We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Brunch is Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Save Saved
You added CasaBlanca Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 47 hotels in San Juan
St. Thomas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Restaurant Brunch is Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I were on an anniversary trip to Puerto Rico. We did not stay at the hotel so we cannot comment on that, however, the restaurant was terrible. We went for their Sunday Brunch. We live in the islands so we are aware of slow service but this was not only slow but they never asked if the food was ok, if we would like more coffee or mimosa. I had the eggs benedict and they came out like hard boiled eggs on a soggy english muffin with potatoes. My wife had a soggy waffle. There are plenty of options for a nice breakfast in Old San Juan, stay away from this one.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    103
    31
    3
    6
See reviews for
28
187
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 3 nights while in PR.
Pros:
Excellent location
Extremely clean rooms and interior
Rooms are very cold and feel amazing
Decor is charming. Most awesome lobby and sink in bathroom was one of a kind.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

Cons:
Tiny bathroom
Tissues in room would have been nice.

Note: rooms small and mine had no window..I hate being in hotel room when I'm not sleeping or getting ready for bed so this was not important for me.

Would have been nice to have breakfast included.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here a few years ago it was amazing great service great room we still talk about how great our stay was and of course tell evert bod we are planing another trip and this time just staying here for the week instead of going on the cruise. SEE YOU SOON

Room Tip: Walking distance to the cruise port and the fort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Casablanca was by far the best hotel we stayed at on our trip (including the Caribe Hilton resort). This hotel is absolutely adorable and totally worth the money. Tons of decorations and interesting art/pottery/paintings that line every wall of the hotel. The food was great and loved that they played the Casablanca movie 24/7 in the lobby. The location is perfect in old San Juan near all the bars, restaurants and shopping. Would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayey, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Beautiful decoration in the lobby and located close to most of the best restaurants in Old San Juan. Also close to the cruises port. Nice view of the city from the rooftop with very romantic tubs. Very helpful and nice staff.

Small clean rooms with plain decoration. Very soft matress with a plush cover on the top, too soft for my comfort, I prefer more firm matress. Large and clean shower with hot water and adequate pressure.

I had a room on the second floor then lack of elevator was not a problem for me. Unfortunately hotel restaurant only has breakfast until 10 am. But Caficultura is close to the hotel and went there for breakfast.

I recomend this hotel as precruise or postcruise stay or if you want to stay in Old San Juan and don't has budget to pay a little more for a more luxury hotel like El Convento.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor, specially if you have bad knees. Remember there is No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culebra
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed there only one night.
We were impressed by the attractive and original decor of the lobby. We upgraded to a King Deluxe room so were really surprised that our room was TINY! It JUST fit the king bed, 2 small bedside tables, a dresser, tv and a chair. It lacked the charm and decor of the lobby. Don't know the size of the other rooms, but if ours was a "deluxe", I hate to think!
The bathroom was very sparse (no shelves, no hooks, etc.). For one night it was fine - don't know if I would spend a vacation there, although, if you want to be walking distance from nice restaurants and bars, I guess its not bad.

Room Tip: Ask the size of the room - the king deluxe was tiny!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Tonight is the last night of my stay here at Casablanca hotel and I am very sad to be leaving. This was the best hotel we could have picked. So close to everything. The staff here is also amazing. From the moment I walked in with my family I felt welcomed. Thanks Cynthia, Natalie and Adam. Special special thanks to Juan! He's the best. He told us some great local spots to go to and we were never disappointed. I can't wait to come back.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CasaBlanca is a walk-up (no elevator) Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive - to microfiber towels. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: iron, steamer, hairdryer, 24 hrs water, coffee and ice. Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 7 - 10 am while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. All our guests receive 20% discount. Restaurant offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. Diner is informal and only open Thur-Sat with the best "comida Criolla"in town. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaBlanca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.