We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Convento to your Saves list
Hotel El Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very pleased!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We chose to stay our first night in San Juan at the El Convento before heading east on the island. After a wonderful night we were torn to leave, and ended up wishing we would have evenly split our time at the EC, with our time at the beaches. All of our rooms were more luxurious than we had expected for the price, and the location is unmatched. I stayed in a first floor room, which initially worried me because of it's proximity to the bar and breakfast area, but it was far from a problem. The room had the original door followed by a modern sound proof door. The same existed for our covered terrace with couch, and water feature.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,383
    350
    92
    61
    24
See reviews for
259
1,123
70
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Staying in Old San Juan at Hotel El Convento was a fabulous experience. It is an island of relaxation and peace on the island. Everything was suberb, from the ambience to the furnishings, amenities, and staff. Personnel at the front desk were knowledgeable about the city and eager to help in any way-when we returned from a walk rather hot and sweaty, they immediately brought us bottles of ice water. Thecomplimentary daily wine and cheese reception and the hot coffee, tea, and fresh fruits as well as the ice cold bottles of water available 24 hours a day on the 3rd floor reception/patio area were a really nice touch. It was easy to socialize with others at the reception and at the 4th floor plunge pool and hot tub. The open courtyards and fountains and the adjacent park added to the atmosphere. The restaurants were a bit pricy but the atmosphere was worth it. I will definitely recommend El Convento to my friends.

Room Tip: Our room at the front of the 4th floor near the door to the patio leading to the pool and hot tub wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

From the moment I walked into the foyer I was in love. What a fantasticl place! The architecture, the art, the location, the bar, the 3rd floor salon, the room, the wine & cheese reception... all fantastic. The hallways open to the courtyard below where the little fountains scattered about echo all around. There's a glass sound proof door between the sleeping room and the door; all hotels should have these! The bedding, towels and bathrobes are all plush and comfy. I wish we could have stayed more than one night; but next time, we will.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at El Convento for 4 nights. Its a 300 yrs old convent converted into a hotel. The hotel is beautiful and charming. The restaurants are fantastic and wine mixer in the evening is lots of fun. You can't beat the location of this hotel. Its right in the center of old San Juan.

We were debating between El Concho and this place and decided to stay here because we can still use El Concho's pool and beach as they are sister hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

wonderful hotel as soon you step in the hotel you can sense the peace the hotel its beautiful the rooftop pool and hot tub was amazing the hospitality terrace with tea coffe and bottled water it was nice the only negative its the expensive prices on the restaurant but there is many places to outside of the hotel so that wont be a major problem very nice hotel i will recomend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel right in the heart of Old San Juan. If you are looking to set your vacation in a romantic slice of Puerto Rican history, stay here! The rooms are great for couples, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful (thank you Annette!), and the restaurants inside are all excellent. You can practically feel the history radiating out of the halls in this beautiful, cloistered hotel with a gorgeous tree in it's central courtyard.My wife and I found the city of Old San Juan enchanting, with plenty to do and see during our four day stay.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms facing the north have the best views and are very quiet, but avoid the room next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

best vacation ever. just walking into this place you could feel an overwhelming peace wash over you. every staff member went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. my only negative comment would be the outrageous prices in the restaurant. but with so many other places to eat outside of the hotel I didn't find that to be a major problem. parking also is very expensive would not recommend renting a car. overall I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.