We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Momoyama

Momoyama
5961 Isla Verde Ave, San Juan 00979, Puerto Rico
791-8893
Improve this listing
Ranked #437 of 684 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $1 - $35
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Guaynabo,Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Japanese Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

For Father's Day we had dinner at this Japanese restaurant in the Intercontinental Hotel. We didn't go for the sushi, and preferred the shrimp and mignon plate. Lots of shrimp served but the mignon was not very tender. I'm not crazy about oriental rice, but the veggies were good. Their ginger and sesame sauces were delicious. The servers were extremely courteous and polite. It was a pleasant experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    16
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You can never go wrong with Momoyama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I've been here a couple of times with my boyfriend and we absolutely love it. The food is so good. We love the fillet mignon is $32 per person but it comes with house salad, soup of your choice, rice, the meat, veggetables and ice cream for dessert :) I love the quality and taste of the food and the service is great, you're never going to have your glass of water half empty. Is always a good experience going here for dinner! I love this place so much!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“SUSHI in San Juan!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This place is great!!!been here a few times and the sushi is fresh and worth a try. great waitstaff will keep you entertained. Took my wife here for sushi and it was a great experience. located onsite of the Intercontental. so you don't have to travel far to get great sushi!!!!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were staying at the Intercontinental and our first night after a plane trip we wanted something close so we decided on sushi and Momoyama. I enjoyed the sushi, we sat at the bar and watched it being made, I don't remember what my wife ordered, it was forgettable. Our waitress was nonexistant only showed up when it was time for her tip and pay the bill, we were greeted by the manager or owner? who pushed several items on us, more expensive but i was there for sushi, all in all it was an ok meal but we have had much better in both food and service. Not the experience I was hoping for, especially when you are tired and hungry.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Just OK; better tepanyaki options in PR”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We are big fans of tepanyaki and hadn't eaten at Momoyama for a few years, so decided to give it another try. We were seated quickly at a table that was already well underway, which is usually a good thing as we order quickly and expect faster service. Not the case. Although friendly, service was slow and disorganized. There was a large party of 13 at another table; perhaps that threw them off. Soup and salad were fine, and the included ice cream at the end of the meal were a nice touch. Fried rice was good; vegetable portions skimpy. Main dish meat servings were generous compared to other tepanyaki places, but were not very good. This chicken was overcooked and hard and flavorless; the filet mignon was almost too salty to eat - WAY too much soy sauce. A teriyaki sauce for the chicken is recommended. This place is expensive. In my opinion, Yamato at the El San Juan next door has better food at a similar price. Validated valet parking was nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momoyama also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico, Caribbean
 

Been to Momoyama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Momoyama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.