We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool, but would stay elsewhere in San Juan next.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #12 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Waigani, National Capital, Papua New Guinea
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice pool, but would stay elsewhere in San Juan next.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I went with a friend for a girls getaway. The pool area and pool bar was great. We spent 2 1/2 days of our 5 day stay poolside. The location is just not good for anything except the convention center. The taxis are not cheap for tourists. The taxi drivers are continually hasseling you to call them while still trying to rip you off. They do not use the meters. Most of the ones who actually have meter in the car do not work or they refuse to turn them on. You can walk some places, but it's at least a 20 minute walk in and back to the nearest Walgreens. If you do stay here, I would recommend renting a car. Next time I go to San Juan, I would definitely stay a resort on the beach or in Old San Juan.

The rooms were ok. We ate at Choices one night when did not feel like dealing with taxis. It was decent, but definitely nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOMIHAA, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
JuliannaAmanda,

Thank you for taking the time to share comments on your stay with us. We really appreciate feedback from our guests. I will be sharing your concerns with our staff in regards to the taxi fares to ensure that our guests are properly informed of the correct rates to the different destinations around the hotel.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and wish you the best in all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    361
    157
    55
    56
See reviews for
174
296
42
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 502 during Memorial Day weekend. The carpet needed a major shampoo, and an electrical socket was coming a loose. I could imagine this being a safety issue. Room service did not change dirty sheets. The infinity pool is nice along with the casino. The location is next to nothing but the convention center. One good thing is that there is a bus stop with two buses that stop there (21, 53). They will take you various places in PR. Bad news is there's no set bus schedule.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Keynah,

Thank you for the time you took to share your experience at our property. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciatethe feedback you have given us and I will definetely share it with the team. We take all comments as an opportunity to improve our service.

We hope that on your next visit to Puerto Rico you experience us again. Enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at this facility for a conference. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and patient.

The room was very nice - clean and comfortable. Everything was in working order. There was an ice and vending machine on each floor.

The pool was on the 4th floor and it had a jacuzzi, bar, and plenty of chairs to relax in. There are 2 restaurants, the food was ok. I was a little disappointed in the casino as it seemed small and didn't have a casino "feel" to it. It was quiet, the bar was empty, and hardly anyone on the slots or tables.

Now on the downside, there is nothing in walking distance from the hotel except a restaurant diagonally across from the lobby called Ficus. There is also a Sizzler a few blocks away that you could walk to but I would advise otherwise, just due to the fact that i don't think there was sidewalk to get to it. Other than that, I would advise renting a car but be advised they drive very reckless and fast. You can also take a cab (which is a van, not a car) and they will charge a flat fee for under 5 people, and then charge per person $3-5 depending on the time of day. Most of the restaurants in Old St Juan are about a 10 minute ride from the hotel.

The restaurant that had breakfast has option for buffet ($19) or choose from menu. They also have a small area where you can get grad and go breakfast sandwiches and coffee.

Meeting facilities were clean - no complaints in that area. Computer area was clean as well with several computers available for use.

Room Tip: You will either have a view of the convention center or downtown. There is no view of any water beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dawheat77,

Thank you for taking your time to give your feedback about our hotel. We are very happy that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed your time in Puerto Rico. All the comments you have provided willbe shared with our team.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and wish you the best in all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San German, PR United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed with my family during Memorial Weekend an had dinner at Choices.
I ordered mahi mahi with mamposteao rice, others tried the trifongo with shrimps, churrasco and chicken breast with sweet plantain mofongo. All plates were delicious!
Our waiter, Jose D' Leon gave us an outstanding service. He prepare the best strawberry frappes!
We had a pleasantly stay at Sheraton!
Diana & Joaquin

Room Tip: 10-12 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Diana V,

Thank you for your time and your comments. We appreciate all feedback in regards to our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to having you back. I will definetely share your experience with the hotel team members.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have very mixed reviews about this hotel. The parking is convenient and a good value at $16. The lobby is very nice,but the hotel is great if you need to be at a convention in San Juan. At the airport, there is a sign that says welcome to Paradise, but you will not get that feel at this hotel. There is no Puerto Rico vibe and you would not know you were in San Juan if someone placed you here. Yes a lot of things are 5 to 10 minutes away, but that is by car and you have to struggle for parking. If everything is 5 minutes away, I would stay there then. I will stay somewhere else on the next trip. The pool is nice and you see the Marina, but what about the parking lot directly in front of you that looks like I am swimming in a Walmart parking lot. Rooms are nice, but I was very disappointed with this hotel. It is about location,location,location. I am a Starwood Platinum member and there was very little recognition and the Club Room is sparse.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino last minute an got a really great rate for one night stay before we left back home to Boston the next day. When we checked in the hotel staff was really friendly and let us check in our bags before the check-in time for the room. After we checked in we went to our room with a view of the pool. The one draw back was we were one floor above the pool so you could hear the kids playing. But it didn't bother us as we relaxed on our private deck that came with the room.

As we unpacked our clothes we noticed one of our suite cases was broken. We called the front desk someone came up stairs right away to take a report and told us someone will contact us about them breaking one of our suite cases.

We dined in the sushi restaurant for lunch which my girl loved. An for dinner we at at the Brazilian Buffet my favorite the food was so good. If you are in to a little gambling they have that there too not really big but enough to get you're fix.

Overall the hotel and stay was amazing would stay here again.

Now here comes the but..... As I said they broke one of our suite cases and took the report this happen on January 2013. No one ever called me back about my suite case. I called a number of times left my information for them to get back to me about it. Never heard back from the hotel about this matter till this day and its may 2013.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaI-ExecAssistant, Management Representative at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for your review. We appreciate you took the time to share with others your experience at our property. We are very pleased you had a great time and enjoyed dining at our different concessionaries. However, we want to apologize in regards to the inconvenience with your suitcase. We would like to urge you to contact our Front Office Manager at your earliest convenience so we can discuss a way to take care of this matter. We look forward to connecting with you in a future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very good venue for holding conferences and meeting. The conference facilities, rooms were very clean and modern. Staff were friendly and spoke both English and Spanish. Great location as well in proximity to Old San Juan. The landscaping was beautiful with trees and fountains and pools as well. Security was not bad and they are somewhat eco-friendly which is good. The rooms were equip with everything required and everything worked well ( a.c, fan, sliding doors, shower etc). Great view from the room also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
RashidaBeckles,

Thank you for your time in writing your comments about our hotel. We are very grateful of your feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to having you back in Puerto Rico and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#3 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#7 Business Hotel in San Juan
#8 Family Hotel in San Juan
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated amidst the Puerto Rico Convention Center facing the Bay of San Juan, our hotel will be just 10 minutes from the international airport and 5 minutes from historic Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, BookIt.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.