We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Juan Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
San Juan Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Munoz Rivera #54 | Puerta de Tierra, San Juan 00902, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 44 hotels in San Juan
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at San Juan Park Hotel for 4 nights. The lobby isn't fancy but it is clean. The lady at the front desk was very nice. I don't remember her name but she had long hair and gave us a lot of information. We stayed on the 3rd floor and our room faced the back (313). When we walked in I was quite shocked. It was VERY clean!! The room was cool and the ac unit didn't seem too loud. The bathroom is a little small but it was up to date and clean too. Maid service was cleaned our room every morning. They even waited until after we left for the day at 9am to come clean. Don't expect much for breakfast. It was pretty much just cereal and fuit. It is off a busy street and no parking is available (for those who want to rent a car). You do however have the option of parking at the Hilton (which is right behind this hotel) but it will cost you $20 a day. What I can tell you is that everything is in close walking distance. From the beaches to shopping. We even walked to Old San Juan which is about 2-3 miles away but it was along the coastline so it wan't too bad. I would't given this a 5 star but it didn't have a pool :( Other then that we had a blast and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanParkHotel, Front Office Manager at San Juan Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the San Juan Park Hotel as your hotel during your visit to Puerto Rico. Our goal is to make every guest happy and meet their expectations. We go the extra mile to make every guest feel unique. We appreciate your feedback and we take them as a opportunity to grow.

Hoping to see you back at Puerto Rico real soon.

Kind Regards,
San Juan Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    51
    30
    7
    8
See reviews for
15
76
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrebonne, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night before our cruise. It is conveniently located and affordable. About 10 minutes from Pier 4 with a cab. (Nota: Always confirm taxi fare before you get in. It is a flat rate for different zones and price may vary depending on the number of luggage that you have. A ten percent tip is appreciated). The staff at the reception are very friendly and ready to help you with information needed. You can take the bus across the street and around the corner (in front of the park). The fare is 75 cents and you need coins. Very convenient to go to Old San Juan. After bus hours (around ten at night), you will need to take a taxi back. There are a convenience store, a Subway and an Asian Restaurant next door to the Hotel. The rooms are not large but clean and comfortable, and you can't complain for the price you are paying. A basic breakfast is complimentary on the 4th floor in the morning. Location, price and service are all good reasons to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanParkHotel, Front Office Manager at San Juan Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the San Juan Park hotel as your hotel. We are really happy to know that you liked our hotel and enjoy your pre-cruise staying. As a Boutique hotel it is our pleasure to provide the best customer service that we know. Our staff works very hard to make every staying a wonderful one. We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at San Juan Park hotel for two nights before our cruise departed San Juan. First off we were a little concerned that since this was a smaller property that they might not actually be up when we arrived, about 3 am since our flight didn't land until nearly 2 am. The front desk clerk was indeed up and happy to get us checked in so customer service was a definite plus! We requested the king room with daybed, and the daybed was great for storing our suitcases. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom appeared to be newly redone so it was very nice, and it wasn't as noisy as we thought it would be. Our only complaint is that housekeeping can be improved. My husband spilled his soda on the floor (there is only one nightstand and it was on my side of the bed) and that area was still sticky later that day when we returned home. I actually hesitated to walk around the room barefooted so I wore socks that I removed before bed. They have a washer and dryer that guests can use after 4 pm (bring your own laundry detergent) which is a really nice bonus if you are cruising! The front desk clerk was happy to contact a cab for us when we needed one. We liked the hotel, and the location was pretty great, although it wasn't as close to Old San Juan as we thought it was. A short bus or cab ride, yes, but you would actually be closer to the marina. All told, we enjoyed our experience at San Juan Park Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanParkHotel, Front Office Manager at San Juan Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. It is our pleasure to provide the best customer service we can. We are glad that you like the fact that there was someone at 2 am when you arrived. We have a 24 hour front desk clerk to provide the service that out guests need. We definitely appreciate your comment about housekeeping, that will help us improve our service. About the washer and the dryer that is one of the amenities that we provide to our guests. We hope to see you real soon again in our lovely island.


Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We recently visited San Juan, Puerto Rico staying at a small hotel within walking distance of Old San Juan. At first glance San Juan Park may appear to be a pale shadow of the larger, more modern hotels such as the Hilton and the like, but we soon discovered that larger and newer are not necessarily better.
S J PARK turned out to be an awesome hotel: extremely clean, courteous staff, continental breakfasts and just perfect for us.
We will def return to San Juan and we will be booking a room at San Juan Park Hotel.

Room Tip: No pool! I tried to take the rating off the pool.......but couldnt😫. Lol The rooms without the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanParkHotel, Front Office Manager at San Juan Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the San Juan Park Hotel. It is our pleasure to make our guests happy and feeling like they were in home. Our staff is here to provide the best customer service and help the guests with their needs. We appreciate your feedback and we will used it to improve our hotel. Just to clarify for guests that will be coming, we don't have a pool. That picture is not from our hotel and have been already reported to TripAdvisor so they can take it down. Again, thank your for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
San Juan Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanawha, Ia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had another great stay at the Park Hotel in March 2013 with our family this time (2 rooms). The room for 3 of us was very nice with a daybed as well as regular bed and nice balcony. The morning we were to depart, there was an Ironman competition going on close to our hotel and made it a hassle to get a cab but that is no fault of the hotel. Our room was clean and nice. Nicole was very helpful in getting mass times for attending mass the following weekend when we were to return from our cruise. I very much appreciated that. She had a pleasant personality and was so willing to help. Thanks, Nicole! The other gal at the desk another time was not as cheery and helpful. This hotel is not fancy shmancy but it is clean. They offer a small "get it yourself" breakfast which is sufficient but again, not fancy. The garbage can was overflowing and needed to be tended to. No one was around to take care of that at the time. We'd stay here again. This hotel is not in downtown Old San Juan so you will have to take a taxi to where ever you wish to go. But they are available and the hotel desk gals are very happy to help you out with that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanParkHotel, Front Office Manager at San Juan Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Your reviews are really important to us. We are more than happy to know that you loved your staying in our hotel and the beautiful Puerto Rico. We take very seriously our guest comments and recommendations. We definitely going to take care on the trash can issue, since is our goal to make every guest happy.

Regards,
San Juan Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is safe, clean and very well located. The location is very convenient, 5 min-walk to a nice beach, many near-by restaurants, convenience stores, beautiful parks and easy access to public transportation.
Also, a lovely sightseeing while jogging along trees in the park and beaches in the way to el Morro.
The look outside is very plain and simple but inside it has everything you need and the rooms are comfortable.
Breakfast is continental style, but you can always bring your own stuff. Access to laundry machine is for free. Free WiFi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanParkHotel, Front Office Manager at San Juan Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. Your reviews are really important to us. We are more than happy to know that you loved your staying in our hotel and the beautiful Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hotel was clean and functional, no frills or extras. Worth the money, Rudy definitely makes this hotel worth staying at. Makes the experience feel like your staying with a good friend. Very helpful with great recommendations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanParkHotel, Front Office Manager at San Juan Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your review and we are more than happy to know that you enjoy your staying. Hopefully you'll visit Puerto Rico again and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Juan Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Park Hotel

Address: Ave. Munoz Rivera #54 | Puerta de Tierra, San Juan 00902, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 44 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Juan Park Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Cheap Tickets so you can book your San Juan Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.