We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historical site” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo de San Cristobal

Castillo de San Cristobal
Calle Norzagaray | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
787-729-6777
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #3 of 103 attractions in San Juan
Type: Historic Sites, Military Bases/ Facilities
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This massive 27-acre series of fortifications is the largest the Spanish built in the New World.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great historical site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The fort itself was fascinating but signage and/or directions are poor. We did not know there was an introductory movie until our 2nd visit and then had to ask where the theater was. (Maybe that explains why we were the only people in the theater.) There was a sign saying there would be a ranger talk on the hour at the main plaza. We waited at the main plaza and no one showed up. Later we found a little room near the gift shop that is where the rangers are stationed. They said there wasn't a talk because no one showed up. Somehow it needs to be made more clear where to meet.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    933
    403
    41
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the highlight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We paid to get into the place and it was well worth it. It was amazing all the history and how much we learned, we easily could have spent a whole day exploring both of the forts.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“CASTILLO SAN CRISTOBAL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

A must see during any visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico. There is plenty to see and do so get there with lots of time. If you are traveling with kids make sure you ask one of the park rangers about the Jr. Ranger program. The kids will get a small booklet with information and questions about the history of the fort. Once completed they take it back to the rangers who review it and then are presented with a certificate and souvenir jr, ranger badge. My kids and I had a great time walking the grounds.

The only problem this attraction has is the lack of parking with barely 12 parking spaces, many of which are taken up by tour vans and buses. I parked in the streets nearby and was rewarded with a $25 parking ticket.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Fantastic views of Old San Juan. We could see our ship in the harbor from on top of the fort. So great to tour and learn about the history. Would recommend, but keep an eye on your children, there are some high tricky places.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Historic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I booked a tour via Viator that included the Bacardi Distillery, Old San Juan and Castillo de San Cristobal. Visiting this fort was truly unique and historic. There was much to see and we really enjoyed it. Would definitely recommend visiting this site when in PR.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castillo de San Cristobal also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Castillo de San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castillo de San Cristobal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Castillo de San Cristobal to your Saves list