We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome! :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added CasaBlanca Hotel to your Saves list
CasaBlanca Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This place is awesome! :) Absolutely LOVED staying here. Staff are soooo friendly and will do anything to help you out. The whole hotel is decorated so nice. Rooms are clean. Maid service everyday, so fresh towels and beds made etc.
My brother and his wife had a cocktail party on the rooftop which was amazing. Big thanks to all the staff that organised the whole event! The food and drinks were amazing! :)
Will definitely be coming back here!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    142
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
46
272
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We only got to spend one night in this great little place. Check in went smoothly and we were able to park in the garage recommended by the hotel a few blocks away. There is no elevator, but we viewed this as a fun little adventure. They have bell service who will carry your bags. But we chose to carry our own up 5 flights! We have a lovely room on the 5th floor. There were windows outside of our room, so we had nice light. The room was small and very charming. The bed was comfortable, the wifi worked great, the shower was hot, and the room was clean. I loved the decor throughout the hotel. We spent a great deal of time on the rooftop where there are sitting areas and large tubs to fill with warm water. The water pressure is low, so it took a very long time to fill a tub, but it was still fun and romantic. It was awesome to sit in the tub on the rooftop, looking at the stars and listening to the sounds of the city. The view was great too as you could look out over the city, towards the bay, as well as towards the old fort just a short distance away. The hotel was within walking distance of everything in Old San Juan. We were sad to check out after only one night, but would return and recommend this hotel to others. We did eat breakfast in the restaurant downstairs. We were supposed to receive a 20% discount, but nobody told us the discount is only available until 10 am, so we missed it as we had a late breakfast at 10:30. But otherwise, all was great.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, CT
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My friend and I only stayed at the CasaBlanca Hotel for one night, but we were very pleased with the experience. The hotel website recommended a parking garage, the Estacionamiento Doña Fela, only 4 blocks from the hotel. It was very easy to find and convenient. Once we parked, we did not go back to the car until we checked out because the hotel was an easy walk to all of the sites and restaurants in Old San Juan. A great location!

The staff at the front desk were very friendly and accommodating. We first arrived at the hotel before check-in time, so they stored our luggage for us. Once we checked in, they brought our luggage up the three flights of stairs for us. We had a Queen Balcony room on the 3rd floor. The room was clean and bright with attractive decor. We could hear some street noise at night, but it was not terrible.

The hotel has a restaurant on the first floor and hotel guests get 20% off their breakfast bill. While the service was a little slow, the breakfast was very good. I had the mallorca sandwich with a side of fruit, which was delicious.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have an elevator, so if you are averse to stairs, you may want to request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

great starting venue for our first night in san juan. located in a great spot in the old town - ideal for getting around and about and a lovely walk around the old walls to El Morro.

there is no lift but someone is always on hand to carry your bags up or down. great decor, really clean with a great atmosphere.

the only negative for me was that the bedroom had no window.

the rooftop sun deck is fabulous for both day and night. sun loungers to soak up the sun in the day time and cool down in the awesome moroccan baths. a great view over the city and down to the harbour. Then up for a cheeky few nighttime drinks later and a starry sky to enjoy

Would stay again

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

located in old San Juan an artsy old hotel. 5 stories. No elevators. Tiny rooms. That said I would highly recommend. In proximity to great restaurants and very cute shopping. Check in easy with very personable staff. They carried bags up to room. Well air conditioned small clean room.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our week stay at this hotel. The rooms were quiet and clean. We arrived at 1 AM and they were waiting at the desk to check us in. Service was fantastic the whole time we were there. We ate breakfast several times in their restaurant, Hector the waiter was great, he went above and beyond to ensure we got everything we needed. The bar is small, but cozy. We stopped in for a nightcap several times. The location is ideal, it is located in Old town and it is easy to walk anywhere. We walked to both Forts, the Harbour, and along the seawall. There are many great restaurants and shops in the immediate area. Service in the hotel was spectacular, they all went out of their way to make us feel special. Special thanks to Tomas and Hector for the friendly service they provided.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. At present it is a 5 story walk up. Try to get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've recently stayed at Hotel Casablanca for our destination wedding and this place has been by far one of the highlights!

Accommodating 30 guests from around the globe, the staff have been so welcoming, helpful and keen to take care of everybody's needs as well as make our stay super comfortable and relaxed for the festivities.

The hotel itself is incredibly quirky, comfortable and clean. Perfectly located in Old San Juan, you've got access to everything you need and some amazing salsa over the road at the New Yorican Cafe! Special mention has to go to Tomas - manager and chef of Cafe Americane in the hotel! The food he catered for our cocktail party was amazing... I've never seen a group of people fight their way to the front of the queue in quite that way before.

It sounds quite gushing to write a review like this, but we have to give credit where credit is due.

If you don't visit Hotel Casablanca on your trip to San Juan you're missing out!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Greetings Ben,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review of the hotel. All of the front desk staff loved interacting with your amazing group of guests and I did catch a glimpse of some of the outfits. Great taste. We are so honored that in some small way we were able to help in such an important event.

The Nuyo Rican Cafe is a fun place to go especially for a late night release for those who love to dance. In regards to the catering, Tomas is a valuable member of our team and I can confidently say for Tomas and management it was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

From everyone here at the hotel. We wish you and your bride the most success and happiness in the years to come. We look forward to having you and your guests from around the globe here again. All the best and thank you for the high praise. It is deeply appreciated.

Sincerely
Joyce O
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CasaBlanca is a walk-up (no elevator) Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive - to microfiber towels. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: iron, steamer, hairdryer, 24 hrs water, coffee and ice. Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 7 - 10 am while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. All our guests receive 20% discount. Restaurant offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. Diner is informal and only open Thur-Sat with the best "comida Criolla"in town. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaBlanca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.