We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Convento

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Convento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Staying in Old San Juan at Hotel El Convento was a fabulous experience. It is an island of relaxation and peace on the island. Everything was suberb, from the ambience to the furnishings, amenities, and staff. Personnel at the front desk were knowledgeable about the city and eager to help in any way-when we returned from a walk rather hot and sweaty, they immediately brought us bottles of ice water. Thecomplimentary daily wine and cheese reception and the hot coffee, tea, and fresh fruits as well as the ice cold bottles of water available 24 hours a day on the 3rd floor reception/patio area were a really nice touch. It was easy to socialize with others at the reception and at the 4th floor plunge pool and hot tub. The open courtyards and fountains and the adjacent park added to the atmosphere. The restaurants were a bit pricy but the atmosphere was worth it. I will definitely recommend El Convento to my friends.

Room Tip: Our room at the front of the 4th floor near the door to the patio leading to the pool and hot tub wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,214
    300
    83
    54
    22
See reviews for
227
973
63
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

From the moment I walked into the foyer I was in love. What a fantasticl place! The architecture, the art, the location, the bar, the 3rd floor salon, the room, the wine & cheese reception... all fantastic. The hallways open to the courtyard below where the little fountains scattered about echo all around. There's a glass sound proof door between the sleeping room and the door; all hotels should have these! The bedding, towels and bathrobes are all plush and comfy. I wish we could have stayed more than one night; but next time, we will.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at El Convento for 4 nights. Its a 300 yrs old convent converted into a hotel. The hotel is beautiful and charming. The restaurants are fantastic and wine mixer in the evening is lots of fun. You can't beat the location of this hotel. Its right in the center of old San Juan.

We were debating between El Concho and this place and decided to stay here because we can still use El Concho's pool and beach as they are sister hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

wonderful hotel as soon you step in the hotel you can sense the peace the hotel its beautiful the rooftop pool and hot tub was amazing the hospitality terrace with tea coffe and bottled water it was nice the only negative its the expensive prices on the restaurant but there is many places to outside of the hotel so that wont be a major problem very nice hotel i will recomend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel right in the heart of Old San Juan. If you are looking to set your vacation in a romantic slice of Puerto Rican history, stay here! The rooms are great for couples, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful (thank you Annette!), and the restaurants inside are all excellent. You can practically feel the history radiating out of the halls in this beautiful, cloistered hotel with a gorgeous tree in it's central courtyard.My wife and I found the city of Old San Juan enchanting, with plenty to do and see during our four day stay.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms facing the north have the best views and are very quiet, but avoid the room next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

best vacation ever. just walking into this place you could feel an overwhelming peace wash over you. every staff member went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. my only negative comment would be the outrageous prices in the restaurant. but with so many other places to eat outside of the hotel I didn't find that to be a major problem. parking also is very expensive would not recommend renting a car. overall I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

When we originally were looking for pre and post-cruise hotels in San Juan we discounted El Convento due to the cost. We were pleasantly surprised to find an excellent mid-week package for our Sunday and Monday post-cruise stay. So reasonable, in fact, that the price was equal to or better than some comparable, popular properties.
All of the positives of this property have been listed in previous reviews. The hotel is superb and met or exceeded our expectations in every way. We chose a queen room with limited view. We were assigned a room on the second floor - it was fantastic. Our shuttered doors overlooked a quaint little side street and we never heard a sound from the street, or interior courtyard or halls.
Things we loved: the rooftop pool and hot tub, nightly complimentary wine and cheese reception, the hospitality terrace with tea, coffee and bottled water, in-room refrigerator and safe, wide selection of cable channels on a flat screen TV (although we spent little time in our room), quality toiletries, nightly turn-down service (coming back to classical music playing softly on the Bose radio), comfy bed and quality linens, immaculate facilities in room and common areas, the lovely courtyard, tables and chairs on each level surrounding the courtyard, robes and slippers, location, wonderful staff, comfortable furnishings, ...... I could go on and on.
There is not a thing I would change about El Convento, it is truly top-notch and an excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convento 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.