We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Convento to your Saves list
Hotel El Convento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Largo, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel staff is very welcoming and helpful and the hotel is in a lovely unique and historic building in an ideal location; great for walking the streets of old San Juan. The rooms and bathrooms are small but well equipped. The rooftop pool and hot tub are nice, though small, with beautiful views of the bay. The evening wine and cheese reception is excellent. They serve a large variety of wines and cheeses. The hotel offers privileges at their sister hotels on the beach, so you can stay in the city but still enjoy some time at the beach. My husband and I will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,371
    348
    89
    60
    24
See reviews for
257
1,111
69
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, NY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at this lovely hotel for a conference. It was beautiful and located in a perfect place for walking and seeing in old Caribbean city. There was easy access to wireless all over the hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the room was nice, clean and well-appointed. I had a great view of the sea.

If you're going for a conference, take note: the rooms are freezing and you should bring a jacket or sweater. Also, the conference food was tasty but if you're a vegetarian, there seemed to be no options except for perhaps the side veggies. Also, if you ask to use the house projector and screen in the conference room, you will pay dearly. If you can bring your own, do so and save the money.

On a different, non-conference note, I dinner ate in the tapas bar on the 2nd floor and had a nice ceviche (I'm not a vegetarian). I took runs every morning along the wall walkway and I found everyone, hotel staff to local people, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask ahead of time for a room with a queen bed. I had a room with two twins. I haven't slept in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our layover to catch a cruise with a family of 12. Six of us stayed one night, while others stayed two.
One night was more than enough.It is unbelievable to expect so much and get so
little from a SLH. El Convento is anything but. Starting with the service which
is incredibly bad, to the rooms which seem to belong to a 3 star hotel. The a/c
was noisy, as the bathroom toilet and door. The door was in extreme need of oil.
The waiters at the cafe Nispero were rude and not attentive to our needs. One of my
brothers never got his breakfast. When we asked for our checks, the receptionist
took her time. Inside the patio cafe, we were surprised by an unemployed lady
who came in, asking for money with the excuse of selling chocolates. I repeat, this
is a Small Luxury Hotel, not a three star one. We expected much more than what
we got.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EROSA, General Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Mr. or Mrs. Exploringeurope,

I truly regret that you feel this way. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences mentioned. We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and take very seriously our guest comments. You will be glad to know that this week we hired new management personnel who will be working with our restaurant staff evaluating every aspect of the operation.

In addition and as a normal practice, upon check in every guest is given my email address and personal cell number. Our goal is that every guest is so satisfy with the level of service that he or she will not feel the need to escalate any service issues. Thankfully and as evident by our guests comments I rarely receive a call from a guest and when I do it is to thank our hotel staff for the stay or ask for my assistance in sending an item left in the room upon check out. But make no mistake, our guests always come first and if there are any issues during your stay we want to know immediately to address them at once.

Please fell free to contact me if you feel the need to discuss this further as I would like to have the opportunity to have you visit us again and have a different and positive experience.

Cordially,


Efrain Rosa
General Manager
erosa@elconvento.com
Cell (787) 505-3780
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I have been to San Juan many times. We always dreamed of one day splurging and staying at the famous El Convento in Old San Juan. We knew the history of this converted convent, originally built 1646. Renovated many times as hotels, casino, and even a flophouse. Now it is ranked one of the worlds oldest smallest luxury hotels. So, with a cruise starting and ending in SJ, we decided to book one nite at the end of the cruise, and treat ourselves. We were beyond impressed. We had a large room on the second floor, with old spanish feel, but modern technologies, and new marble bathroom. French doors opened to the outside, but no balcony. From 6-7pm there is the "managers reception" where guests are provided with free wine & cheese etc in an upstairs lounge area. No manager appears, just guests of the hotel to enjoy the comp refreshments, free of charge. Nice touch El Convento. We did not dine in the hotel, but did enjoy a comp breakfast the next morning, which was included with our online booking. Internet available in the rooms, printers are available to use. All around are fabulous eating places, and so much history that you will find in Old San Juan.There is a small plunge pool, and jacuzzi. If you are staying for a few days you will have time to travel to sister hotels to enjoy the beach.(not sure if they offer free transportation or not) Much more, you can see on the El Convento website...Absolutely a wonderful boutique hotel, and we cant wait to return to the awesome hospitality, service, and grandeur....dont miss this destination

Room Tip: booked through expedia and was cheaper than hotel website Book well in advance as the hotel often ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East China, MI
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a very historic hotel 350 years old. It was used as a monastery for Nuns and sits next to a very old chapel. It is located in the Old Town section of San Juan. Walking distance the EL Morro fort, shopping, resturants. The building has been tastfully redone, the rooms are nice. Staff was very helpful. They offer a wine and cheese tasting area every day around 6PM. We sat out on a large balcony drinking wine and eat different kinds of cheese - awesome.

Room Tip: Rooms are small in this historic building. I believe most of the room are very simular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Beautifully renovated and well managed small hotel in the heart of Old San Juan across from the Cathedral and walking distance to everything. We spent a three day weekend here which was perfect. Complimentary coffee, tea and water all day and wines at 6pm were a nice touch. Only complaint was that the elevator was very slow and sometimes completely dysfunctional. We mentioned it to management and I'm sure they will attend to it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a very nice stay at the hotel. Some thoughts:

Pros
- clean, air conditioned rooms with all the basics covered nicely
- quaint grounds in the heart of historic district
- wine & cheese reception each night is a great touch
- free access to grounds of nice hotels in two others districts of town (beachfront hotels)

Cons
- small rooms
- "queen vista with bay view" has a marginal view, at best
- beaches are a $20 cab ride away, each way
- hotel restaurant is overpriced - $45 for small, basic breakfast

All in all, we enjoyed the hotel and would consider returning. But I expected a bit more for $250 a night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Convento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.