We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel- hands down.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Convento

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Convento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Hotel- hands down.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at El Convento for one night. We wish we could have stayed longer. This was a magnificent hotel. From the very beginning at the front desk we were greeted with smiling and helpful faces. We booked a standard Queen sized room but were pleasantly surprised to receive a complimentary upgrade from the hotel, just because. We were put into the Vanderbilt Suite. WOW!!! What a room. Not only did we have a fabulous bed and HUGE bathroom, but the room also included its own dining area and sitting parlor!! Needless to say, we didn't want to leave the room. The overall ambiance and look of the hotel is fabulous.

Make sure to hit the evening free wine and cheese reception, very classy. The plunge pool was very quaint and quiet. If you are looking for an upscale, quiet, and friendly hotel-- look no further! We will go back again, no question.

Room Tip: The Vanderbilt Suite is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,212
    300
    82
    54
    22
See reviews for
225
972
63
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed 7 nights in this beautiful hotel in the middle of San Juan. If you want to explore Puerto Rico it is in an ideal location and the assistance of the Reception staff with arrangements was much appreciated. We loved the wine and cheese reception every evening and thought this really added to the friendly ambiance, and the roof top pool and jacuzzi was absolutely wonderful. We thought the food and drinks for purchase at the hotel were very reasonably priced for a hotel of this nature and all the staff were lovely - especially Tony in the Patio Del Nispero. the hotel combined a chilled holiday with as may sporting and sight seeing opportunities as you could want - delightful------------------------ and as my no 1 criteria is comfy beds they were really delicious - with quality bed linen too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Hamilton, Bermuda
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I will start by saying that the overall experience was very good. The Front of House staff are excellent and really went out of their way to help.
There were a few minor issues that should be noted:
1. Breakfast service was unbelievably slow. My wife and I sang "..everyday we're shuffling" at the breakfast table. How long should toasted bread and a cup of coffee take? 45 minutes? - now to be fair Caroline the manager of the restaurant called me in my room in the afternoon to apologize for the poor service. She went out of her way to ensure that the matter was corrected. Well done.
2. San Juan has power problems. During the time when we were there July 1st to July 5th 2013, there were power outages in the guest rooms , daily, for an hour or more per day, at random times. sometimes in the morning, sometimes in the evening. This means no lights, and no A/C. - Now to be fair, this is not the hotels fault. This is a problem with the infrastructure in San Juan. The hotel front of house staff were very nice and removed some minor hotel charges as compensation, which they did on their own, without asking. On the plus side, the power outages added to the adventure.

The room had very high ceilings and was nicely appointed and had a great view of a small alleyway at the back. One of the nice highlights was the managers cheese and wine party every night at 6 pm on the 3rd floor terrace. The cheese was excellent, the wine was excellent and it was a popular and social event every evening. There was a good camaraderie for guests to discuss power outages over a glass of chilled Prosecco.

One additional thing to mention. The air conditioning system in the rooms was incredibly noisy. I was very glad that it worked, but it quite honestly starts up with a "click, BANG" followed by the A/C noise that was similar to standing in the toilet of an inflight 747. After 3 days we got used to it. I was glad that it worked. and it was cold air. But it had a mind of it's own and randomly switched on or off depending on how it felt.

Overall it was a great experience. Come with a sense of history and adventure. Don't expect the Mandarin Oriental, but do expect warm and friendly staff making an historic building do it's best..

Oh one last thing. If you look up in the courtyard just after sunset, there are bats flying around the tree. This is amazing. Sit and have a glass of wine at the 6pm cocktail hour and watch the bats. It's the best kept secret.

Room Tip: Anything with a high ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for just two nights but it was wonderful. The location was perfect, staff was helpful and friendly. We had two adults and three teenage children. There was two doubles and a pullout sofa. They had a wine and cheese reception in the evenings and water, tea and coffee available all day. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: They have a AAA rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Overall, the hotel was quaint and the staff was very nice. I was not impressed at all with Old San Juan. Lots of graffiti, traffic, rough walking and generally disappointing. The hotel was expensive in terms of meals and the food was very ordinary. They did offer round the clock complimentary coffee, water and a wine and cheese tasting every afternoon. The pool is minuscule for a hotel this size. I had a good time because my entire family was there but I have NO desire to ever go back to Old San Juan, the hotel or PR.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here last week as a family with two children (13 months and 9 years). We booked a one bedroom suite (room 303 I think) which had a bed in the lounge for the 9 year old and a crib. We were very pleased with the rooms which were large and spacious and decorated in a basic chaming period style in keeping with the hotel. The hotel itself is a delightful historic building with a wonderful central courtyard and various other overlooks to the main streets below on the other floors. We dined at the tapas restaurant and thought it was rather good quality with very friendly service and a wonderful view of the courtyard and the bats flying around the central tree.

As throughout Puerto Rico the staff were unfailing helpful with the children and more than willing to engage them. We stayed as a family but this place has all the elements required for a romantic San Juan escape. The location could not be better on probably the most charming square in old San Juan with the Cathedral and the original road down to the City's historic gates. Everything is an easy walk. I drove a rental car to the hotel and it does take a little getting used to driving old San Juan's very narrow one way streets but once you understand the street grid its simple enough. Utilizing the hotel valet is essential as parking spots are very rare to see.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is one of those places worth even just for a night. An old convent turned boutique hotel, it is a once in a lifetime opportunity. Everything from the court yard to the room is marvelous and all wishes are taken care of to the finest detail. The location is superb, steps from the fort and city center. If you are not careful, you, you begin to feel as if you've stepped back in time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convento 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.