We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cousy little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Save Saved
You added CasaBlanca Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct save 25%
Ranked #6 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice and cousy little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hotel Casablanca was a really nice experience, although we only stayed there for one night on our way from San Juan to Ponce. The hotel is very conveniatly located in the old town and the rooms are nice and well air conditioned. The staff at the hotel is more than friendly and helpful, they are just amazing! Like previous reviewees have pointed out, the hotel does not have an elevator so if you have any issues with mobility you should consider some other option. For me, however, this was not an issue and I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in San Juan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    108
    31
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
192
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deer Park, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

OK I will try to start with something positive... Great decor..awesome breakfast but oh my god this place is loud. If you are there to party til 4am then yes this is your place but not for us. You must know they have a lounge downstairs that stays open til 2am and every sound traveled to our room on the 3rd floor. The noise from every single bar in the area could be heard clearly and the later and drunker the louder it became. The other guess who also were drunk were rude and had no consideration for any other guess. We checked out at 730am just to return to the room we had in Luquillo to get some sleep. We spent 6 days in Puerto Rico with one night here and by far it was the worse night ever. No coffee maker no fridge never will I return. 3 stars if pushing it and being nice. Also this place is so old while my husband was showering paint was pealing from the walls.

Room Tip: Ceiling leaked on to our bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear RnEReid,

I want to begin by apologizing for your unpleasant stay at our Hotel. Saturday was the first time the lounge has been open since I am in management and I apologize in the name of our entire staff for our poor choice to leave it open that night. We evidently need to look for alternative ways to insulate for noise and we will go back to normal hours until we can ensure the good night rest of all our guests. This is our primary goal!

As for the noise from the street it is unfortunate in a way because it may be disturbing depending on the crowd, on the other side, Fortaleza is the most hip street in Old San Juan and it's real fun and great location. We have inner rooms where you don't hear outside noise if you are looking for an early bedtime. Please call front desk or request an inner room when booking.

The building is Spanish stone construction from the early 19th Century and humidity is constant all year long specially after such a long week of rain. We'll make sure the bathroom is repaired and painted this week. Trust me, we never stop, it is constant upkeep with menacing island humidity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

hotel check-in = friendly and easy (cant check in until 3pm but can safely leave bags)
room (3B) = LARGE, separate sitting/sleeping areas, clean, comfy bed, lovely balcony (great sun)
*paint chipping from walls and some rust on bathroom vanity (can be off-putting at first)
amenities = SUPER rooftop bathes (5 total) - to soak and sunbathe (still under construction but lovely)
breakfast = complimentary plate is small but just enough (other menu items offered 20% off)
location = right in busy Old San Juan (can walk to marina, casino, restaurants, fort close by)
*cannot walk to Royal Caribbean port location (taxi ride, minimal cost - hotel will hail taxi for you)

We'd stay here again for sure!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great location. parking isn't too horrible, there is a city lot nearby.....wouldn't recommend street parking (very narrow streets). Once parked, hotel is a short walk....in great location. great value for location....front desk help was excellent, very helpful and recommended great places to eat. There are rooms without exterior windows, which is what we had, but this didn't matter, we were not in room that much. Room was clean, bathroom clean...no complaints...
we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Seriously, how much do you want to stay in your room.....your in OLD SAN JUAN...if your not walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Casablanca hotel before our cruise. We were looking for something a little different than the run-of-the-mill hotel strings and Casablanca was exactly that. Like nothing we have stayed in before! The artsie/boutique style was so unique and full of charm! The location is perfect! Walking distance to all the activities in Old San Juan and also the ports. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Looking foreward to the next time we visit San Juan and the Casablanca Hotel!

Room Tip: Keep in mind there is no elevator and the stairways are narrow, depending on your floor #... heavy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear 57Hines,

We are so unbelievably happy to hear you truly enjoyed your stay with us! We recently won an award for top 10 most affordable hotel in the Caribbean and we are very proud it is not only just about our affordable rates but that our service and the overall experience is one to remember.

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel has a friendly staff. Joyce is very attentive and a very nice person to talk to.
The room was small but it is an old structure in a colonial city so that's something to consider; but it was comfortable. The decor is gorgeous. If you want to see all the museums and historic places in the Old San Juan and the location of this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

As soon as you step in the reception you will fall in love with the design! It's really unique. Rooms are quite good as well and well clean. Breakfast is included but the only negative point is the waiting time to be served. I don't know if it happens all the time but be prepared to wait even if it is not busy. We had to go to the airport and therefore it was quite stressing. On the positive aspect there are the soaking baths they have on the roof. It looks really like a terrace on Marrakesh. You can fill the bath with water and relax as much as you like. It's open also at night. However, they should tidy up a bit the terrace, part of it is like a building site. The hotel is also very central and close to any old San Juan attraction.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Marusca,

Thank you so much for your review! It is an absolute pleasure to hear all your comments the fabulous and the not so fabulous so you keep us on our feet! We have had a meeting with our Restaurant team so we can be more speedy on service specially if you are about to head to the airport. Chef Felvio y very meticulous and makes everything from scratch for you, that is why it is so good! Fresh & delicious!

Thank you and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CasaBlanca is a walk-up (no elevator) Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive - to microfiber towels. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: iron, steamer, hairdryer, 24 hrs water, coffee and ice. Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 7 - 10 am while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. All our guests receive 20% discount. Restaurant offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. Diner is informal and only open Thur-Sat with the best "comida Criolla"in town. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaBlanca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.