We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainforest tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocaliza Adventure Tours

Rocaliza Adventure Tours
352 Ave. San Claudio | PMB 251, San Juan 00926, Puerto Rico
+1 787-268-0101
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rocaliza is an adventure tour company based in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Our main attractions are our El Salto Full Day Zipline and Rappelling Adventure and our El Salto Half Day Zipline and Waterfall Rock Climbing Adventure. We also offer guided rock climbing services as well as specialized courses. Whether you are looking for a fun day ziplining and rappelling with your friends and family or a more individualized guided rock climbing service, our professional staff will ensure your safety at all times. We invite you to come experience Puerto Rico's beauty and uniqueness in a whole different way!
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
“Rainforest tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was a fantastic experience. The guides were very friendly and helpful. This tour had everything. Beautiful scenery, thrills and local people. It was a very cool experience being able to eat with the locals after the zip lining and repelling part of the day.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgcamargo, Owner at Rocaliza Adventure Tours, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you very much for the review! We're very happy that you had fun and were satisfied with our service. We hope you come back and join us on another great adventure!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    871
    36
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not very easy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had originally booked the tour for Tuesday, we were picked up and driven to the location 1 hr away only to be told that since it was raining too much and the water level in the river had risen drastically - they couldn't do the tour that day ( they don't charge you in this case_)- however this resulted in a waste of half a day on our trip - so make sure you have an alternate itinerary in case something like this happens.

We re-booked the tour on another day in the same week since we had heard good reviews from a friend. We were glad we didn't do the tour earlier because you are walking through the river for most part of the tour. Even though we are pretty fit- the rappelling was quite challenging and gave us quite a few bruises. The tour guides were helpful at all stages and made sure everyone got from A->B before the whole troup moved on.

I am writing this review because even though I expected this to be challenging , it was a little scary at least for me. So if you are in doubt, you should probably skip it. They served traditional Puerto Rican lunch after the adventure (which included rice, chicken and pasta?) and also had Sangria for sale

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgcamargo, Owner at Rocaliza Adventure Tours, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We try very hard to not have to cancel any tours due to bad weather but being that this takes place in a rainforest, it's bound to happen sometimes. We take safety very seriously.

This adventure was designed to be challenging and exciting and we are very proud to have been able to accomplish this goal. Some participants do have troubles going up and down the mountain but I guess that's just part of the adventure.

Thank you again for re-booking with us and sorry for the bruises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Epic waterfall hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

A surprisingly fantastic tour. I initially thought walking around waterfalls would be quite easy, but it takes a lot of focus to go upstream and not slip or hurt yourself. The waterfall you rappel down is absolutely gorgeous and epic. You end the day with a few fun ziplines and then lunch at a local home in the area.

Highly recommend. I'm 28 and did this with no problem. We had a few parents > 40 years old who did okay too. As long as you are game for rappelling and climbing you'll be fine. A few were also doing rappelling and ziplining for their first time, but they got over their jitters and did just fine.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgcamargo, Owner at Rocaliza Adventure Tours, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for joining us on the El Salto Full Day Adventure!!! The rappelling down the waterfall is also my favorite part of the adventure! Hope you'll come back and join us on another great adventure!!:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great adventure and super guides!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

After reading reviews on Trip Advisor for hiking/zip line adventures, I chose Rocaliza and was not disappointed. Jacob and Ellie were fantastic...great guides, funny and knowledgable. They picked us up at our hotel right on time (they were even early) and right from the beginning, made up feel comfortable. They were enthusiastic and supportive. I had never been ziplining before and was alittle nervous but were very reassuring. We had a group of 11 which was perfect. We did the 1/2 day adventure, but now wish we had done the full day one. We climbed waterfalls and got very wet. For the more difficult portions of the climb, they helped people along the way and made sure everyone was comfortable. The forest was beautiful, lunch was great and it was a wonderful way to spend a morning!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgcamargo, Owner at Rocaliza Adventure Tours, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for joining us on the El Salto Half Day Adventure. This is an awesome adventure that includes a lot of waterfall climbing and hiking. Loads of fun!!! Hopefully next time you'll join us on the Full Day Adventure! Thanks again!!!:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great fun and doing good too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Not only are the tour guides of ROCALIZA great guys, but funny AND doing good for the community in Puerto Rico. The water fall hikes was nicely challenging making me feel accomplished at the end of it. We got to go on 3 zip lines, not just one, which was also great. Diego kept the conversation lively, filled with history of the area and injecting just enough comedy to keep it interesting as we get a lesson about the community. We felt safe in their gear and in their hands with a total of 3 tour guides looking out for us. They also stressed looking out for each other, which made the group really come together. The meal at the end was so wonderful, the chicken fell off the bone, but the part that really was a great finish was knowing that they were giving money to the local community, by paying a family to cook us lunch, instead of dropping us at Burger King, which was a part of his comedy, but when we drive past it on our way back out, we realize we just were part of a very good thing.
Bravo to the team at ROCALIZA!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgcamargo, Owner at Rocaliza Adventure Tours, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for joining us on this great adventure. One of our main goals is to provide employment for the local community. We do this by hiring local cooks and guides. They are super humble, friendly and overall great people... and definitely love what they do!! This makes the adventure so much more enjoyable. Thanks again!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocaliza Adventure Tours also viewed

 

Been to Rocaliza Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocaliza Adventure Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.