We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Ask for More” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Convento

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Convento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Couldn't Ask for More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

When we originally were looking for pre and post-cruise hotels in San Juan we discounted El Convento due to the cost. We were pleasantly surprised to find an excellent mid-week package for our Sunday and Monday post-cruise stay. So reasonable, in fact, that the price was equal to or better than some comparable, popular properties.
All of the positives of this property have been listed in previous reviews. The hotel is superb and met or exceeded our expectations in every way. We chose a queen room with limited view. We were assigned a room on the second floor - it was fantastic. Our shuttered doors overlooked a quaint little side street and we never heard a sound from the street, or interior courtyard or halls.
Things we loved: the rooftop pool and hot tub, nightly complimentary wine and cheese reception, the hospitality terrace with tea, coffee and bottled water, in-room refrigerator and safe, wide selection of cable channels on a flat screen TV (although we spent little time in our room), quality toiletries, nightly turn-down service (coming back to classical music playing softly on the Bose radio), comfy bed and quality linens, immaculate facilities in room and common areas, the lovely courtyard, tables and chairs on each level surrounding the courtyard, robes and slippers, location, wonderful staff, comfortable furnishings, ...... I could go on and on.
There is not a thing I would change about El Convento, it is truly top-notch and an excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,208
    298
    80
    54
    22
See reviews for
224
967
63
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This excellent hotel is a trully elegant, old stile place. It is situated in old San Juan and you can go by foot or shutle every place you want.
The room are spacious with a big bathroom. The furniture is stilish and the bed comfortable.
Every evening they offer an hour of free win testing and very good cheese.
Go there and you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The location was perfect. The room was excellent, size and view. The grounds were beautiful. The service was impeccable. The hotel had sound proof windows for those who needed to go to sleep early. There is an excellent restaurante on site along with a bar and pizza place. The bar serves excellent micro beer from the harbor brewery.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

El Convento is very special. I love the historical significance of this convent turned boutique hotel. The property is a little oasis in the middle of a bustling city. Sipping a drink at the courtyard bar you would never guess the traffic and chaos going on outside the hotel property. We ate at the tapas restaurant upstairs for dinner and very much enjoyed the taste and presentation of the various plates we tried. In the morning we (there were 4 of us) tried the courtyard restaurant. I had the oatmeal with almond and raisins. I highly recommend it. Such a serene setting as well.
The location is perfect for visiting El Morro and touring Old San Juan on foot. If you are not in good shape this might not be the spot for you. It is on a fairly steep street with high curbs. Bring comfortable walking shoes to tour the city and sites. There is no parking directly in front of the hotel so cabs stop outside or across the street from the hotel and let you and your luggage out. Luckily Ivan, the porter, had just helped some guests who were leaving and rescued us from having to carry our luggage across the busy street.

The only reason I gave this hotel a very good instead of excellent was because of the room itself. There is nothing very special about the accommodations. For $300.00 we had a view of shabby buildings and an average room. The rest of the hotel made up for it and there is a great happy hour with wine and appetizers in the afternoon out on the terrace(totally free!).

Room Tip: I would ask for an Ocean View room. We requested partial ocean view and looked out on mostly shabby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
@los angeles
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you find yourself in Puerto Rico and are not interested in the huge newer hotels outside the Center, then this is your place. It is right down in the Centro and is built in an old Convent building that has been well renovated.
The building surrounds a central courtyard with rooms looking down on restaurants and other busy spaces. The feeling is of splendid isolation amid the crowded and steamy streets of Old San Juan. The rooms are nice, if a bit heavy in decoration, and feature all the extras that you would need.
Location wise, you are in a quiet pocket of the old town with museums and restaurants within a short walk. You can easily walk to the myriad of tourist shops and other attractions, allowing you to stock up on cheap tee-shirts and cigars.
All in all, a very nice place to stay at a reasonable price (+or - $200.) in a so-so destination.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hotel El Convento is just a beautiful hotel with an amazing staff that is very attentive to all your needs. The staff is only of around 60 employees but are very efficient, hard working and courteous. The building itself is breathtaking, previously a convent now a hotel the structure is amazing. Surrounding the entire building are beautiful plants of all shades of green, the upkeep of the beautiful plants are done by two people Miriam and Victor. In the center of this beautiful Hotel sits a 99 year old Nispero tree, a must see.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our room was next to a room under some kind of noisy construction. The hotel was mostly empty. We even asked for an upgrade. No, was the answer.

I asked for a night light for the bathroom since the lighting would make a snow bird want sunglasses. Not what I need for 3am visits. The desk clerk said, "Yes. Uh, no. We couldn't find one." I found one at the hardware store a few blocks away for $3. I thought classy hotels like to answer with yes.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EROSA, General Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Mr. Sorter,

Thank you for your suggestion to add night lights to our rooms. Every room in the hotel is already equipped with a night light in every room. It is integrated into the makeup mirror inside the bathroom and it may be switch on or off manually on the base of the mirror. Please accept my apologies for us not providing you with the correct information when contacting the front desk and thank you for letting us know. I will make sure that every employee is aware of this so that they may provide others with the right information.
I was also concerned about the construction noise that you make reference to. The hotel is not under renovation and we are not building nor involved in any construction. Please contact me at your convenience as I would like to gather more information about this.

Best regards,

Efrain Rosa
General manager
erosa@elconvento.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convento 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.