We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the only real coffee house we found in V.S.J” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Cola'o

Cafe Cola'o
Pier 2, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
787-725-4139
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 628 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Durham NH
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“the only real coffee house we found in V.S.J”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

excellent iced cappuccinos! neat hipster atmosphere, although the area is spoiled by cruise boat culture

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    42
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good price for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was a cute little cafe (across the street and down a bit from the Sheraton OSJ). Prices were good, and they had basic breakfast fare. The coffee was great. For a coffee and bagel and cream cheese it was about $4.00. Loved the out door patio.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best coffee on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

If you love your coffee don't miss out on this place. Coffee is made to order. Great place to stop on your way to Barcardi rum tour.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Excellent Puerto Rico-grown Coffee and Sweets Across the Street from the Sheraton Old San Juan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The Cafe Cola'o is right across the street from the Sheraton Old San Juan and serves coffee grown in Puerto Rico. Each cup of coffee is made on demand so there always is a line of people waiting to be served. The wait is well worth it! The coffee is excellent and the barista will make any combination desired, but the plain cafe con leche (coffee with milk) is all we needed. They also have an assortment of delicious local pastries and their "quesitos", a Puerto Rican favorite, were one of the best we had in San Juan. The store has a few tables inside and several outside and is always busy.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We found this coffee shop via Tripadvisor and were impressed with the quality of the coffee... and of the beans sold there. We bought two of them and were very impressed (the secado al sol was divine). We will buy some more online!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cola'o also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Cola'o? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Cola'o, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.