We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful steak!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perla

Perla
1077 Ashford Avenue | La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
+1 787-977-3285
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 684 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: One of the most popular Condado, San Juan restaurants, Perla specializes in elegant seafood cuisine. Located in a dramatic shell surrounded by a reflecting pool, our Condado restaurant's sophisticated atmosphere & decor draw diners from around the world. DRESS CODE: No open toe shoes for men. No tank tops for men. No bathing suits.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a fish restaurant , but the steak was also very good. Service is very very good, and the food is simply wonderful. The venue is nice too, oddly shaped building, right at the beach. Definitely worthwhile visiting.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    147
    59
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum, yum delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I am celebrating my birthday. My table was right by the window. Great tartare, great Artic Char, great service! The best part, I was a party of one and at no point was I offered a bar seat. They got huge points for that!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“I've seen better.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I went to this restaurant with my family thinking it was a nice fancy one. It is indeed beautiful and fancy and the service was great, I just thought it was too pricey for food that was nothing out of this world. On the pictures they look great but once I tasted them I was not impressed. Also, the ambiance was boring, there weren't a lof of people so it was sort of boring. Definitely won't go back...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Amazing restaurant! Very beautiful decor - so unique. Food was great and the service very attentive.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hubby and I chose La Perla to have our anniversary dinner. We had a lovely dinner. What a beautiful and unique restaurant! It is very romantic. We requested a window seat, which I recommend. It is expensive, but it was a special occassion. The food and service were good. I enjoyed the surf and turf. For dessert we shared a coconut cream custard. It was delish! It was a bit small to share. Wish I could have ate the whole thing myself!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perla also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.