We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Convento

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Convento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 47 hotels in San Juan
lakewood, ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at Hotel El Convento during the last 2 days of our 10 day Puerto Rican adventure. We really enjoyed the location of the hotel, as well as the drinks and breakfasts that we had. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Our room was nice and kept clean while we were there, although upon arrival, we did find quite a bit of sand on the floor, which was odd. Old San Juan is such a beautiful city that we didn't spend a ton of time there, but were really glad that we stayed there. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,208
    298
    80
    54
    22
See reviews for
224
967
63
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gretna, Louisiana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here one night and the location, in the heart of Old San Juan, could not be beat. It's very pricey, though. Everyone was friendly. We had trouble finding the valet parking area and when I called for direction they were very vague. Also, there was only one woman working the check-in area and she kept having to answer the phone so we had to wait a while (and when u r as tired as I was, from travel, that was irritating). We also had the room next to the elevator and I was not too happy about that. As a rule, I sleep with earplugs when traveling b/c I am such a light sleeper, but I thought this room should definitely come with a warning and a discount. The wine and cheese at 6pm was a nice touch. The view is great. All in all, everyone was nice; the woman at the counter was very helpful in referring a local restaurant and the bellman helped us with parking the car when we made a wrong turn. My husband wanted to go all out on this trip, b/c normally we stay at more budget-friendly hotels. The room was reasonably clean and it was nice to have coffee available and bottled waters.

Room Tip: stay away from the elevator!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I spent 5 nights here on my honeymoon in late June 2013. This was truly one of the finest hotels I've ever stayed at.

Rooms: We were in room 302 which was very large (we were prepared and expected a much smaller room based on reviews) and had a king sized bed. We had a walkout to the 3rd floor patio that overlooked the cathedral and square immediately in front of the hotel. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Room was well air conditioned. Bathroom was a very good size and had a very large rainfall shower. The room itself was immaculately clean and had a wonderful charm from its decorations.

Amenities: Wi-fi was fast and strong. There was an in room mini fridge and safe. Excellent quality toiletries (Aveda shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc.). The 6-7pm manager's wine/cheese reception was a really nice touch with some very drinkable wines (mostly Spanish - a couple of Riojas, a couple whites and always one Cava). Room had a high end Bose sound system which we made good use of. There were a couple of bars inside the hotel that were really nice - drinks and food were outstanding if a bit on the pricey side. We really loved all of the places around the hotel to sit and read or people watch.

Location: In one word: perfect. Everything in Old San Juan is within walking distance. You're really not more than a relaxed 10 minute walk away from great bars/restaurants, shopping, historic sites. There was a grocery store and a Walgreens about 3 blocks away. If you are looking for a place close to a beach (we weren't), this isn't the hotel for you.

Staff: Everyone was very helpful and the level of service was generally as you'd expect from a 5 star hotel. We arrived about an hour before our room was ready for the 3pm check-in and we were offered a key to the facilities on the 3rd floor so we could change, get some water/coffee and relax. After 6hrs on planes, that was greatly appreciated.

For a relaxing and romantic vacation, I couldn't imagine a better hotel in San Juan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel was worth the price.

Chairs and tables in the logia outside your room.
Very friendly and helpful staff
Peaceful well appointed (not large) room
Bose stereo
Aveda Toiletries
Robes and slippers
Coqui
Great location
Friendly (but not overly) hotel cats
Wine and Cheese every night 6-7pm
Coffee, Tea, Water, Fruit available all day
Turn down service everynight

Didn't see a single bug (which is odd for the tropics), but there are bats in the courtyard tree. True to their nature they stayed in the tree top and the open courtyard and NEVER came in the logia.

I was not impressed with the restaurants (except the pizza place) and the fact that the blender was broken the entire time we were there.

Room Tip: 518 almost the end was a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Puerto Rico. We were blessed to be there during a record-breaking rainy June. Very humid. We looked like q-tips the majority of the time thanks to our naturally curly hair. The great part of the trip was our stay at Hotel El Convento. And we stayed there because it's the #1 rated place in Old San Juan. We now know why. The place is beautifully set in the old city, surrounded by narrow cobble stone streets and old-growth trees. The building surrounds a courtyard with trees, the restaurant, a sitting area, and Puerto Rican frogs that you never see but you can hear. They chirp like birds - could be annoying if you don't decide on having a non-critical, appreciative attitude.
Our room was, at first, not very impressive. It was cool, thanks to the wonder of air conditioning, and it was cool, thanks to the old world flooring, trim, bathroom fixtures, wall textures, and louvered, original doors that opened to our view of surrounding rooftops and the bay. We grew to appreciate the combination of modern features and antique details. The place was kept very clean - the room, the covered, yet open hallways (they open to the courtyard), and all areas we explored within the hotel. We were on the fifth floor which was very quiet and serene. The pool deck is small but nice, and kept clean and orderly.
We toured Old San Juan by foot and were always glad to come back and rest our weary feet at the hotel. There's restaurants near by (our favorite being Cafe Berlin) and we were happy to discover a Bad "Donkey" Coffee Shop (Avenida San Francisco) within a quick walk from the hotel. Our tip: skip the in-house restaurant. It was expensive, neutral in taste, and not enough to quench the appetite. I like more food with good taste for my money. Not there.
This hotel is not cheap - neither was the flight, the food, or my Bad "Donkey" T-shirt - but it's a good value that is well worth it.
The staff could not be friendlier unless they tucked you in at night and read you a story. We appreciated all of their friendly help and willingness to make our stay completely delightful. They assisted us in getting transportation to our next destination in Caquas. A destination who's memory we'd like to suppress while we concentrate on our wonderful experience at Hotel El Convento.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I wasn't able to spend a night at this beautiful hotel and this is the first time I'm writing a review of any place from many I've visited, I must start by saying that I was really impressed how well maintain is the property, cleanliness and architecture. Spending some time during the night at the main courtyard down this gorgeous tall fruit tree can not ask for more, as soon as we arrive we were received by the Restaurant Manager Salvatore (not sure about spelling) he greeted us and took us to a very nice table, he asked us if this was our first time at the hotel and if we were staying there, he treated us like VIP even though we were not guests, he introduced Monica as our server and she did everything to accomplished all our requests, the drinks, the food (amazing and delicious Puerto Rican food) was superb.... Honestly they did everything and beyond to make us feel like royalty although the place was a little bit crowded. When we were about to finish this great evening, Salvatore took some time to talk to us and had a great chat, he showed us some of the meeting rooms and the chapel which is amazing, told us a little bit about the history of the hotel... I can only thank you both for being so professional and attentive, We're sure that our next trip to Puerto Rico we will stay at this beautiful property.

Room Tip: Have no room tips but at Patio del Nispero you should try the snapper and the Puerto Rican fritters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Oxford, Pa.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We love this place. Last night sitting under an awning in the central courtyard with a tropical thunder boomer pouring down all around us, we enjoyed our cheese flan and an outstanding cup of coffee, while being serenaded by dozens of coqui frogs. Magic! So far the service has been phenomenal and the hotel is a grande dame with great class but a personal and very friendly touch making you feel like an old friend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convento 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.