We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Convento to your Saves list
Hotel El Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Flawless Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just wanted to extend our gratitude to the Convento Team (Ruben, Dovian & Glorimar). Their hard work and timely diligence ensured that our wedding at El Convento was a successful event. Location, Service and Logistics could not have been better. Kudos to them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,390
    352
    93
    61
    24
See reviews for
259
1,128
70
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This renovated convent is in a great location to explore Old San Juan on foot. It is a beautiful property, with several excellent restaurants. The evening wine reception is a very nice ammenity, with a variety of Spanish wines and local cheese. The service is also excellent, and the rooms are well-appointed, and include internet access. The rooftop pool and jacuzzi provide a nice view of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great hotel right smack dead in the middle of San Juan. The open air concept is very beautiful and stays true to the local charm of PR. The room was very comfortable and loved the black out curtains. Loved having the free water so we could stay hydrated in the warm climate. Also, the 6-7 wine hour is a nice plus and great way to meet new friends. The food in hotel was surprisingly good. The only negative was the elevators were broke during our stay and my wife was on crutches so that created a problem. They did let us use the service elevator but this required going through the kitchen and seeing the bowels of the hotel.

If you are looking for an "American" style, big, full service, fully air-conditioned hotel, this is not the place for you. Also, I would say PR is probably not the place for you either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EROSA, General Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear BWALTZ,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay. I am glad that your enjoyed the open air concept, wine reception, comfortable room and included amenities. I apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort due to our main elevator being out of service. We are expecting a part from out of the island that is scheduled to arrive this week. In the meantime our guests have access to our secondary elevator although many prefer to use the open air stairs. I look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Efrain Rosa
General manager
erosa@elconvento.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

El Convento is the place to be if you are looking to explore old town San Juan and find old world charm. The location is great. The staff is also by most interactions... was excellent. (Even though they appeared pulled in too many directions at times). The turn down service and free ice water was a nice surprise.
However, a couple of things a guest may want to know.
1. Air conditioning: be aware the entire complex has no A/C except your immediate room. That would be fine, but the A/C units in the two rooms I was in had trouble keeping up. The room never got cooler than 76, running all day and night. (No ceiling fans) Be ready to be perspiring in and out of your room.
2. Valet and signage: there was never a valet/porter on the front patio helping you with your luggage from the parking across the street, getting a cab, or in general. I had to call at least 3 times for directions driving into town (and drove around the block twice) and never saw where to valet the car until a local pointed me the parking lot. (I would have thought some one would be ever present in this critical welcoming area outside). Also, I think its safer when a representative of the hotel directs you to a taxi, rather than cab drivers hailing you.

Also Note: the only guest elevator was out our entire 5 day stay. We were fine, but I saw many guests and staff struggling with this. Signs went up on day 2, directing us to service elevators if we wanted. I would have thought this would be a emergency for the establishment.

Over all the visit was good and if you are looking to soak in Old San Juan you will be fine here.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't put you next to the plunge pool. The pool motor runs all night. We had to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This small, multi-centurian hotel (a former convent) in the center of Old San Juan is your first choice unless you care nothing about the history of this part of the world. In spite of the age of the bones of the building, the rooms, bathrooms, public spaces and amenities are up to date and comfortable, and the staff – without exception -- is friendly and helpful. Spend some time with the first floor afternoon bartender, Luis, and you will have made a new friend for life. For breakfast, lunch and dinner, there are many wonderful restaurants within a short walking distance in addition to the hotel restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I celebrated an occasion for a few days. We were treated like very special guests and had a fine time. Our room was comfortable, well decorated, and quiet, with a window overlooking a silent pedestrian street, viewing a slice of ocean over the roofs. The third floor coffee/water bar turns into a wine and cheese happening each evening at six. Its terrace, and the pool/sun deck just above, offer super views over the roofs, a shady plaza, and the cathedral just opposite. It is perfectly central, and one may easily walk everywhere. I suggest you not drive, but take a taxi to and from the airport, as the narrow streets are choked and parking is almost non-existent. Those streets are great for walkng and taking a million pictures.
We at a fine meal at their middle restaurant (there are three), and found some super dining spots in the area very close. OSJ is interesting, colorful, friendly and fun. We felt safe on the streets at night, too.
Again, we received what felt like exceptional treatment. One evening at the pool, we were seen by the asst. manager, who returned momentarily with an ice bucket, two glasses, and a bottle of bubbly. What a nice gesture for a special moment under the stars! When we checked out, we were waitng for an evening flight. They offerd us a key to the public spaces, so we could pass the afternoon lounging by the pool. Again...pretty special.
This hotel is, for me, a big splash-out. But.. the cost/value ratio is tops; it's well worth what they ask. I hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine, comfortable, quiet, and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hotel El Convento is right in the middle of Old San Juan, which is exactly what we wanted. We were able to easily walk to all of the main points of interest with no problems. Hotel El Convento was very charming and we enjoyed lounging in its patios overlooking the city. The coffee is delicious and the wine and cheese hour from 6-7pm was definitely a perk. There are cats everywhere outside the hotel, but we only saw one or two actually inside the hotel. The cats didn't bother us anyway. The concierge was extremely helpful and I felt like they were really looking out for us. Special shoutout goes to Franklin for helping us find a rental car last minute! The restaurant inside the hotel's courtyard was delicious and if you stay here, consider eating here at least once. We felt very safe walking around Old San Juan during the day and only a little unsafe at night. There were police officers at most of the main intersections which really eased my mind. Overall, staying at Hotel El Convento was a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone considering a stay in Old San Juan!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.