We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newer hotel close to Old San Juan and Condado” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #12 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Dallas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Newer hotel close to Old San Juan and Condado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I've stayed here two times in the last year. Hotel is new and staff are warm and friendly. Had a lovely lunch at the restaurant at the end of our last visit and the food was great (service a little on the inattentive side).

Back again in a month!

Room Tip: We used our suite upgrades and the suite was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    319
    376
    162
    56
    60
See reviews for
183
308
42
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was in San Juan for a week for business and was excited to stay at this hotel - the pictures were beautiful and reviews communicated that while the location is not great, the service is.

Upon checking in, I got a beautiful room on an SPG Prefered Floor. The room service menu is good and the Chinese food restaurant was excellent, and I went there twice. However the Bell service really disappointed me. I had a cab hailed for me on my first day and the cabbie quoted (they do not run on meter) what sounded like a very high fare. I turned to the guy who hailed the cab and asked if the fare sounded, well fair. He said yes. Upon getting to work, they told me I paid double what I should have.

The next morning I first went to concierge to have them print me a map to my work so I could better negotiate how much taxi fare I should pay. There was one person in line in front of me and the concierge staff refused to even may eye contact with me while I was waiting. I certainly did not expect concierge to rush to help me, but wanted some acknowledgement. After 5ish frustrating minutes I went to the front desk and they helped me. Then I went into my cab with the map and was quoted a rate almost half of what was quoted the day before, confirming that the bell staff could not care less if their guests are being ripped off.

If work brings me back to San Juan, I will not stay at this resort. As an SPG member, there is another Sheraton in Old San Juan with more favorable reviews that will get my business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I use the resort primarily for work so don't get to use the amenities as much. On my last trip I thought I left something in the room the rep was so pleasant he sent someone to the room and called back within 5 minuits. These are the things that stand out.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have been to the Sheraton for the last two consecutive weeks both for business and pleasure. The room had a superb view of the bay and upgrading to the use of the club lounge is worth every penny. We tried other restaurants in the property but we mos say, Choices remains the best. Our bellboy Eric was great and so were the people at the reception counter. The management team at Choices, Elsie, Wilfredo and now Sujeily cannot be beat by any!!! Try the tortilla soup or the vegetable curry soup made by chef Bartolo, is to die for. The new "tablita pa' picar" is excellent, with delicious cheeses, cold cuts and fresh fruits. The House Salad is a must and also a must are the mojitos from Jose at the bar. We were delighted also by the service of Natalio and the hosting of Keyla. Yep, we will go back soon!

Room Tip: Look for rooms facing the San Juan Bay from the eight floor on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
JesusHuertas,

Thank you for your time and your great comments about our hotel and staff. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us and look forward to seeing you and hearing from you again.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Proactive, excellent service in the hotel. Staff anticipates needs and is accommodating, and will go the extra mile to ensure that your needs are addressed. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and rooms are serviced on a timely basis, which is not as commonplace as it should be in the Caribbean. If you use this hotel as a base for exploration of the island with a car, the location is suitable, and offers easy access to highways. For the convention center, this is a top-notch hotel.

If you prefer to be able to walk to beaches and tourist areas, most would not consider those within "walking distance." If you shop wisely, a day's car rental is less expensive than a single cab fare at night. If you go the rental route, free parking along the street is an economical alternative to the hotel self/valet parking. A Walmart and Walgreens are just a few minutes away by car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool/convention center side--the other side of the property overlooks an unkep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were planning a Carnival cruise and accidentally booked the Sheraton hotel at the convention center and not the one in Old San Juan. We met others that made this same mistake. I can tell you that it still was a good place to stay. The negative edge pool was warm and relaxing and across the street from the hotel was Ficus, a bar and restaurant that had great evening music and food. They even offer take out which we then took back to the pool and enjoyed.

The hotel has a nice restaurant and the rooms where comfortable and nice. The casino was small but clean and was almost as exciting as a small Vegas casino.

If you are taking a trip on Royal Caribbean or Celebrity then this hotel is the closer of the two Sheratons but if you are taking a Carnival cruise you will want to make sure you book the Sheraton in Old San Juan and not the convention center.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice place to stay but there's nothing much around other than the convention center and a few restaurants so get a car so you can go to Condado and other places that are very nice. Their infinity pool is very nice!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#7 Business Hotel in San Juan
#8 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated amidst the Puerto Rico Convention Center facing the Bay of San Juan, our hotel will be just 10 minutes from the international airport and 5 minutes from historic Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Otel, Starwood, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.