We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, simple hotel in romantic Old San Juan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Save Saved
You added CasaBlanca Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice, simple hotel in romantic Old San Juan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hotel Casablanca is a great boutique hotel in the heart of Old San Juan. We stayed for 5 nights on the cheap and had a great experience. The staff are very nice and helpful, and willing to make recommendations regarding travel, restaurants, bars etc... The hotel is in walking distance to so many great attractions (El Morro & Balneario Escambron, the piers), access to lots of restaurants and bars & 1 block from Plaza Colon where taxi's line up to take you elsewhere. We got a king size bed room, and it was simple, but clean with a huge shower (nice for couples!) If you prefer resorts, then this probably isn't the place for you. It's not a lot of flair, but it's got a romantic air about it (think about the movie for the love of God). The breakfast was absolutely delicious too, with complimentary coffee all day long. On the top floor there is a deck where you can get a sweet view of Old San Juan and see off towards Condado beach. They have giant baths up there that you & your partner can soak in over a bottle of wine or rum.

Room Tip: Rooms on the interior are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    101
    28
    3
    5
See reviews for
28
176
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlingame, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you are even slightly older, slightly infirm or slightly out of shape, stay somewhere else. The lobby has a 20ft ceiling, so the walk upstairs to the second floor is three steep flights and two landings. Then add a 15ft ceiling to each floor and you've got a major climb to your room. Service was first class when we checked in and found that Hotel.com had sold and charged us for a suite and then reserved a standard king size room. This was to be a special treat for our anniversary. The front desk noticed that we had booked 10 months earlier and offered a partial refund. But the room was very small, as others have mentioned. Nice, clean, concrete floors, shower open to the room (plenty of hot water), no windows (there is a nice big skylight over the shower - kinda funky location if you think about it), cold, clean, good tasting water at the tap, and a fine deadbolt at the door. And then there was - the bed. Oooo, owww, ouch. Oh man. I would not have stayed one more night if they paid me! Three nights was our limit. Ouch. (when checking out, I mentioned this to one of the owners who seemed genuinely surprised - "Others have told me they love soft saggy beds". I smiled nicely. But now I'm telling you, the reader, "No, we DON'T like soft saggy beds". The hotel is in the (sort of) center of all the action. Everything in OSJ is within walking distance, food, attractions etc. Be warned, taxis have a posted rate from the airport to wherever, but after that you are on your own.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I loved this quaint little hotel, the moment I saw the pictures. It was a surprise stay for my husband and I and truly fell in love once we arrived. The staff was welcoming and accommodating. We really appreciated the original infrastructure and that they kept it original, even if there are no elevators. We loved the romantic rooftop deck with such a wonderful view and the bathtubs, which is genius. The room was quaint, clean, and the bathroom was too cute. The decor speaks volumes and the Moroccan theme, needles to say we love Casablanca. WE LOVED IT!!! So unique and in the heart of Old SJ. We have been to OSJ so many times, but were never able to experience it as a couple and it was probably one of thee best times ever. We were able to sit in the lobby at night and just chat with the staff, really makes you feel right at home. This is definitely the place we will be staying at when we return to OSJ!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel overnight prior to a cruise. Definitely a unique hotel. Room was clean and comfortable. Lobby was cozy, charming, and relaxing. The staff was very friendly - one employee offered to carry our bags up the stairs upon arrival (yes, there is no elevator). They offered a breakfast for purchase in the morning which was good and fit what we needed perfectly. Location is great - walking distance to everything in Old San Juan. The only negatives were that the street was having construction and we had to walk a ways with our luggage to taxis, but the hotel couldn't help that. Also, the room stayed somewhat bright at night because of the courtyard-ish type windows. I'm not sure when we'll be in Puerto Rico again, but I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clancy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

REALLY nice folks! Lovely room!! (Great bed and nice shower.) Construction had just begun to re-cobble Fortelezza Street, outside the hotel. They called to let me know about this, and to give careful instructions on how to get to the hotel, since cabs couldn't come down the street. Very thoughtful. The construction noise was really not an issue, as I was in 2G, in the back of the hotel. Generally, I would much prefer a room on the front, especially if that means a window that OPENS on fresh air, as opposed to an interior window, but in this case (window on the enclosed atrium), it was perfect. I would have liked to have had a desk in the room, to put my laptop on -- only real negative . (I put the computer on the bed.) I climbed up to the roof terrace to see the view. (5 very enticing big BATHTUBS up there.) Cab fare -- $20 -- from the airport is set, so that worry was allayed. (I had a young driver who had only been driving a cab for a short time -- she didn't know her way around very well, but we enjoyed each other's company, even though my Spanish is nearly non-existent. We made an appointment that she would pick me up to return me to the airport. The hotel called to make sure, a half hour before we were to meet, and she was already almost there.) Best parts of this trip -- wonderful colonial buildings (El Morro is awesome), great mofongo with shrimp and creamy garlic sauce (at Punto de Vista) (I decided not to spring for the really expensive food at Marmalade, but go for the local hole-in-the-wall instead. I was surprised at the creative and lovely presentation), really fine coffee at 4 different places (favorite was Coca'o on Pier 2), and a glorious sunset. I was there less than 24 hours and saw a LOT!

Room Tip: During construction on Fortalezza, a room at the back shuts out all the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Friendly staff, affordable price great location. We stayed in this cute little hotel for four nights, despite having no elevator or restaurant, I loved it. Right in the heart of Old San Juan and just ten minutes away from the beach

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of old San Juan in a tipical old city street, we got the room with the balcony that was pretty cool to wake up and see the city right there and then. The room and bathroom was normal city size hotel, no big but not claustrophobic . The bed was super confortable, linens were clean and new. The building do not have an elevator is a 5 floor hotel,so it is not very kids friendly for that reason to my opinion. I didn't bother us. The roof top is amazing it has the most unique feature :5 concrete tubs with the best view of the fort , and the cruise port , that was awesome. The lobby is very eclectic looking, very modern very chic and fancy, they always have cold water and coffe and a little restaurant. The staff is very very nice, very helpful like concierge level helpful, our stay there feel awesome and we can wait to go back there. I recommended 200%.

Room Tip: Balcony room is awesome but ask the staff about the notice depending in the days of the week
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CasaBlanca is a walk-up (no elevator) Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive - to microfiber towels. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: iron, steamer, hairdryer, 24 hrs water, coffee and ice. Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 7 - 10 am while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. All our guests receive 20% discount. Restaurant offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. Diner is informal and only open Thur-Sat with the best "comida Criolla"in town. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaBlanca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.