We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Meh"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Starlight Chalet & Health Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Starlight Chalet & Health Spa to your Saves list
Starlight Chalet & Health Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Silver Hill Gap, Blue Mountains | (25 miles from Kingston), Blue Mountains National Park, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Salvador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“"Meh"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Hotel is in a very nice are in the Blue Mountains, not far from Holywell Park, but that is about all it has going for it. Room was clean and decent albeit small. Shower was a trickle with lukewarm water. We stayed in the Lily suite which is advertised as having satellite TV, but only one channel worked. Normally I don't care much about TV when I 'm on holiday, but the location is remote and there is nothing to do at night, so it would have been nice to have more than one working channel. I was also irritated that I was quoted $60 dollars for a transfer from the Kingston airport (I have the email to prove it!) and then charged $80! When I argued, I was told that it was $80 and that the $60 quoted in an email from the office staff was wrong. Very unprofessional.

Also, since there is nowhere close to eat without paying $20 for a ride, you are forced to eat at the hotel. The problem is they have no menu or prices and the prices are outrageous. Yes I know I should have asked for prices, but I never imagined that a scrambled egg, toast, OJ, a cup of coffee, and a small slice of ham would be US$12 per person. I mean c'mon...really? The location is beautiful, and the hotel is clean, I'll give it that. But I would not return here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
5
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
holland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed at the starlight chalet for two days, it was a little hard to find by car.Because I drove up myself. But it was word it . We found a very nice hotel with the most friendly staf and great food even my two daugters liked it. And I can tell you that is selden.We enjoyed the view and the quitness. At the section we found a coffee plantage tour done by lokal people and drank the best coffee from a wood fire. I wood recommend everybody to go for the quitte and peace and treat yourself a few days.Henk Biemans and family fom Holland

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Maarten-St Martin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

We just returned from2 days at Starlight Chalet, a little piece of heaven on earth.
Can you say location,location,location?
This charming place is located 5000 feet up in the Blue Mountains.
Getting there is no easy feat. The road going up the mountain is not for the faint of heart, but once you reach there, the WOW factor is in operation.
The chalet itself is clean and comfortable. It could use some updating and some re decoration, but when the clouds lift and you see the mountains that are surrounding you and the lovely garden, you forget about everything..
The peace and tranquility cannot be explained. You must experience it.
The staff , especially Miss Icodel, are warm and friendly and make you feel right at home.
We loved our 2 days there and hope some day we can go back.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — getting there
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

I found this property online and called and made reservations for 4/26/08. It was a surprise for my fiance's birthday. In the Blue Mountains, it was breathtaking, peaceful and off the beaten path. The Lily Suite was great and had a private balcony. Ms. Icodell was charming and accomodated our requests. The food was off the chain ( we had traditional jamaican cuisine ). Toured the grounds and just took in the breathtaking cloud covered mountainside and gardens. It gets cool at night and first thing in the morning...but I was prepared. Recommend Starlight Chalet for couples who just want to get away for a weekend in a secluded hideaway tucked far up in the Blue Mountains.

  • Liked — The mountain location of the property
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

First of all, it is a scary ride to reach 5000 feet above sea level on Jamaica's roads. It is a long and nervous ride but ithe beauty of the scenery is worth it. I was so glad I made it. The landscape around the inn is the handiwork of God. It is a beautiful place. I will admit that the actual buildings need some care. A good cleaning for starters, touch ups on the worn areas of the building, some fresh paint, shampooing the carpets, etc. would make it a lot nicer. Nice linens on the beds, refrigerators in the rooms with water and juice, and a library to pick a good read would be an added benefit to the guests. It is the place to be for rest and relaxation. It is the place to be to be surrounded by nature birds, butterflies, fruit trees, coffee plants and good jamaican hospitality. Serenity and Peace is found here at Starlight Chalet. The one thing I really disliked about my stay however is that food pricing was not displayed or revealed. And at the end they laid a whopping bill on me. This is a tactic that sets you up to be ripped off royally. Forget about other options, there aren't any. I asked before hand should I bring food and was told not to they had a restaurant. The food is ridiculously expensive. For example, my husband and I had 2 small pieces of fried chicken each, cabbage/carrots steamed and rice it was $10. The next night, A Small fried snapper and leftover cabbage/carrots and rice was $18 per plate. I was furious. Even at breakfast they charged if my husband drank more that one cup of coffee and I didn't drink one cup while I was there. I thought that would have been taken into consideration but it wasn't. Milk the Cow, Milk the Cow, Milk the Cow! The juices however are freshly made which I thoroughly enjoyed at $3 a glass. But after awhile I noticed they became more and more watery. Milk the Cow , Milk the Cow, Milk the Cow! There is supposed to be a breakfast included but the gimmick is...it is a slice of toast , juice and a one cup of coffee. I felt that we became an automatic cash machine which made me angry. I love this place but as stated there is room for improvement starting with FAIR prices for meals and letting the guest know what is charged for meals. I guess it bothered me so much because I have been to Jamaica several times and I know that food is not expensive. For $20 they could have purchased all the food needed to serve us for the 2 days we were there. We came out of there with an $80+ bill for a couple of basic, small meals. That being said visit the Starlight Chalet but remember to ask about food pricing. It would be a great idea to bring your own fruit, snacks and drinks. You will save a lot of money and you will have a great vacation.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

We just returned from our second visit to Starlight Chalet this year, and again, had a wonderful time. This time, we stayed for four nights.

This hotel offers a true Jamaican country experience. It is kind of like "over the river and through the woods, to grandmother's house", if your grandma was a Jamaican lady. They have about a dozen rooms, on the small side, very clean, with chintz bedspreads and 4 poster beds, and private baths. This time, we picked room 6, which had a private balcony looking over a deep valley, and a small refrigerator. Since we had stopped at a grocery store on the way up for rum, juice and Red Stripes, the fridge came in handy.

As on our last visit, we were the only guests, so it felt very much
like our own place, with a staff of three to take very good care of
us.

The off site owners are very accommodating. They even supplied a turkey for us for our Thanksgiving dinner, although turkey is not a typical Jamaican menu item. For our 4 dinners, we had 1-escovich snapper, 2-brown stew chicken, 3-lobster curry, 4-turkey. All were delicious, served with fresh vegetables, many of which were grown on site. For breakfast, 3 of the 4 mornings, we had salt fish and ackees, by special request, since we can't get that at home. The other breakfast we asked for eggs and pancakes, which were great, but now I wish I'd had one more meal of ackees!

Once again, the weather did not cooperate. It was rainy, windy, and chilly the whole time we were there, which discouraged any hiking around the mountains. We did have a late afternoon that cleared a bit, so we were able to walk one of the roads for about a mile, enjoying beautiful views of the mountains wreathed in clouds. It would be a pleasant walk (about 2 miles each way, fairly flat ground) to Section in nicer weather. I really wanted to do this, because the wild flowers along the road were spectacular; little impatiens in various colors, wild orchids and bromeliads, and other green, green tropical plants which I would have liked to have examined more closely. The air is wonderfully scented with growing things, it just smells so fresh and clean up there! Below the yard and garden, there is a path (which I did not take, it being slippery) down to the Yallahs River, where I understand is a pool deep enough for soaking.

There is a different atmosphere at this place. It does not operate
much like a hotel, it really is more like a remote lodge. Housekeeping was good; all of our bed linens and towels were fresh and clean, and changed daily. And I thought all the food was great, but it is a little unusual to order food without looking at a menu, which is non-existent here.

Some day, I will be back again. I hope the place stays as charming as it is today.

  • Liked — The location and the views
  • Disliked — The rain. There was just too much of it.
  • Tips/Secrets — Take a sweat shirt and pants. It gets cold up there.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHague
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2006

The hotel is a bit run-down, the rooms are basic to say the least. Breakfast and dinner are also not going to be the highlight of the trip. The cook offers chicken or fish (with lots of bones) or nothing for evening meal. You don't fancy that? Tough, there isn't anything else for miles. Luckily I dared to ask for a vegetarian option and got a much better deal than the other guests. And why oh why don't they buy a refrigerator, its a great place to enjoy a beer, but the only beers on sale were hot ones. Yuk ! Service could be better, I paid for clothes to be washed and they came back looking like they hadn't been near water, never mind soap.

On the plus side the setting is fabulous, on the top of a mountain pass surrounded by rainforest and mountains. At night the noise of the frogs and insects is otherworldly, then in the morning there's the amazing rainforest bird chorus. The cloud, when it finally lifted, was mystical. And the highlight were the many hummingbirds encouraged to feed in the gardens, the only place in Jamaica I saw the famous doctor bird, as featured on the local banknotes. The many fireflies at night were also a delight. The owner has wildlife books available and the verandah is a great place to sit and unwind with a (hot) beer while watching the rainforest fly by.

The drive up is a drag too, slow progress on slow roads.

The place just needs a little extra effort (food, cold beers) to be a delightful hotel.

  • Liked — Hummingbirds
  • Disliked — Hot beer
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starlight Chalet & Health Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Chalet & Health Spa

Address: Silver Hill Gap, Blue Mountains | (25 miles from Kingston), Blue Mountains National Park, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Blue Mountains National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blue Mountains National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starlight Chalet & Health Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lush bossom of the Blue Mountains, simple country elegance,and comfort is Starlight Chalet & health Spa. Spacious, warm and cozy suites, snug apartments on a backdrop of beautiful gardens, cool mountain breeze and surrounded by seemingly endless mountain ranges. Starlight Chalet & Health Spa is famous for its endemic birds, mountains, gardens and for absolute relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Starlight Chalet & Health Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Chalet & Health Hotel Blue Mountains National Park
Starlight Chalet And Health Spa
Starlight Chalet & Health Spa Jamaica/Blue Mountains National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlight Chalet & Health Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.