We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hotel, location and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Save Saved
You added CasaBlanca Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct save 25%
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Carthage
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved the hotel, location and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Casablanca for three nights during an anniversary trip.

Getting to the hotel by cab was a little difficult on the day of arrival, with the construction at the intersection two blocks down from the hotel and the traffic bypassing it. We just had the cabbie drop us off a couple blocks away and walked to the hotel. With the four cruise ships in port there we're a lot of people and it seemed farther than it actually was. No worries though we ...were in San Juan.

Once we arrived we were too early to check into our room and the girl at the front desk took care of us. They held our luggage and we went to have lunch. When we got back to the hotel she handed us the keys and had one of the guys take our luggage up to our room. We were only on the 2nd floor so the walk without elevator was fine.

Our room was small and very quaint with no windows which is what I expected from reading reviews. It was nicely decorated and updated with the Moroccan theme with the netting over the bed.

In the late afternoons during our stay we went up to the rooftop to soak in the tubs and relax. We watched the cruise ships take off while we cooled off. They are in the middle of adding two bathrooms to the roof near the tubs. Will be nice once they are finished.

The location is great for exploring Old San Juan. There is a free trolley that runs close to the hotel although with the road work at a couple of intersections the trolly does not go down Calle Fortaleza. The trolley goes by Castillo de San Cristóbal and all the way up to the door of Castillo San Felipe del Morro.

The star at this hotel is great and makes the stay enjoyable. They make you feel at home. I can't remember the young guys name at the front desk during the evenings but he was always offering suggestions and whenever we came back to the hotel he would jump up and come to greet us and seemed interested in what we were doing. These are some of the little things that make this hotel stand out from the large chain hotels.

We had a great time and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    110
    32
    4
    5
See reviews for
30
199
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I definitely love the place, very lovely. Excellent location and great service, especially the bar guys. I would definitely going again. Is the perfect place for stay in old San Juan. Everything were charming on that place. My Mom and I definitely enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I had a great, 2-night stay at CasaBlanca hotel. Beautiful clean rooms (with a view if you get one with a balcony), creative and fun decor throughout the hotel, great bar (didn't try their food though), and roof top soaking tubs a definite plus. EXTREMELY friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend and would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This marketed a lot of things that quote/quote make it special. This maybe the first place where everything they marketed, was actually true! I couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. They actually won a TripAdvisor award.

We decided to stay in the deluxe queen room since we were only staying two nights. So why not spend a few extra bucks? I can tell you it was money well spent. Our room overlooked La Fortaleza street and the interior touches were on point. The room was a little small and there are no elevators, but thats me reaching for a complaint! The pros heavily outweighed the two cons

The location was superb, we literally walked all of Old San Juan from our base. There's a Starbucks a couple of blocks down, and food everywhere near. The rooftop won me over. They have stone hot tubs (as advertised) on the roof! You can see Castillo de San Cristobal from the roof. Amazing views! The are actually expanding on the roof to accommodate more hot tubs.

It's not a question, if I come to San Juan again, I'll definitely be staying at CasaBlanca. Remember to budget $25.00 for taxi service to the hotel from SJU. Cheers!

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe rooms. It is definitely worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Maddindividual,

We have no words except THANK YOU! Your review is just marvelous and we are so happy that our hard work shows and you had a great experience with us. We believe that it is because of guests like you that we have seen an increase in reservations since travelers are more confident and trustworthy of actual guests comments. So this is very important to us, so thank you again.

We have had a great 2 years now in management and we have made tons of improvements. We would also love to hear from our 5 year long loyalty guests to see how we are doing.

Regards and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The stay in Casa Blanca Hotel was so pleasant. The bar Cafe Americain served the best diversity of "empanadillas" homemade as appetizers. I tried octopus, lasagana and shrimp. Ask Christopher (bartender) a Sexy Orgasm drink is really good and also the Passion Piña Colada! Ask for shots of the house! The room is comfortable, clean and perfect, just the necessary to one night stay or a romantic night. Casa Blanca hotel is very well located in the heart of Old San Juan. No elevator, no parking. For parking try Doña Fela low cost parking per day. The hotel need more promotion in other social networks in order to more people know about the excellent service and the good alternative for staying in old san juan at good price. My review: excellent!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff are very nice and helpful. Ask the bartender Christian to make his. "Pineapple X " drink. So yummy! The rooms are really spacious, although our view from our balcony was of a rather run down part of town. Don't expect the Ritz Carlton....it's Old San Juan. But beautiful hotel with excellent staff. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Cherise,

Thank you so much for your great review! We definitely agree with you as our Bartenders are amazing, they always make us alcohol free versions of the cocktails as we are their guinea pigs and they taste amazing, I am sure they taste even better with your choice of liquor. Ask for Christopher and Hector as well.

On behalf of our entire staff we thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about us! It is very special for us to get to know you all and provide the means for a great vacation.

All the best and we hope to see you back with family and friends,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the CasaBlanca Hotel from 8/20-8/23 (2014) and I can't remember the last time I was so charmed by a hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed here for the first several days of our first trip to Old San Juan and I'm so glad we did. We almost always rent apartments when we travel because hotels are usually more expensive, inconvenient, and situated in the "tourist" part of town. However, we really wanted to stay in Old San Juan and so a hotel was really the only option. CasaBlanca Hotel was such a great move!

When we walked in the first thing we noticed was the lobby. The space just has its own a personality. It's decorated with weird and interesting art from all over the world, it's painted really fun colors, there's a strange and charming mix of vintage and new furniture, and on the back wall there's an enormous screen projecting Casablanca on loop. We got in a few hours before check in time (so our room wasn't quite ready), but the friendly staff who greeted us didn't bat an eye, and quickly found another room for us. This kicked off the first of about 10 wonderful interactions we had with the staff at the hotel.

Our room was fairly small (more the size of a hotel room in Europe than in the US) but it didn't matter one bit. The room was interestingly decorated, it was very clean, the bed was comfortable, the A/C was cold, the shades kept the room very dark so we slept like babies, and the bathroom was sunny and beautiful (we particularly liked the open shower with small mosaic-like tiles on the floor).

As I mentioned, the staff at the hotel are amazing. They should be listed on their website as one of the amenities. Every single person I interacted with was genuinely helpful and nice. It was my boyfriend's birthday so one night I bugged Juan at the desk for like 20 minutes about the merits of certain seafood restaurants over others. Another night, we decided after dinner and drinks that we wanted to rent a car for the next morning so we stopped by the desk (at 10:30 pm) and Juan called several companies for me until he found one that was open. 15 minutes later I had a car for $24 a day and a rental company that would be at the hotel to pick me up at 10am the next morning. These are just the standout examples. There were probably five others I could mention (but won't). Suffice it to say, they're really nice and helpful.

The only downsides were that a) the breakfast that they serve at the hotel is overpriced and not very good b) the tubs on the roof were closed so we didn't get to experience them

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CasaBlanca is a walk-up (no elevator) Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive - to microfiber towels. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: iron, steamer, hairdryer, 24 hrs water, coffee and ice. Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 7 - 10 am while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. All our guests receive 20% discount. Restaurant offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. Diner is informal and only open Thur-Sat with the best "comida Criolla"in town. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaBlanca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.