We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a good time, not a long time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Salt Coopers Villa, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Great for a good time, not a long time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited this resort for a bachelorette weekend getaway. The staff were very friendly and food was good. The room itself had many issues with it, but that didn't matter since we spent more time in the sun.
There are typical off resort activities which average about $100USD per person but not much of a 'town' or city vibe to explore. If you're looking for a relaxing getaway, it's a great spot.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,328
    2,084
    1,013
    497
    337
See reviews for
1782
2693
75
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,632)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed in the resort for seven days, I highly recommend it the staff was excellent friendly and courteous they work around the clock to keep the place nice and clean the food in the Buffett was great the al la cart was not to my liking it was ok but I prefer the Buffett.
I also climbed the dunns river a must see.
Great service very friendly staff I will definitely visit again

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

We are happy to know that you had a great week with us and that we were able to meet all your expectations. We appreciate all your positive comments and we are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Yours Respectfully,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Five star luxury!! The staff are very friendly and go the extra mile for you. Food was really nice loads to choice from the Jerk Chicken bar on the beach was the best! Beach is amazing white sand, rum and sun.. Perfect! Can't wait to return to the Bahia in November.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your reviews on trip advisor about our hotel Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica the best resort in the Caribbean. We would also like to thank you for expressing your good comments about our food, especially the jerk chicken, the amazing beach, perfect rum and sun.

Thank you for vacationing with us and we will be more than happy to welcome you in our resort in November to provide you with another 5 star experience.

Warm Regards,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our dream holiday. The hotel was amazing, the bed was huge and very comfortable. The staff were really friendly and pleasant. The dining staff couldn't do enough for us. The pool,beach and bars were fantastic. Try the jerk chicken/pork, it's great. Would definitely go back there. Special thank you to Marvin our waiter in the dining room, ann Marie our maid. All in all thank you guys for a memorable holiday. Take American dollars.

Room Tip: All these rooms were of good standard.we asked for low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Shirley,

We are so happy to have read that you had a dream holiday vacation. It is of great importance to us that all our guest are satisfied with our services and facilities and that we were able to provide them with a memorable holiday stay. We have extended your appreciation to all our team members especially to Marvin and Ann Marie who has been doing an extraordinary job.

We look forward to having the honor of welcoming you again and deliver once more such memorable experiences.

Warm Regards,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staff are friendly and helpful and I really felt like I was a valued guest. Food was very good. Tons of selection, even for me (I don't eat any animal products, but eat fish). I loved the smoothie bar! Buffet staff treated us like royalty. On the first day, we asked for waters, coffees and mimosas with our breakfast and a seat with a view. Every day thereafter, we were greeted at the door, taken to a table with a view and immediately served all three drinks, without asking. I never wanted or needed for my entire trip. The nude beach is separated by tall wooden walls and pretty much empty. If you have always wanted to experience it, this is the place.There might be one other couple on this part of the beach. Property and pools were spotless. A few areas where they could improve: 1) Check in was disorganized and chaotic. Staff couldn't find our reservation at first, because it was misfiled. After we were given our keys, staff immediately started to help another person. We were not given a map and the place is huge. The bell hops were all busy, so we floundered around until we found our room. It was late and dark and our room was very difficult to find, so we got very frustrated. 2) Our room was quite aged and really needed a paint job - not a huge issue for us because we only went there to sleep, but I expected a nicer looking room, given the star rating and price. 3) Our balcony had a huge tree in front of it, so we could not see out at all. The tree butt right up against the balcony and covered it completely. No view, but then again, lots of privacy.

Overall, worth the money and a lovely place to have a vacation.
-

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Rosie,

Thank you for your positive feedback on trip advisor and for letting us know that you felt like royalty on our beautiful property. We would like to thank you suggestions and for bringing your concerns to our attention. We sincerely apologies for all the issues that you have encountered whilst you were here with us and we would like to inform you that we are currently in dialogue with the head of the Front Desk and Maintenance department in order to discontinue situations of this sort.

Thank you for vacationing with us at the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Yours Faithfully,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we arrived very late on saturday night. the staff was great they brought us a tequila sunrise as we completed the process. we stayed for 4 days and had a blast from beginning until the end. the staff was very friendly and the premisses and food was wonderful. the only issue i had is that the mosquitos were in our room and they were relentless. i got bit at least 30 times or more over the 4 days and that was with the bug spray. I would definitely stay here again tho. I am actually looking at booking a Bahia resort in Punta Cana for my bday in a few months.

Room Tip: this hotel is over an hour away from the airport. some how I missed that when looking up locations s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for communicating to us though trip advisor that you had a great vacation stay. We are elated to know that you had a blast from the beginning to the ending of your vacation. It was truly a pleasure to host you. We would like to also acknowledge your good words about our great staff and we have transmitted your satisfaction to all.

On behalf of the General Manager and staff at the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica we would like to say thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination and we are happy to know that you are thinking of visiting another Bahia Principe chain.

Warm Regards,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just back from our first trip to jamaica with my husband, son (21) and daughter (19). Had a very relaxing time. The pool was lovely and the staff very friendly. Great beach and the Beach Hut served the best jerk chicken (apparently?!) Lovely way to spend our 29th anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sonya,

Firstly, we would like to say congratulations on your 29th wedding anniversary and we are so happy that you gave us the opportunity to share in this special moment with you and your family. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed our pool, beach and our famous Jamaican chicken by the beach hut.

We are pleased to know that we could have provided you and your family with a relaxing vacation stay and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you all again soon.

Best Wishes,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: Salt Coopers Villa, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.