We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat location...easy beach access, awesome bar/restaurant across the street.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Del Valle Avenue 1829 | Levittown, San Juan 00949, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 44 hotels in San Juan
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Neat location...easy beach access, awesome bar/restaurant across the street.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Out of San Juan. Clean with great staff. Very very nice pool area. We really liked the bar/restaurant across the street...awesome, authentic food, smiling staff, cold/cheap beer. Have to try Madella beer. The garlic shrimp were our favorites. The noise from the bar was loud at the hotel. The hotel is not fancy but you get exactly what is advertised. The staff was very helpful with taxis etc.We all liked getting out of town and would definately go back.

Room Tip: First floor has easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. Allow me to thank you on behalf of myself and my staff for your comments.

We thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit.

Brenda Bauzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    30
    30
    7
    10
See reviews for
23
38
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, NM
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and it could not have been nicer!! The beach there is a summer time one so we just enjoyed the views. I celebrated my 65 birthday there in the dining room being serenaded by an awesome tenor opera singer who also played the piano. You have not heard any thing so beautiful as the song 'My Way' sang in Spanish especially since you already know the words in English.
The staff is wonderful and the food was excellent at the restaurant on the top floor of the hotel.
On the other hand the old restaurant upstairs across the street is miserable!! Watch them, too, they will put their tip on the bill and make it appears that they haven't been tipped at all
We visited the zoo while we were there and enjoyed it very much!
As for Puerto Rico in general, we didn't enjoy it. It is very dangerous since the general population is very poor. The United States has been building huge magnificent freeways and toll roads all across the island, not hiring the locals, but importing our union workers for the jobs. The price at the pump for gas ranges between $.87 & $.90/gallon, yes eighty-seven to ninety cents per gallon for regular gas! So it is true, the oil companies are not the ones making all that money, we are being charged huge taxes that are being used to build huge magnificent roads NOT in the United States. The big billboards read 'AMERICANS REINVESTING IN AMERICA'.
Whatever you do be sure you have a GPS! The road signage in many places in very confusing, but GPS works well. The car rental agencies will try to charge you $20/day to rent one, otherwise the rent cars are not expense if you reserve on line ahead of your trip. Rent a small car because the regular roads are narrow.

Room Tip: There are a lot of hotels in Puerto Rico some of which are very expensive. For our money we have ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you recommend our hotel. The staff of the Comfort Inn & Suites thanks you for your review.

Always at your service,

Brenda Bauzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is off the beaten path--in fact, if you are driving yourself for the first time, it can be tricky to navigate from the PR airport out to Levittown. Once you find this hotel, you'll be amazed that it was difficult the first time.

The staff are great! They speak English with varying fluency, but their desire to make your stay a comfortable and happy memory is unwavering. More than helpful--they are genuinely concerned about your comfort and interested in who you are/where you are from and how you are enjoying your stay.

Rooms are decorated in 1960's kitsch--but are comfortable. This is NOT a 'luxury' experience; the price is modest compared to other PR hotels and chain hotels--if you came to PR to sit on a private beach or poolside and sip iced rum drinks all day, this is not the place for you. If you want a reasonably priced hotel that is clean with free parking in the heart of a 'real' Puerto Rican neighborhood, this is the place!

For a terrific PR vacation, I recommend renting a car from the airport (bring your GPS!) and using this hotel as your 'home base'. Any questions about attractions, history, getting around, festivals, etc., are cheerfully answered by the staff. When you are tired of sight seeing--too tired to eat 'out', the hotel has a restaurant on the top floor (awesome views of the ocean and of the north shore of the island) plus the restaurant across the street (our favorite) is owned by the hotel owners. AND there's a take out taco stand as well.

Hotel offers a hot breakfast with make-your-own waffles. Food is plain, hot and plentiful with daily fresh fruit and pastries. Parking lot is sometimes full--other neighborhood establishments also use it, but hotel staff help to find additonal parking if necessary. Rooms/bathrooms are cleaned daily; fresh linens and towels are provided. If there is a problem, staff are on hand 24/7 to address your concerns and issues. Swimming pool is small; but adequate--especially if you are traveling with younger (not teenaged) children. Public beach is directly across the street--most of the hotel rooms on higher floors have a view. (The public beach is not up to the cleanliness standards of most north American public beaches AND depending on the season, there maybe more than a few stray dogs roaming. The beach is also a local hang out--so be careful where you step! There are private beaches nearby which charge a modest use fee--but are much cleaner!)

Stay a week and create a lifetime of memories!

Room Tip: Higher up has better views and less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Thank you again for your feedback! Hope to see you soon!

Brenda Bauzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Because we had to fly here last minute due to a death in the family, we had little choices of hotels the week between Christmas and New Years. The room was small and crowded. The bathroom was so small that we had to keep our toiletries outside the bathroom. There was one small hook in the bathroom and nowhere to put our suitcases. The amenities were so limited. The continental breakfast that was included was so bad we had to go out for breakfast at our own expense. The room key didn't work. We had no electricity in one side of the room and had difficulty charging our phones. The shower curtain was a single sheet and you could not help but have a puddle on the floor after showering! We would not stay here again !!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
I apologize for all the inconvenience that you experienced with your room. We take your feedback very serious and will share them with our team members. Your feedback is important to us in order to better understand our guests needs and where we can improve.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the future

Brenda Bauzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The reason I chose this hotel was because it was close to where my daughter and her fiance live. It's an older hotel, but the rates were reasonable, the hotel clean, the staff friendly. The bed was super comfortable. The pool area was small, but clean and very pretty. The best part of my trip was meeting "Super Girl." She was apparently the daughter of one of the front desk receptionists. A pretty little 8 year old girl that came over and sat beside me and proceeded to entertain me about her adventures as Super Girl. She had a towel for a cape and told me how she 'had work to do' then came back and told me she rescued a cat from a tree while I swam. :) :) Small enough to feel 'family friendly' .... I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We very much appreciate and value your review and will share it with our team. Your comments will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests.
Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.
We thank you for your review and appreciate your positive response. Thank you again and hope to see you soon at our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Maryland
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was teaching at this hotel so staying here was convenient. Hotel has minimal accommodations. Hard bed, tiny bathroom, poor lighting and noisy AC unit. Buy bottled water since it is not provided. There is a restaurant onsite but it opens only on weekends. First night I got a first floor room that was awful ( room 104) in front of dirty stair. I was moved to a better room on fourth floor which was much better. Only option for dinner is a mediocre restaurant across the street called Campomar. Staff is friendly. This is not convenient location if you are visiting San Juan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel J, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi GM Feliciano,

We are happy to know your stay was very pleasant. We strive for cleanliness and great performance. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humacao, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My stay was for just one night. The room was very, very clean and comfortable for the price. I had never been to a Comfort Inn and I am glad that I did in this one. Front desk personnel were very friendly and best of all, we forgot our laptop in the room and they immediately called me. I went the next day to pick it up. My thanks and congratulations for this action. I am happy to recognise Sonia Rosario, the Housekeper who found it and the Superviso, Aracelis Benitez. Thank you, thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda B, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Thank you again for your feedback! Hope to see you soon!

Brenda Bauzo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel San Juan
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Toa Baja
Toa Baja Comfort Inn
Address: Del Valle Avenue 1829 | Levittown, San Juan 00949, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.