you not be happy working in a relaxing place and surrounded with guests from around the world. Thanks for sharing your experience with us and hope you can come back and have a new experience in Tres Palmas Inn!

Once again Thank You and we hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Wonderful small hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the roof-top terrace with a view of the ocean and the many outdoor seating arrangements. A few blocks to restaurants and market. Swimming pool is lovely and hot tubs available, You can cab from the airport and "relax". A light breakfast outdoors 7-10. Bus or cab to Old San Juan or swim across the street. A little further on foot and you are in Condado for more restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend a stay at Tres Palmas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for this amazing review! We have been working hard to make Tres Palmas Inn a better Inn. We are happy knowing that your experience here was such a great one and that enjoyed all the new improvements. We do hope to see you on future visits to Puerto Rico!

Once again we thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon. Tres Palmas is a great alternative to the bigger resorts. We planned on being out of the room most of the time so we couldn't justify paying the ridiculous prices and fees some of the resort hotels were charging. The inn has beach access (after you cross a small road), serves a great continental breakfast, and has a nice pool to relax in. They also let you have full access to bikes, beach chairs, hammocks without additional charges. There are supposedly hot tubs on the roof, but it was undergoing renovations at the time. The room was very small and we had a hard time finding a spot to put our luggage where we wouldn't trip over it. Overall, the hotel is great if you only need to stay a few nights.

Room Tip: Rooms are fairly small. Make sure you get a room that is big enough for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your visit to our beautiful island and for taking the time to share your experience. We are working hard to make Tres Palmas Inn an even better Inn. We just finished remodeling our roof top terrace and placed a new hot tub, we also added a second hot tub next to the pool area. We do invite you to stay with us again so that you can enjoy all the improvements and our new look!

Once again thank you for this great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We loved our stay at the Tres Palmas inn. They have a wonderful online site where you can pick your room from and see the property. A 360 picture exploration.
The beach being across the street was a joy. Having chairs provided to sit there was a good feature. Bikes were there to ride also.
We enjoyed the free delivery feature from local restaurants. So we didn't have to drive at all.
Not only that, they would make the call and order for us.
The pool was charming and cool. A wonderful place to wait after checkout until you need to get to your plane or boat. They are very helpful with giving you a place to chill while awaiting your port times...or plane times.
The breakfast was wonderful and you even had homemade pancakes or oatmeal. Good tasting coffee and orange juice. Among other items like bagels, and many breakfast delights.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view suite for a nice view and large area. Also room 15 on the first level has a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We want to thank you for this amazing review! It thrills us to know that you were able to enjoy all that features that we provide. We love hearing about our guests experiences, specially now that we are remodeling and improving our breakfast options. It lets us know that we are making the right decisions and the right changes.

We do hope you will visit us again soon! Once again thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed 2 nights and found the staff and service to be exceptional. The room was comfortable and quiet and the view to the sea was lovely. The place has beach chair, bicycles and other gear that can be used and the pool is big enough for swimming. It is a bit of a walk to restaurants and shops but there is excellent, if unpredictable bus service to old San Juan. The breakfast was adequate but could be improved with a bit more fruit.

A wonderful choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing Tres Palmas Inn for your stay at Puerto Rico! We do appreciate the time you took to write this wonderful review and thank you for sharing your experience. We do hope you visit us again soon so that you can enjoy our new style. We have been working hard and remodeling the hotel little by little. Also the breakfast has been improved we are starting to add more items to our continental breakfast like french toast, pancakes and oatmeal!

Once again thank you, and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tres Palmas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tres Palmas Inn

Address: 2212 Park Boulevard, San Juan 00913, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tres Palmas Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tres Palmas Inn have new Owners and is under new managements. We are in one of the most beautiful sandy beaches of the San Juan area, only 10 minutes from the airport and Old San Juan. Our 18 room beachfront inn is a delightful alternative to traditional high priced and crowded hotels. We combine the warmth, hospitality and personal attention of a bed and breakfast with a good quality product, offering many of the facilities of big and expensive hotels at a much lower price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tres Palmas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Palmas Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tres Palmas Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.