We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old town to walk around and take pics” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old San Juan

Old San Juan
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #4 of 103 attractions in San Juan
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Neighborhoods, Historic Sites
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Shopping, Walking, Nightlife, Dancing, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Consisting of 400 restored buildings from the 16th- and 17th-century Spanish colonial period, this area in San Juan is steeped in history with an old-world and romantic European charm.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice old town to walk around and take pics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Park at Dona Fela parking, it's cheap and parking in the street is impossible. Be prepared to do a lot of walking. Take some nice pictures at the Gate. Bring the kids to the Pigeon park, don't forget to bring something to feed the pigeons. Lots of souvenirs shops to browse through. Gets busy when the cruise ships are docked.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,045
    741
    138
    22
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent an afternoon in Old San Juan and I wish that we had more time to spend there. It had so much more character than the area around the resort where we stayed across town. The architecture is spectacular and the shops ranged from charming to modern luxury, so there is something for every taste. Make sure to visit the two Spanish forts - the views are breathtaking!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A "MUST DO" for a traveler to Puerto Rico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We loved walking everywhere from one end of the old city to the other. When we were tired, we used the handy buses that circle Old San Juan. The building colors, the two old forts, the good food, the friendly people -- a memorable experience!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must Do While There!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

On our recent trip to San Juan we spent the day bar hopping through the streets, it was beautiful and I would imagine (though I have not ben yet) that Italy and Spain would resemble the area. I can't imagine gong to San Juan and not coming here, there are plenty of little shops, bars, restaurants, churches, etc. Very nice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A great slice of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was our fourth trip to Old San Juan and I see more to love about it each time. There is nothing like strolling the blue cobblestone streets and looking at the wonderful architecture to make you appreciate the beauty of this city and its people.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old San Juan also viewed

 

Been to Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old San Juan to your Saves list