We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Save Saved
You added CasaBlanca Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
CasaBlanca Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4+Nights 10% OFF!
Ranked #7 of 44 hotels in San Juan
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoyed every minute of our stay, that we extended for another night. We loved the boutique and theme of the hotel. You can't beat the location, the view from the roof or the employees. It is perfect for a romantic getaway! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    87
    23
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
137
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beeville, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

excellent place to stay every thing is with in walking distance if you don't mind walking of course the cobble stone roads were Beautiful we went to EL Morro, the Museum of the Americas , the museum of San Juan that had also been a convent for over a 190 years and in the late afternoon we were entertain by flocks of pigeons in El Parque de Las Palomas than we ate Waffles at the Waffle & Tea House that was pricy cheak the prices in this one ooch anyway that night I went out on a Store run to the super market its located in the town square right by a Wal Greens the super market had everything the prices were great and they had star fruit whish I hadn't had in a long time

Room Tip: only stay here if you don't mind walking or climbing stairs theres no elevators in this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so excited to hear your experience, specially about the Old Town. We are located "on" Fortaleza Street, and it got that name because of the "Fortaleza" Mansion which is the Governors House! It is so beautiful! For future travelers: It is also very transited and just now the government began a project to bring back the Old Cobblestones back to the street instead of the pavement. We will see some construction beginning September '13 thru December 1st '13. We will keep you posted!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel has tons of character and was very affordable (less than $100 per night). The room felt very romantic with white netting hanging down from the ceiling surrounding the bed. The hotel staff was friendly and gave good advice about where to eat in the area. The hotel is centrally located and is within walking distance of everything you would want to do in Old San Juan. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the classic queen room on the second floor. The room and bathroom were small but that's f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Our Colonial structure, built in early 1910 is narrow and possesses architectural features like no other. If you are looking for unique, this is it. You will feel like you have traveled in time while having the comforts of today. All our rooms are unique, and it is hard to find two that are alike. For extra space, our four suites have two connecting bedrooms. Come visit and see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We needed a place to stay for a night before our cruise left from the ports. Not only was this hotel only a short walk to our ship, but it was also at the hub of an amazing food festival. Other reviews mention the noise, but we had no problems sleeping in our room on the fourth floor in the center of the hotel. The decor is unique and the rooms clean. The best part however was the manager and concierge Joyce, who went above and beyond to help us book a tour the next day.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so ask for help getting your bags down in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is impeccably decorated, lobby and rooms. The staff was super attentive and courteous. The room was super clean and the bed was very comfortable. The art boutique decoration followed throughout the room also. Best location in the most popular and centric street in old san juan.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location in Old San Juan. Rooms are very comfy. Beds are great, new led tv's with direct tv.Free Wifi. Showers are awesome with good water pressure and hot water. Very clean. Breakfast at Cafe Americain was extremely good, try the Eggs Benedict with a side of bacon .... So good!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here the night before our cruise. Had a wonderful time and such a nice staff. Very stylish with a more modern fun feel. Great place to stay for shopping and seeing the forts. Will come back for sure.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. Just make sure you are ok with stairs or ask for a room on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CasaBlanca is a walk-up (no elevator) Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive - to microfiber towels. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: iron, steamer, hairdryer, 24 hrs water, coffee and ice. Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 7 - 10 am while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. All our guests receive 20% discount. Restaurant offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. Diner is informal and only open Thur-Sat with the best "comida Criolla"in town. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaBlanca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.