We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank goodness for good friends and jerk chicken!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Salt Coopers Villa | Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Runaway Bay
North Bay, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for good friends and jerk chicken!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I am a first time traveller so I don't have much to compare this experience to. With that being said I do know the value of good customer service which was lacking around the resort. The front desk staff and staff that book the a la carts were very unpleasant. At times they would whisper to one another with you standing right in front of them it was obvious that they were talking about the customers with the snide looks they would give you when they paused and then continued talking to one another. We had a late arrival and late departure. The check in was smooth but nothing exciting. The next morning we had to sit through an orientation with the travel company which made us miss the breakfast buffet. Everyone was starving and not impressed. Luckily we found the grill near the ocean (go there to find the best jerk chicken ever!!). Best service at the resort was there! We had Kerenton and Christopher! They were both so pleasant and really made it an enjoyable! They knew how to keep their customers happy and coming back! That resort needs more staff like Kerenton and Christopher working at the front desk! We visited them daily and were sad to say our good byes on the last day :(
The rooms were ok, nothing spectacular. Our room over looked the lobby bar, pool and could see a bit of the ocean. We did not have our room cleaned everyday but the first time they cleaned our room they took our towels and didn't replace them. We had to track someone down; tip again and finally got 2 towels (yippee). I tipped more and left some gifts the second time they cleaned our room and we ended up with more towels and extra goodies in our fridge. Morale of the story...if you aren't tipping big you aren't getting good service.
We only had one a la carte while we were there because apparently they were all booked up (that was BS)! Friends of ours got their 3 a la carts and said they were never full to capacity. We also knew people who didn't bother to reserve their a la carts, they would just show up, tip at the door and get in. We would have until we experienced the Garden Grill (gross...the steak tasted like dog food)! I know my friends enjoyed the Don Pablo and Japanese a la carts. The buffet was good; food wasn't anything to write home about. The best part was the fresh omelets in the morning and the lobster dinner night!
The good was the group we were with! They totally made the trip! Great group of people, beautiful wedding and lots of great memories!
The excursions were awesome! We did Dunn's River Falls (Chukka Tours) and Dolphin's Cove! AWESOME!!! I would advise folks not to book through Transat for the Dunn's River Falls, go to the beach where you sign up for the kayaking and snorkeling. You can get a much better price. I booked the Dolphin Coves tour through Rekesha at the shop right outside of the Jerk Chicken Centre! She was so nice and awesome to deal with! She came to see us the morning we were leaving for the Dolphin Cove excursion to make sure we got on the right bus and were prepared for the trip!
The nightly entertainment was fun! The best night was the Steel Drum band from Kingston! They were amazing!!! We had a blast at the pool side! They always had something going on whether it was aqua aerobics or beer chugging competitions! Kevin is in charge of the entertainment! He was very personable and got the crowd involved!
Overall we had fun but that was mostly thanks to the folks noted above and our great group of friends. I would most likely not recommend this particular resort to friends or family. I would recommend Jamaica! It’s a beautiful place! We have agreed that we need to try somewhere else to have something to compare our first experience to. Happy Travels Everyone!

Room Tip: Tip big = better service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Stephanie,

Thank you for you feedback, it is good to know that you have enjoyed our Jerk chiken by the beach and its staff. On the other hand, we would like to express our sincere regret that you got the impression that only persons who tipped were served in our Hotel, this is not the case, but we will make every effort to ensure that no other guest leaves with this or any other negative opinion about our staff; please, accept our humble apologies for the inconveniences.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to be given the opportunity to host you again to recover your trust in us.

Yours respectfully,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,954 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,209
    1,985
    960
    477
    323
See reviews for
1652
2599
71
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,528)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

First off.. Before you book, make sure you know the difference between the “Gold” package and the “Exclusive” package. Despite what we were told by the travel agent.. it’s not the same. The Gold package was ok, but it will not get you into the private pool section or the private buffet.( Trust me you want this) The pool wasn’t a big deal, but the buffet can make or break your stay… one thing which desperately needs to be improved in the main buffet.. it is way too busy during all three meals. It does not really matter what time you go for dinner, it’s always busy. This portion of the trip was a big fat fail.. It was incredibly loud , to the point you had to yell to the person you were sitting with. Most times, they ran out of common foods.. like Bacon in the A.M.. ( This also is a result of greedy peoples, who take plates full). For this reason, I am done with all-inclusive resorts!!! I must say, the grounds were beautiful. The groundkeepers do such an amazing job.. so thank you! The Jerk Chicken was actually pretty good and the location had a nice view.. The beach was nothing much to look at… Go to Cuba!!!! There are a lot of weddings which take place at this hotel.. which also means, watch out for the big groups.. they can get pretty annoying and disrespectful for those around at times. We had a great room with an amazing view of the resort and the ocean. The room was clean and the bed was actually somewhat comfortable.. ( Thy need better pillows though). The pushy people in the main lobby who are trying to sell you timeshare.. Seriously you need to stop this!. Why would anyone want to sign up for this? Be adventures, and try other resorts.. Basically, the resort Is ok. Nothing special. Remember everyone has their own opinion and you have to take these reviews the way you choose too. For me, this experience has shown me, I can not do all inclusive anymore.. and I do appreciate nature beautiful beaches , and real , authentic culture , which unfortunately was just not this place..

Room Tip: If you woudl like a great view of the ocean.. go for the Gold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Britney,

Thank you for your comments. It is good to know that our well kept and beautiful ground, great room view and our delicious Jerk chiken center captivate your attention. However, we sincerely regret that we could not impress you as an all inclusive Resort.

Thank you for your comments. We wish you all the best on future travels, but sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you and regain your confidence in our property.

Yours sincerely,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg, pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Service: Seriously, you could not walk 20 yards without tripping over 3 employees, all of who would greet you with a smile. We were greeted with cocktails upon check-in and the bellman delivered our bags to our room. EVERYONE was incredibly polite, professional, and eager to please, from the housekeeping staff, bartenders, waitstaff, pool boys, etc.

Value: I got what I paid for, and then some.

Sleep Quality: The doors do not block out a lot of noise so I frequently heard late-night revelers going to and from their rooms; however, the walls between rooms were rock solid hard and you couldn't hear a thing through them.

Cleanliness: Room was well maintained each day with fresh towels, the beds always made, more toiletries, etc. Also, the grounds were meticiulously clean. There were people everywhere picking up litter, raking the large rocks off the beach, manicuring the landscaping, etc.

Location: About 75 minutes from the airport which was fine. Right on the beach which was perfect.

Rooms: Extremely spacious! Especially if you're used to staying in NYC or European hotels! Our junior suite had a table & 2 chairs and a sofabed in addition to 2 queen size poster beds and a full-size closet. The bathroom hand a shower plus soaking tub and the toilet had a door for privacy. There seemed to be some wear and tear: the hair dryer was broken but was fixed within an hour after our arrival, the light switches and mounted soap dish were wobbly, the curtains looked worn, and there were some dings and dents on the furniture and walls. We needed more towels and they were delivered w/in 10 minutes of a phone call. The view of the beach & sunset were spectacular from the balcony.

Beverage selection: it was fine considering it was included in the price, but you have to pay extra for the top shelf selections. Only bad thing I had was some white wine that tasted like the bottle had been open for a week. Tip: bring your own travel mug for drinks by the pool because those little dixie cups are a nuisance. The coffee was great and always piping hot.

Food: Incredible selection at all meals. Lobster tails & carved roast beef for dinner - yes! Huge selection for every meal, including a lot of vegetarian dishes, pasta, salad bar, fresh fruit, cooked vegetables, soups and a delicious dessert selection. If you're more of a simpleton eater, there were burgers and pizza, too. Breakfast had made to order crepes, mimosas, bloody marys, and enough food that it looked like dinnertime. They had a little corner dedicated each day to a different country's specialities, ie Canada, Portugal, etc as well as Jamaican specialities. The best place for lunch is the Jerk Chicken Center located on the beach. Best chicken ever! A decent sized buffet, but fewer choices than going to the dining room. Considering the mass production of food (probably close to 2000 people per meal if the resort is full), I'd rate the food very high. It wasn't 5-star quality, but then again that's not what I was expecting. If you leave hungry, it's your own fault.

Other comments:
(1) Beware of the young ladies who try to rope you into a presentation on timeshares. I came here to escape the cold, snow and ice, not to sit in a conference room listening to a sales pitch. I don't care how many "gifts" you might give me. So get your excuse ready: "My spouse isn't with me and they make all the financial decisions" ..... "I already went to that"
(2) You need a reservation for the a la carte restaurants. Make these before you leave home! We were staying 4 nights and were only permitted 2 reservations. It was impossible to get the times & restaurants we wanted so we had to settle for 2nd choice, which wouldn't have been such a big deal except that at both restaurants neither one was even half full. That was disappointing. Very annoyed that for the Japanese restaurant we were seated at a hibachi grill. I did NOT want to go to Benihana, I wanted a la carte ordering. We didn't know that until we got there.
(3) Yes, the resort is large, but what do you except when the property has almost 900 rooms -- NOTHING will be right outside your door. If you find the walking excessive, then you're lazy.
(4) I had no intention of leaving the resort for any activities and that's a good thing b/c it didn't appear as if there was anything nearby. You'd have to hire a taxi, private driver or take a guided tour.
(5) Dear pool hogs -- please stop throwing down a towel to "reserve" your favorite chair and then disappear for over half a day. Rude, rude, rude. Considering they say they'll charge you $25 for not returning your pool towel card, you run a big risk of "misplacing" your towel (hint).
(6) The entertainment was average .... both the shows at the outdoor theater near the disco & sports bar, and also the quieter trios that played on the veranda near the lobby. After a while, it all sounded the same.
(7) There really are no shopping options on the resort -- it's either tacky tourist crap or a high-end jewelry store.
(8) The beach was great -- some areas are sandy, others are pebbly. It seemed like more people went to the pool than to the beach so there was always open space, plus one section of beach was far enough away from the main resort that you weren't subjected to listening to loud blaring music and people playing silly grade-school games or doing water aerobics. Ooohhh .... they have a nude beach, too, tucked away behind a fence at the corner of the resort!! Overall, the beach never felt crowded and that was preferable than going to the pool, mainly because I wanted to feel like I was at the ocean.

Finally, I do recommend this place and would go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Rishel,

It is rewarding to know that you were satisfied with your vacation experience and you have enjoyed our services and amenities as well as our staff. We also appreciate all of your observations that certainly will help us to enhance and provide a better service. We will forward them to our management to analyze and take action where is needed.

We have felt honored being your hosts during your trip to Jamaica and we will be more than happy to serve you again on your upcoming vacation.

Best regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Beautiful resort friendly staff clean rooms and grounds , safe and fun excursions .delicious food we ate steack buffet sea food great selection of desserts.
the nightly entertainment got be dull after a while gift shops too expensive better to buy at duty free at the airport. We highly recommend bamboo boat down the river 2hr excursion beautiful sceanery

We would most definitely would return♥♥♥♥♥♥

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous note. It is thrilling to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and the room cleanliness, variety and quality of the food and our friendly staff have been able to reach your satisfaction.

Thank you for vacationing with us and for choosing our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best vacation experience in Jamaica.

Warm regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just got back this morning February 10th. 2014.
I must say that this resort is ginormous. My calves hurt by day two. This resort is quite spread out. Best part of beach to the west side of resort. Shopping and entertainment also on the west side of resort. Vacation club is on the on the east side of resort. Restraunts and main lobby in the centre of resort.
The pool was wonderfully long ,spreading from centre of resort all the way around to east side of the resort.
The best restraunt was at lunch at the jerk buffet on the west side of resort near the beach. Our server was Kenardo, a joyful funny young man saving to go to collage. Very friendly always eager to please. Kept calling my husband "Uncle Phil" . Obviously a duck dynasty fan.
Some of the people to see there. Go see Shanae . She is in the office where you book your day trips. She works for Blue Mountain tours. For little snacks a and water stuff. Go see Delissa at the little cart on the far side of pool near the privelage section.
What ever you do, tho if you should decide to go on the upgrade tour please read reviews for RCI vacation clubs. They say 90 minutes it is closer to three hours. Yes even if you do decline, to purchase you still get lots of nice free gifts. Although it sounds good and yes when you figure out the member price plus all your vacations over the next ten to 30 years it is a great deal. But really who keeps that one large sum in the bank or a credit card limit that hi. The get kinda loud when you are trying to decline. Kinda entering you out.

All in all I would recommend this resort for another do nothing , simply relaxing vacation. I loved everything about the resort. The food, the rooms, the service everything.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. 90 percent of them you can see the ocean. The Junior suite is mor roomy tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is great to hear from you as soon as you reached home, letting us know that you have had a wonderful vacation experience with us. Thank you for your words of praise toward our staff who will appreciate.

Thank you for your comments and for choosing our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a wonderful experience in Jamaica.

Yours sincerely,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto,canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned from a week vacation at the Bahia, and to be honest I would NOT return. The hotel rates it's self as a 5 star but it is perhaps more like a 3 star, very big and be prepared to do alot of walking. Check in went very smooth however it was nothing special...no caribbean music playing, no welcome drink..I believe that this hotel is owned by Spanish Investor's & everywhere you go you see Spanish first then English which I thought was really strange...We had requested adjoining rooms (1 king & 2 queens..rooms 23403/23404) which we had been given . The rooms do need some TLC they are dated, beds are so bloody hard & the pillows are like rocks..however the housekeeping staff was amazing...our rooms were cleaned in the morning & we had plenty of towels, our mini bar was stocked every day with beer,choclate,pop & banana chips(we had the same housekeeper daily & did tip her on our last day) Beach was a trek to get to, crowded, rocky & for myself was not worth the trek..Pool is very large, clean, loud at times(quite near the Don Pablo section)shade seating is limited(chair hogs seem to grab them early..6am? & half the time they sit empty)Food..Breakfast is Buffet which has alot of selection however alot of greedy people filling plates up with bacon,sausage's etc...Lunch is also buffet either by the pool or at the Grill near the beach. Dinner can be either the Buffet or at 1 of the selected restaurants. We ate @ Don Pablo which had wonderful food(perhaps the best) but the service was very rushed & abrupt. The Grill & Dolce Vita were more relaxed, not rushed, server's @ both locations were very friendly, food is ok ..your app's & dessert are both buffet style & your main is off the menu. Just a FYI the House Wine (both R&W) are terrible!!! never tasted wine so horrible....so if you want wine you might want to order off the wine list & pay extra(they charge it to your room) The staff @ the restaurants, pool bar, bar's are very friendly & outgoing... the front desk staff was ok,( not very friendly). They do charge $8 daily for the Safety Deposit Box however we travelled with Air Canada Vacation's and it was FREE. The Wi Fi is terrible...didnt work in the rooms had to go to the lobby.

Room Tip: best time to change your beach towels is in the morning, don't turn them in at the end of the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we are glad to know that you have enjoyed our gastronomy, cleanliness, and our Hotel amenities. However it is with regret that we learn we couldn’t impress you with the size of our Hotel, as you said our hotel is huge but all our buildings are interconnected with elevators for the easy movement of our guests.
We also noted your observation, which we have discussed with our team.

Thank you for vacationing with us and we hope to be given the opportunity to regain your trust in us.

Best regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Ontario
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

The Bahia was a very nice resort. Was our first visit to jamaica and won't be our last. All the staff here are wonderful. They all try provide the most enjoyable stay possible. Pool bartenders Omar and Gregory are fun and very pleasant. Lloyd the bar supervisor was awesome. The food at the buffets as well as the a la cartes was amazing. Everything was delicious with tons of variety for everyone. He nightly entertainment was very nice. They put on some really great shows. Won't be our last visit to the Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted reading your note letting us know that you have had an amazing holiday during your first visit to our property. Thank you for your words about our cuisine, entertainments and overall the services offered by our wonderful staff.

Looking forward to host you again in our Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica your best all inclusive Hotel in the Caribbean.

Kind regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: Salt Coopers Villa | Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.