We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casino a little lame” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Casino a little lame”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We went here to kill some time before our boat took off from San Juan. I wanted to get the gambling started- most of all play some slots of black jack. The casino was small, the slot variety was poor and the tables were expensive for the middle of the day.

Most of all, when we ordered a drink while sitting at a table- it never came! We sat there for about 25 minutes and the waitress never came by. I also felt like I was under surveillance the whole time- the vibe was just not a good one. I would not go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    464
    202
    70
    68
See reviews for
234
380
54
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a nice hotel, for business. There is a big conference going on in the hotel, and there are still lots of kids running around. I don't know what they do all day--hang out by the pool? Beds, rooms are nice--bathroom--not so much. I was here for work, and all 3 of us ended up in disability rooms--zero vanity space in bathroom, water all over when taking a shower...and the shower head is one of those removable ones, which keeps falling down. My bathroom's ceiling access panels keep falling open, too. I finally taped them up with duct tape.
China Club restaurant is okay. Had Choices for breakfast--very pricey. There's a Mexican place across the street--we liked that a lot, but it's kind of gourmet, so servings are small-ish.
Concierge, bell boys--all very helpful.
Walls do seem rather thin--it was obvious to me that there were little kids in the room next to me, plus I was next to the elevator--which runs ALL night. And next to ice machine. Stay away from rooms ending in 35! (however, I did have a balcony overlooking the pool deck, so...)

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 35 are next to ice machine and elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Right in front of Puerto Rico Convention Center this is the best hotel to be choosen for both business (if your meeting is at the Puerto Rico Convention Center) and leisure. The room , the bed and the pillows are very comfortable especially if you can have the 'bayview' one, from which you can see the beatiful bay with old San Juan as the background, the beautiful hotel's pool and also the view of the convention center with it's beautiful glittering lamps and fountain at night. It's worth to pay extra for the club rooms especially if your stay is for business , because you can have 24 hour access to the Club Lounge with the business room inside and all the business equipment inclusive the computer with internet connection (the internet connection is also free at the room), printer and the paper suply free of charge. Bottled cold water , hot coffee and tea is also available all days long inside the lounge. It might be better if they also could serve cookies, snacks and fruits together with the drink even they have already served the 'hours d'ouvre' from 5 to 8 pm. The view form theClub lounge is also beautiful, but it would be better if the quality of the breakfast could be increased by adding some hot food like some variation of eggs dishes. The only problem for the very busy travelers, it's hard to do some shopping even only for small things or souvenirs around the hotel. You should go to the shopping centre or the old San Juan, and the taxi's fee is unbelievable..at least 15 USD for every trip!!!

Room Tip: Choose the Club rooms with bayview
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

First and foremost, I would like to commend my server "GABRIEL VALDES" aka GABBY. His knowledge and amazing personality made my dining experience a FIVE STAR. I ordered the scallops with arugala salad and my second course was the grilled jerk mahi, and for dessert I had an appetizing apple tart. It was a delicious choice of foods. He also suggested an amazing pineapple mojito. Kudos to you Gabby on an exemplary job!!!I will definetly go back Choices Restaurant again !!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We won this hotel on one of the bid places. The price was reasonable and included taxes (this is pretty important in Puerto Rico). We didn't realize that a continental breakfast was also included. Beautiful room with a city view. Very nice staff. The ONLY reason I didn't give this hotel 5 stars is that it is really in the middle of NOWHERE. The pool is also wonderful. This is right next to the convention center. Looking forward to when some other things spring up in that area

Room Tip: Our room Overlooked the city but the condensation on the window made for a so-so view. Our friend o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 5 times and there was a noticeable difference in the quality of service and the appearance of the hotel. 1) the Sheraton club is understaffed and the food is simply terrible. We arrived on a Monday and by Wed, they were serving Peppers( yes chiles) as a meal which is unacceptable 2) The hotel hosted a volleyball event for kids and the club sold of breakfast before 8am. 3) During the event, guests were bringing non guest to the pool area , who brought there own food and drinks( yes alcohol) while taking up space for paying guests 4)Also at pool, there were no towels for over 2 hours and we had to get towels from our room. 5) there was no security at the pool to prevent this problem and there were paying guests sharing seats. 6) The hallways and common areas were not clean and there was a 2 day trash build up on our floor.On the positive side, Nicole from the Club and Freddy from were very helpful and really tried to improve the situation but Senior mgmt needs to take a hard look at its service offering and security. I will no stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This is mainly a business hotel , we stayed here for a conference, since the convention center is right next to it.
Service was great, the staff at the front desk were very friendly. Melissa was very helpful and efficient, quickest check-in I've ever had. The room was clean and I had a pretty view of the bay.
The food at Choices was very good, but i think a little over priced. Two of the nights we ate at the Club and the girl that attended us Nicole, was wonderful.
Told her we had a free day coming up and wanted to have breakfast and possibly lunch out of the hotel but close by. She recommended Caficultura and Pirilo pizzeria in Old San Juan, both were incredible!!! Next night she remembered and asked about it. They make you feel very welcomed and at home. I'll be reviewing the restaurants as well.
All in all great service, nice rooms and good food. I would book again!


  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 Family Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated amidst the Puerto Rico Convention Center facing the Bay of San Juan, our hotel will be just 10 minutes from the international airport and 5 minutes from historic Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Media 8, Inc., Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.