We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added CasaBlanca Hotel to your Saves list
CasaBlanca Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you are looking for a resort type of place this is not it. This is an excellent hotel that meets all needs in a perfect location. The service is incredible. If you need something talk to Miguel. Miguel is excellent. He is helpful, funny and very knowledgeable. I have to say he is a great part of the hotel. Our room was on the small size but suited our purpose. Not sure if all the rooms are the same size. Our room had a window but it was to the hallway. A little strange but did not bother us at all. This is an old building converted to a hotel. It will have some stuff that are unconventional.

One thing, there is no elevator, stairs up and down. Thought at first it was going to be an issue but it was not. Well worth the effort for the hotel and location. The place is very clean. Even saw staff cleaning lobby every day.

We had breakfast one time there and they give you an discount but it was ok and a little pricey. You can get a better deal a couple of blocks down. Now the lobby and restaurant area is very nice.

Oh another thing, the rooms do not have hair dryers. You have to ask for one. It irritated me at first that I did not have access to a hair dryer and then realized that it was not a big deal. I ended up not drying my hair during my stay and it worked out just perfect. Sometimes we are attached to certain things that end up being no big deal.

Unable to rate WI-FI though it was available we left all electronics at home. We were on vacation. No need to be connected.

It was a great way to start our vacation in PR. We would definitely stay here again. Casablanca and Miguel, thank you for making us feel so welcomed and special.

Room Tip: If you do not like to walk up and down stairs ask for a room not higher than the third floor. 50 st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    129
    33
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
239
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

with the ceiling and columns in the room, it looked different than your typical american hotel. this place has a old world charm to it. the staff insisted on carrying our bags even though we told them we will manage. Although there is no elevator, I am sure if any elderly or disabled person came to this hotel, the staff would do their part to help them with their luggage etc. I loved the balcony -which was kinda a verandah of sorts, it was fun listening to Old San Juan parties late in the night from the verandah of my room.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Everyone here was exceptionally nice and helpful. Beautiful place. The breakfast is fine but it's not included and was a bit pricey. You get a discount on the tab if you order before 10am, which we weren't told about.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Let me start by saying that I am a very frequent traveler, so when I say it's the most helpful staff I've ever encountered it really means something! We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights before a cruise, and couldn't have been happier! The hotel is in a great location in Old San Juan, well within walking distance of most places. A cab from the hotel was $19 plus $1 per bag, and it only took about 20 minutes to get to the hotel from the airport. When we arrived one of the employees met us on the street to help us with our luggage. Our room was clean and well maintained. The whole hotel was different than anywhere I'd stayed before, the rooms were all decorated a little bit differently which gave them all character. The bathtubs on the roof provided a great place to relax! The one and ONLY thing that I would warn about this hotel is that it doesn't have an elevator, so you do have to take stairs to your room. The staff is available and willing to help carry luggage up the stairs. I can't say enough good about the hotel staff! They were friendly, knowledgeable, and the most helpful hotel staff members that I've EVER encountered. I normally stay at "chain" hotels, and was a little hesitant when we were looking at booking this hotel, but based on the price and positive reviews we decided to give it a shot. I am SO glad that we did, and I will stay here again in a heartbeat, any and every time I'm in San Juan in the future!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently took a back-to-back cruise out of San Juan, PR and stayed at the Casablanca Hotel in Old San Juan the night before boarding the cruise ship. This place has charm in every corner - it was fabulous. We really loved the character of the place and the rooftop had great views of the city. The staff were friendly and helpful. Their breakfast was great and the cappuccino was excellent. They even make their own biscotti and it was wonderful with the coffee. The room had that old-world charm with touches of Turkish motif. Our room was actually two rooms on the 5th floor and it had a small sitting room, just off the bedroom. It was neat and clean. No elevators, but the staff took our luggage up for us.

That evening, we wanted Turkish food so they suggested the Istanbul Restaurant, which is within walking distance. The food and service there was great. We had the Iskender and Kofte, both of which were very tasty. We enjoyed it so much that we went back in-between the two back-to-back cruises so that we could have lunch there.

Overall, our overnight stay in Old San Juan was very enjoyable. I will take one star off because of the no elevators, but in truth we didn't really care.

Room Tip: If you want ultra modern or have mobility issues and cannot climb stairs then this might not be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is very nice the staff is very helpful and courteous. The art work and design is great. The rooms are very comfortable and the best surprise is the roof top soaking tub. Should be a Viagra commercial setting. The location is great far enough away from the Cruise ships and perfectly located in the center of restaurants, shopping, and attractions. Great place to stay.
The only down side is no elevator so plan on stairs.

Room Tip: ask for outside window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

While walking the streets of old San Juan we passed along this hotel and noticed their happy hour sign out front and decided to stop in. This place is a mix of bohemian, eclectic, modern and old age design. It is super cool! We went to the back where the bar was and got some beers while settling in to this hotels welcoming ambiance. We didn't want to leave and would love to spend a couple nights here and probably will later on down the road. No elevators and not a large lobby but very intimate. Even if you're not staying here, if you're in old San Juan stop in and check it out.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CasaBlanca is a walk-up (no elevator) Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive - to microfiber towels. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: iron, steamer, hairdryer, 24 hrs water, coffee and ice. Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 7 - 10 am while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. All our guests receive 20% discount. Restaurant offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. Diner is informal and only open Thur-Sat with the best "comida Criolla"in town. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaBlanca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.