We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Location Challenged” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Location Challenged”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel is a beautiful property with attentive and friendly staff. It has a concierge lounge that is open to SPG Platinum members. The lounge is on the 12th (top) floor and is lovely. It has both inside and outside seating areas. The lounge food, especially breakfast, leaves much to be desired though. SPG Platinum guests are treated well...I was placed in a very nice room on the top floor.

The problem with this hotel is its location. You must have a car to get anywhere interesting. On my previous trip to Puerto Rico I stayed at the La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort which is on the ocean in the Condado neighborhood. The location made all the difference. It was so nice to be able to be on the beach, and to be located close to numerous restaurants and shopping. At the Sheraton, on the other hand, the only walkable attractions are the convention center and the restaurants and casino at the hotel itself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimInBoulderCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Generally when you book a spa session while on vacation or at home you exspect to be pampered and the service to be at least good. At Zen Spa located inside this Sheraton Hotel it was anything but. I booked a basic facial and I deeply regret it. I don't know where to begin with how bad it was. For starters ill say that i I was left alone in the room for 20 minutes of the 55 minute session and she left the light on! Everything else about the facial was, just as bad and disappointing ......Starwood should be ashamed of this.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveling-couple95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our room didn't seem to be cleaned - there was a coin on the floor, as well as a sugar/creamer packet with a piece of gum stuck to it. There was no pen & paper on the desk & there was no garbage can or recycling bin in the room. The coffee was expired. When we called to get some of these items delivered, half the order was missing. I was expecting more from a '4 Diamond' hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank cmariec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

It was just a quick getaway for the weekend. I arrived in P.R. on a Friday evening it took us at most ten min to get to the hotel. We were greeted by the nicest people. The room was nice ,sony flat screen, ipod docking station, cordless phone. I had a pretty good view. The jucuzzi was nice and relaxing. They had a kiddie pool. The infinity pool was deceiving in the pictures it is not as big as it looks.
The only problem is that there is a huge pool area and most of it is occupied with beach chairs. The pool should have been bigger. The pool area has a nice bar and the drinks were good. We had coupons for $3 mojitos which were delicious. The food was good also. The hotel has three resturants and the food was pretty good. The club was convienent for anyone who does not want to leave the hotel. Although the casino was indeed cruise ship like, it was ok just to kill an hour or so.
I would recommend this hotel and I would return.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 12th floor with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fee319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I wanted to mention I have been coming to this Sheraton hotel for over 2 years and I must say the staff are wonderful and embracing. From the front desk to the restaurants they are very service focused and attentive. On my last trip I wanted to mention the bartender Jose D' Leon @ Choice Resturant was very attentive not only to me but all the patrons at the bar . The hosted for the restaurant Jeniffer Crespo was also very pleasurable and attentive in making sure that I was very satified with my snack order and made all accomodation perfect. If you have a choice to make on where to stay I would highly recommend this hotel for the best service.

Room Tip: ask for pool view - city view is a little cheaper but sometimes if you as nicely you could get a sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Short stay at the hotel last month. It come across as the typical convention/cruise ship/casino hotel. Large and clean, but cold and impersonal. Can also be loud and overwhelming at times with crowds. Mixed reaction that's why I'm giving it a middle of the road "average" rating.

Good : Large clean rooms, everything works. Front desk is efficient, used to handling crowds. Decent food/drink choices in-house.

Bad : Can be swamped by loud/noisy cruise ship passengers used to looking for the next buffet line, middle-of-nowhere location which require a car/cab to get to anywhere in San Juan (except the convention center).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SometimesFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I wasn't looking forward to much based on the reviews here, but overall, for a conference center hotel, this was pretty good. The staff throughout my stay were great, housekeeping was good (even if the carpet in the room could have done with being replaced), the breakfast was passable, and the bed comfortable. It's probably not where I'd stay in PR if I was there on holiday, but for attending a conference at the centre next door, it's a perfect choice.

Room Tip: I had a room with a balcony, which I don't think many had. It certainly made my stay a bit nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
#1 of 44 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#21 of 44 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 5,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#5 of 44 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#25 of 44 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 3,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated amidst the Puerto Rico Convention Center facing the Bay of San Juan, our hotel will be just 10 minutes from the international airport and 5 minutes from historic Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Low Cost Holidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing