We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Atmospheric. Unique!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Convento

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Convento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #2 of 46 hotels in San Juan
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Romantic and Atmospheric. Unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

First of all, let me explain what El Convento is NOT:

1. It is not a beachside resort
2. It is not a modern luxury hotel
3. It is not a chain

I have reviewed all the "negative" comments here and it floors me. I have stayed here multiple times and I think the main issue with dissatisfied customers is one of expectations. If you are looking for a huge, modern room with an ocean view, bikinied chiquitas on the beach drinking mojitos or a swim up bar, this is not the place for you. If you want a manager to pour your free (yes FREE) wine every night at 6 pm at the daily reception on the terrace, this is not for you. If you want an invisible staff, doors that don't creak, or carpet in your room, this is not for you.

What El Convento offers is a trip back to a more gracious time. Things move slower. The rooms are smallish, but every one I have stayed in was lovely and had a juliet balcony (this is not a terrace, but rather a large set of french doors that open to a railing.) I have stayed in suites and regular rooms. Yes, the hotel often has renovation projects going-- it is an OLD property-- and sometimes those make noise. The 300 year old doors often squeak. If you are put off by these trivialities, you need to stay in a modern high rise facility.

As mentioned, every day at 6 there is a reception with no fewer than 8 different types of free wine and four different types of cheese, half a dozen kinds of crackers and a variety of grapes. You can sit on the patio and chat with your fellow travelers. This is not a sit down service meal but it is a free reception. Again, I have read complaints that no waiter served the wine. Really? You can't walk three feet and pour your own?

The courtyard is gorgeous with little coquis singing all night. The rooftop pool is small (plunge pool) but it offers great views. The food is a little pricey but its good. There is an atmosphere of calm charm that pervades the hotel. It is the deal place to get some quiet and gather your thoughts. The rooms are outfitted with Spanish tile which can be a pain if you break something. And the cleaning staff visits somewhat late in the day, but again, trivialities.

I have also read that people are paying $900 a night to stay here. On my multiple visits, I have never paid that much, even for a suite. My suspicion is that the prices fluctuate wildly depending on the season. If I had paid that much, I might want a personal attendant for my every move. But I actually find el Convento to be very reasonably priced in relation to other popular hotels. I highly recommend it and will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,187
    299
    77
    54
    22
See reviews for
220
945
62
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel staff is very welcoming and helpful and the hotel is in a lovely unique and historic building in an ideal location; great for walking the streets of old San Juan. The rooms and bathrooms are small but well equipped. The rooftop pool and hot tub are nice, though small, with beautiful views of the bay. The evening wine and cheese reception is excellent. They serve a large variety of wines and cheeses. The hotel offers privileges at their sister hotels on the beach, so you can stay in the city but still enjoy some time at the beach. My husband and I will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at this lovely hotel for a conference. It was beautiful and located in a perfect place for walking and seeing in old Caribbean city. There was easy access to wireless all over the hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the room was nice, clean and well-appointed. I had a great view of the sea.

If you're going for a conference, take note: the rooms are freezing and you should bring a jacket or sweater. Also, the conference food was tasty but if you're a vegetarian, there seemed to be no options except for perhaps the side veggies. Also, if you ask to use the house projector and screen in the conference room, you will pay dearly. If you can bring your own, do so and save the money.

On a different, non-conference note, I dinner ate in the tapas bar on the 2nd floor and had a nice ceviche (I'm not a vegetarian). I took runs every morning along the wall walkway and I found everyone, hotel staff to local people, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask ahead of time for a room with a queen bed. I had a room with two twins. I haven't slept in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our layover to catch a cruise with a family of 12. Six of us stayed one night, while others stayed two.
One night was more than enough.It is unbelievable to expect so much and get so
little from a SLH. El Convento is anything but. Starting with the service which
is incredibly bad, to the rooms which seem to belong to a 3 star hotel. The a/c
was noisy, as the bathroom toilet and door. The door was in extreme need of oil.
The waiters at the cafe Nispero were rude and not attentive to our needs. One of my
brothers never got his breakfast. When we asked for our checks, the receptionist
took her time. Inside the patio cafe, we were surprised by an unemployed lady
who came in, asking for money with the excuse of selling chocolates. I repeat, this
is a Small Luxury Hotel, not a three star one. We expected much more than what
we got.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EROSA, General Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Mr. or Mrs. Exploringeurope,

I truly regret that you feel this way. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences mentioned. We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and take very seriously our guest comments. You will be glad to know that this week we hired new management personnel who will be working with our restaurant staff evaluating every aspect of the operation.

In addition and as a normal practice, upon check in every guest is given my email address and personal cell number. Our goal is that every guest is so satisfy with the level of service that he or she will not feel the need to escalate any service issues. Thankfully and as evident by our guests comments I rarely receive a call from a guest and when I do it is to thank our hotel staff for the stay or ask for my assistance in sending an item left in the room upon check out. But make no mistake, our guests always come first and if there are any issues during your stay we want to know immediately to address them at once.

Please fell free to contact me if you feel the need to discuss this further as I would like to have the opportunity to have you visit us again and have a different and positive experience.

Cordially,


Efrain Rosa
General Manager
erosa@elconvento.com
Cell (787) 505-3780
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I have been to San Juan many times. We always dreamed of one day splurging and staying at the famous El Convento in Old San Juan. We knew the history of this converted convent, originally built 1646. Renovated many times as hotels, casino, and even a flophouse. Now it is ranked one of the worlds oldest smallest luxury hotels. So, with a cruise starting and ending in SJ, we decided to book one nite at the end of the cruise, and treat ourselves. We were beyond impressed. We had a large room on the second floor, with old spanish feel, but modern technologies, and new marble bathroom. French doors opened to the outside, but no balcony. From 6-7pm there is the "managers reception" where guests are provided with free wine & cheese etc in an upstairs lounge area. No manager appears, just guests of the hotel to enjoy the comp refreshments, free of charge. Nice touch El Convento. We did not dine in the hotel, but did enjoy a comp breakfast the next morning, which was included with our online booking. Internet available in the rooms, printers are available to use. All around are fabulous eating places, and so much history that you will find in Old San Juan.There is a small plunge pool, and jacuzzi. If you are staying for a few days you will have time to travel to sister hotels to enjoy the beach.(not sure if they offer free transportation or not) Much more, you can see on the El Convento website...Absolutely a wonderful boutique hotel, and we cant wait to return to the awesome hospitality, service, and grandeur....dont miss this destination

Room Tip: booked through expedia and was cheaper than hotel website Book well in advance as the hotel often ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East China, MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a very historic hotel 350 years old. It was used as a monastery for Nuns and sits next to a very old chapel. It is located in the Old Town section of San Juan. Walking distance the EL Morro fort, shopping, resturants. The building has been tastfully redone, the rooms are nice. Staff was very helpful. They offer a wine and cheese tasting area every day around 6PM. We sat out on a large balcony drinking wine and eat different kinds of cheese - awesome.

Room Tip: Rooms are small in this historic building. I believe most of the room are very simular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Beautifully renovated and well managed small hotel in the heart of Old San Juan across from the Cathedral and walking distance to everything. We spent a three day weekend here which was perfect. Complimentary coffee, tea and water all day and wines at 6pm were a nice touch. Only complaint was that the elevator was very slow and sometimes completely dysfunctional. We mentioned it to management and I'm sure they will attend to it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convento 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.