We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Bacaro Venezia

Il Bacaro Venezia
Calle Cruz 152, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
787-977-5638
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 578 restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
East Hills, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“real good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

food has authentic italian (venezian) taste and is like a small tratatoria, that you would see in italy including a smal bar.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo C, Owner at Il Bacaro Venezia, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for the positive review!! Offering a genuinely authentic experience is what we have always strived to achieve, and fortunately after nine years we still pull it off. Thanks again. Riccardo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    63
    12
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“I always recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

this fine little, neighborhood restaurant to visitors. I live in Old San Juan, and my friends and I are always looking for a no fuss place that’s not too noisy to hear each other talk, and won’t break the bank; with good, fresh food and friendly cooperative service. After reviewing all the options we always seem to end up at Il Barco. You can also get a meal to go, to take home to whoever just wanted to stay in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo C, Owner at Il Bacaro Venezia, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Weather by dining with us or simply recommending our little restaurant to tourists, it is almost entirely thanks to our old San Juan locals that we have been around for as long as we have! I can't thank you enough!! Riccardo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had dinner here once and would definately go back again. We were looking for a decent restaurant close to the apartment we were staying at and found this little place. Usually we avoid Italian restaurants when we travel and try to have authentic foods of the country we are visiting but we had a 2 year old son and didn't want to venture any further in our search. We were very happy we walked in! The food was excellent and the servers were super friendly and went out of their way to make our experience beyond ordinary. My husband had a grouper with spaghetti which he and our son loved and I had eggplant parmesan and it was also delicious. The atmosphere was very nice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo C, Owner at Il Bacaro Venezia, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for the great feed back! All comments are helpful, yet the good ones remind us why we chose this line of work in the first place. Thanks again for coming in. Riccardo C (owner).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A very romantic little bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

While walking the Old City of San Juan one morning we stumbled upon El Bacaro on a little side street. From the view through the windows we saw a delightful little restaurant. The Trip Advisor sticker on the door convinced me that they care about what their guests have to say.
We came back later in the week to a most delightful dinner. I had a large chunk of grouper on pasta that was perfectly seasoned. My wife chose the days soup and spinach salad much to her delight.
They have a full bar, but we got a pitcher of the El Bacaro house sangria, one of the best in San Juan. With all of that we still managed to get out of there for under $75 including tip.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cozy, romantic, and good food mostly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The staff are helpful, friendly, and attractive and the place feels authentic and charming. It's small and cozy with soft lighting. I had the impression that locals were eating here. In fact, our neighbor was born and raised in San Juan and recommended the Carbonara (which indeed she ordered).

Our meal was delicious with one very sad exception. The dessert. Agh! We were served a half frozen tiramisu that could easily been Sarah Lee. It was sooo disappointing after everything that came before. Still, it's definitely a pleasant place to visit if you're in the mood for Italy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bacaro Venezia also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Il Bacaro Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Bacaro Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.