We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serves its purpose..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Del Valle Avenue 1829 | Levittown, San Juan 00949, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Serves its purpose..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Firstly, if you're looking for a 4-5 star superclean property you've probably already overlooked this one. WIth that said, this hotel is a very good option 15-20 mins outside of San Juan. There's a restaurant across the street that plays music on the weekends and serves decent local (Mufongo) and American (chicken,shrimp,etc.) food. There's also a beach across the street good for pictures and walks, I wouldn't swim or lay by the palm trees...too much pollution (not the hotel's fault).

The parking is limited; three rows of spaces which was no problem during the weekdays. Unfortunately, everyone is so nice that nobody really enforces any designated parking rules. Weekends provide for less opportunity to park close to the hotel and your best bet is to wait until someone from the restaurant/bar leaves. It never was a big deal but I can see how others would become annoyed.

As for the room itself, the shower curtains were dirty, our sink was slow to drain, and one could probably complain about other little minor annoyances...but it served its purpose (two rooms for the price of one in San Juan).

Burger King down the street, Dominoes and Pizza Hut on the rear main strip, and Mcdonalds before you get to Toa Baja/Levittown...all convenient with a car.

Last but certainly not least and the reason why I would consider this a four star property is the staff. Very patient, friendly, understanding, etc.

(PS. the pool looked nice and clean but we never got to enjoy it.....all water activities were done away from the hotel...as were most of our meals as well. The breakfast also served its purpose, nothing spectacular but enjoyable).

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the elevator (401-508) provide for good views of the pool (below) and ocean (af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    35
    36
    11
    12
See reviews for
27
41
12
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Weekend stay of approx. 50 pp. Good service, nice staff, clean rooms and great vew. Be sure to specify in contract all your needs. Don't assume! Extra charge for bread, salad. Same rice recipe was given for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel J, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Mr. DVB;

We appreciate your review. Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward for your future stay and we'll make sure to make it more delightful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband was on a work trip and I was tagging along. The other people staying at the property were obviously there for work too and working in the industrial sector nearby. The hotel itself is nice and across the street is a great taco stand that serves tacos, hamburgers and cheap drinks. The pool gets thumbs up and the rooms were decent with comfortable beds. However, the room next to the elevator is noisy so we ended up switching. The restaurant at the top of the hotel I didn't eat at. It was only open for a few days a week. So the hotel itself is decent but if you aren't there for work, it's out of the way from downtown San Juan and other activities you might want to do and you'll need a car to do them. Across the street is a beach but it was full of debris and trash. It looked like it was the place where basketballs went to die. About a mile and a half down the road was a nicer beach. For someone on vacation, I wouldn't really recommend it, even if the staff was nice and the rooms better than average.

Room Tip: stay away from the elevator. it makes noise every time it moves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We thank you for your review and appreciate your positive response. Thank you again and hope to see you soon at our Hotel.
Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.
We very much appreciate and value your review and will share it with our team. Your comments will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

i loved this hotel.. I liked the staff,the breakfast left a lil bit to be desired. We had a lower level room 305.. if you are sound sensitive you would want a higher room as you can hear the cars in the am. our room was clean and there is a really nice cab driver(melendez cab.) he will take you to the mall for 18 bucks then you can cab over to san juan for 15 bucks.. now if you want to go straight to the ferry which takes you to san juan that is 20 plus 1 dollar roundtrip to old san juan and the ferry. There are only showers in the rooms,stone floors which i liked. The price was great but when you consider the cab fare and etc ($50-to and from the airport) you might want to stay in condado or san juan). I can lie i really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: higher room number ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I recently had to cancel my room due to an family emergency. Jamie, the hotel staff person, was so helpful and kind. Based on this alone, I will definitely stay at this hotel when I get to return to Puerto Rico!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabot, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Needing to arrive a day before the cruise, I researched hotels and found the prices outrageous.
Moving beyond the airport area and old San Juan vicinity, I found the Comfort Inn through their Choice Hotels program. Our room was a king/non-smoking and on the top floor away from street noises. It had all the basic needs and served our purposes. The only flaw in our day was no shuttle from the airport and no shuttle to the cruise pier. Taxis get expensive in San Juan, so double check your hotel for this service.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are quieter and breakfast was minimal(nothing special).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.
Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff is very helpful, but the hotel was too noisey, we were on the second floor and the noise at night was bad. The breakfast in the morning was only o.k. Never any fresh fruit until the weekend. Our room was clean, thats all. Nothing beyond the bare essentials.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms over the front desk. We were in 205 not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.
Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: Del Valle Avenue 1829 | Levittown, San Juan 00949, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel San Juan
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Toa Baja
Toa Baja Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.