We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sushi Devil” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Momoyama

Momoyama
5961 Isla Verde Ave, San Juan 00979, Puerto Rico
791-8893
Improve this listing
Ranked #401 of 639 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $1 - $35
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Sushi Devil”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Not bad: The sushi

Bad: Pouring soy sauce out in the little dish and having a dead fly or 3 slide out to say hi belly up.

The Devil: The guy actually making the sushi was rude and snarling the whole time. He may have put a curse on us, I still can't be sure. I'm pretty convinced that he's the devil in a little Japanese suit though.

Avoid!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    16
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not Worth It”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Overrated, service was poor,our waitress had no personality what so ever. Lost our sushi order, when we brought to their attention we were told it would take a while to make, (we wanted it as an app). Not worth the money, plus they automatically add a 15% tip to your bill, which would be fine if you were sitting at the hibachi table. If you are sitting at a regular table it should not apply. Have better sushi/hibachi cafes at home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Best lobster and shrimp ever. We sat at a table as we don't care for the cooking at our table. Service was outstanding. Good wine selection.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent Sushi, very poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I think the Sushi chef and the tepenyaki / hibachi staff are the same person. They either need to hire more or re-think their business model. The sushi isn't cheap and took over 1 hour after placement of our order to get. In the interim, they didn't offer any appetizers or snack things even though they kept popping by to apologize at how long it was taking. At the table next to us, one person in the family ordered sushi and the rest ordered hot meals. Everyone got their hot meals, ate and completed them and the poor other guy never got his sushi. They got so fed up that they just cancelled that order and walked out saying how they were going to go to burger king across the street.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great food and amazing staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My sister and I were in Puerto Rico for her Birthday weekend! The food was amazing, we ordered the chicken and steak and it was so delicious! The staff overheard us say that it was my sister's Birthday and they brought her a delicious dessert and very enthusiastically sang to her! They were so nice, I felt like we knew them!
I thought it was decently priced considering the place and the great taste of food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momoyama also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico, Caribbean
 

Been to Momoyama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Momoyama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.