We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Convento to your Saves list
Hotel El Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
purrfctprncss
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

This was a great hotel, great location, great restaurant and happy hour. We stayed there for 2 days and enjoyed every minute of it. I would definitely recommend El Convento 100%.

  • Liked — location, all employees were extremely nice and helpful
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    321
    84
    57
    22
See reviews for
241
1,041
67
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

The El Convento is a beautiful old hotel. The rooms are rustic (it's an old building!), but very charming. The courtyard is gorgeous with beautiful palms, plants and flowers. There are all kinds of nooks and
niches to check out in the hotel--patios, restaurants, bars, a library!

The staff was very friendly and helpful and our room was kept very clean for the entire stay.

The location is great for exploring Old San Juan on foot. There are many bars, restaurants and shops in the area. If you don't absolutely
need a car, don't get one! Driving in Old San Juan is a nightmare. The streets are just too narrow, and parking is practically impossible. However the hotel does have a valet parking service available.

We'll definitely go back again.

  • Liked — The beautiful courtyard
  • Disliked — The view from our room wasn't the greatest, but who cares! We were outside all day.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

We stayed at the El Convento for 2 nights and really admired the charm and architecture of the building. The hotel is in an old convent and retains much of its Spanish style architecture. Our room was clean with details that made you feel like you weren't in your typical, everyday room. From the art on the wall (black and white photographs), to the alarm clock/CD player (Bose), and the brand new flat screen TVs the hotel went that extra step to justify the expensive price.

The hotel also hosted a daily wine & cheese bar from 6-7 for all hotel guests free of charge. There was also a full bar based on the honor system for those who wanted more than just wine to drink. It was so nice to finish a day of traveling around Old San Juan with a glass of wine, watching the sun set on the terrace. Speaking of the terrace, the "pool" is very tiny and is more like a dipping pool. We didn't mind because when we're in cities, we get out and explore. That said, it was still very nice to cool off after a hot day exploring the city.

Other than that, the staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Our rooms were always cleaned and the location was fantastic. We were able to walk everywhere we needed to go. The only reason I didn't get ive it 5 stars is because it is expensive. I don't stay in a lot of hotels in this price range so I can't compare it with other hotels at this price, but I think that accomodations in Puerto Rico tend to be pretty expensive in general. I did move on to the Westin Rio Mar after staying here and while the grounds of that hotel were nice, I still think it was lacking some of the charming extras that I received at El Convento.

  • Liked — The boutique hotel styling and details
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

I have to tell you I was not sure we made the right choice from some of the opinions I read,but this hotel is incredibly beautiful, in every corner is some ornate carving and the vegitation around is not to be believed! The fortress down the street is amazing! If you want an experience and excellant service in a plush setting, this is the place for you, if your looking for a generic American style hotel you won't be happy. The small pool is amazing and the wine and cheese is wonderful, they also have coffee and an honor bar that is available all the time on the 3rd floor. The room itself is cozy and immaculate. We got a bay view for $245.00 a night simply by calling the hotel directly. There is a flat screen tv and bose stereo in the room and outside you can have your morning coffee listening to the birds and looking at the amazing tree in the courtyard.Try the tapas and champagne sangria at night. The music is great! We stayed at 3 hotels in Puerto Rico and this was by far the best.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

My wife was labeled the 'Queen of the El Convento' by the assistant manager while he was reserving her a visit to the 'Eden Spa'. The label well describes the type of treatment my wife received from the staff of the El Convento. The whole experience during our stay was beyond expectation. The hotel is historic and charming. The architecture and the artwork (Salon Martorell) is amazing. The staff is very warm and friendly and go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel restaurants are great and the hotel is in the heart of historic Old San Juan. I just can't say enough about the friendly, helpful staff. We can tell that customer satisfaction is a high priority at this establishment and we were definitely satisfied. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Puerto Rico.

For a wonderful dining experience visit 'Baru' located a few blocks from the hotel.

  • Liked — Location in Old San Juan and the wonderful experience
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

I, like others on this website, am torn about my time spent at El Convento.

The hotel itself is majestic. Located in the heart of Old San Juan, my wife and I were able to walk to all of our desired sights. We enjoyed the complementary wine and cheese reception every evening and also enjoyed the plunge pool on the roof of the hotel. The rooms were like history themselves with modern updates - vaulted ceilings, Spanish marble floors juxtaposed with a Bose CD player and flat screen TV.

That being said, my wife and I paid over $400 (US) to stay at the hotel. When we first arrived, our bathroom did not appear to be cleaned (urine stains on the toilet seat) and it took three phone calls to get someone to clean it. Additionally, we rented a car while in San Juan - somehow a light was left on in the car (we think by the valet as he was in the car last although we are not sure) and were not apologized to for this inconvenience nor were we helped by the hotel staff.

Overall, our stay was nice (this is a very nice hotel, please do not get me wrong) although for the money we spent we expected so much more.

  • Liked — Location; old world charm
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2007

On a recent trip to Puerto Rico my wife and I had the opportunity to leave the kids with family and get away for a little time by ourselves. After receiving recommendations from family and friends we decided to stay at the El Convento Hotel.

We were not disappointed!

The beauty and grandeur of the hotel with it's high ceilings, arched doorways and marble floors impacted us as soon as we walked through the front doors. The walkways between the rooms and the courtyard were wide and airy. The courtyard with the nispero tree and tropical plants is tranquil and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed -- they even have electricity and running water (a thing unheard of in buildings built over 300 years ago:-) . The restaurants are great; we particularly enjoyed a relaxing late night visit with friends at El Picoteo over Cafe-con-leche, Tres Leches cake and Creme Brulee. However, if you prefer to find a place off property ther are many options to choose from and all within walking distance from the hotel.

We found the staff to be attentive, helpful and friendly, a combination not often found in hotels of the caliber of El Convento.

Located in historic Old San Juan, sharing the old city's charm and allure while adding to it a blend of old and new to create an atmosphere that is both unique and captivating, my wife put it best when she described El Convento Hotel as "a feast for the senses".

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.