We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rushed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perla

Perla
1077 Ashford Avenue | La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
+1 787-977-3285
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 684 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: One of the most popular Condado, San Juan restaurants, Perla specializes in elegant seafood cuisine. Located in a dramatic shell surrounded by a reflecting pool, our Condado restaurant's sophisticated atmosphere & decor draw diners from around the world. DRESS CODE: No open toe shoes for men. No tank tops for men. No bathing suits.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Rushed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

From the moment we were seated, we felt rushed through our meal. Our reservation was for 8:30, so it's not like they were ready to close. They have their extensive wine list on a iPad which takes time to look over. The server hovered too much giving us the rushed feeling. We ordered an app to share and I ordered soup after that. He wanted to bring the soup and app at the same time, to which I said no, we were not in a hurry.
My wife ordered the snapper and I the lobster. Her fish was overcooked and my lobster, although huge, was over buttered giving it a salty taste.
The setting is beautiful, but was lost over the rushed service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    147
    59
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Table too big for 6”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We enjoyed our meal at Perla, but they sat us at a table that was designed for 8-10 people-- because there were only 6 of us, we lost any ability to have intimate conversations, because we had to 'speak up' across the table. That aside, the food was excellent & the atmosphere beautiful.

Would recommend for couples--probably not for larger groups of friends...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply the best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Service, food and ambience are all excellent for the price. Would come back again and definitely will recommend to everyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Lovely room and dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We wanted a special dinner for a newlywed couple and Perla delivered. I had the tuna which was one of the best pieces of tuna I have ever had and the rest of the party had the sea bass which delivered as well. We had appetizers, wine, a main course and desert so the total bill was not a complete surprise. As others have mentioned, it is expensive. The room is beautiful and the view spectacular. I have had better food for much less but we wanted to have a memorable experience for our friends and that's what we got. Ricardo was our waiter and he let us take our time - thank you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorville
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Maybe the best lobster we have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Dined here twice on a recent visit to San Juan. Food was great, drinks were tasty, and the atmosphere was perfect! Beautiful view and a great place to take your significant other!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perla also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.