We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for rest & relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
harrisburg, pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for rest & relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Service: Seriously, you could not walk 20 yards without tripping over 3 employees, all of who would greet you with a smile. We were greeted with cocktails upon check-in and the bellman delivered our bags to our room. EVERYONE was incredibly polite, professional, and eager to please, from the housekeeping staff, bartenders, waitstaff, pool boys, etc.

Value: I got what I paid for, and then some.

Sleep Quality: The doors do not block out a lot of noise so I frequently heard late-night revelers going to and from their rooms; however, the walls between rooms were rock solid hard and you couldn't hear a thing through them.

Cleanliness: Room was well maintained each day with fresh towels, the beds always made, more toiletries, etc. Also, the grounds were meticiulously clean. There were people everywhere picking up litter, raking the large rocks off the beach, manicuring the landscaping, etc.

Location: About 75 minutes from the airport which was fine. Right on the beach which was perfect.

Rooms: Extremely spacious! Especially if you're used to staying in NYC or European hotels! Our junior suite had a table & 2 chairs and a sofabed in addition to 2 queen size poster beds and a full-size closet. The bathroom hand a shower plus soaking tub and the toilet had a door for privacy. There seemed to be some wear and tear: the hair dryer was broken but was fixed within an hour after our arrival, the light switches and mounted soap dish were wobbly, the curtains looked worn, and there were some dings and dents on the furniture and walls. We needed more towels and they were delivered w/in 10 minutes of a phone call. The view of the beach & sunset were spectacular from the balcony.

Beverage selection: it was fine considering it was included in the price, but you have to pay extra for the top shelf selections. Only bad thing I had was some white wine that tasted like the bottle had been open for a week. Tip: bring your own travel mug for drinks by the pool because those little dixie cups are a nuisance. The coffee was great and always piping hot.

Food: Incredible selection at all meals. Lobster tails & carved roast beef for dinner - yes! Huge selection for every meal, including a lot of vegetarian dishes, pasta, salad bar, fresh fruit, cooked vegetables, soups and a delicious dessert selection. If you're more of a simpleton eater, there were burgers and pizza, too. Breakfast had made to order crepes, mimosas, bloody marys, and enough food that it looked like dinnertime. They had a little corner dedicated each day to a different country's specialities, ie Canada, Portugal, etc as well as Jamaican specialities. The best place for lunch is the Jerk Chicken Center located on the beach. Best chicken ever! A decent sized buffet, but fewer choices than going to the dining room. Considering the mass production of food (probably close to 2000 people per meal if the resort is full), I'd rate the food very high. It wasn't 5-star quality, but then again that's not what I was expecting. If you leave hungry, it's your own fault.

Other comments:
(1) Beware of the young ladies who try to rope you into a presentation on timeshares. I came here to escape the cold, snow and ice, not to sit in a conference room listening to a sales pitch. I don't care how many "gifts" you might give me. So get your excuse ready: "My spouse isn't with me and they make all the financial decisions" ..... "I already went to that"
(2) You need a reservation for the a la carte restaurants. Make these before you leave home! We were staying 4 nights and were only permitted 2 reservations. It was impossible to get the times & restaurants we wanted so we had to settle for 2nd choice, which wouldn't have been such a big deal except that at both restaurants neither one was even half full. That was disappointing. Very annoyed that for the Japanese restaurant we were seated at a hibachi grill. I did NOT want to go to Benihana, I wanted a la carte ordering. We didn't know that until we got there.
(3) Yes, the resort is large, but what do you except when the property has almost 900 rooms -- NOTHING will be right outside your door. If you find the walking excessive, then you're lazy.
(4) I had no intention of leaving the resort for any activities and that's a good thing b/c it didn't appear as if there was anything nearby. You'd have to hire a taxi, private driver or take a guided tour.
(5) Dear pool hogs -- please stop throwing down a towel to "reserve" your favorite chair and then disappear for over half a day. Rude, rude, rude. Considering they say they'll charge you $25 for not returning your pool towel card, you run a big risk of "misplacing" your towel (hint).
(6) The entertainment was average .... both the shows at the outdoor theater near the disco & sports bar, and also the quieter trios that played on the veranda near the lobby. After a while, it all sounded the same.
(7) There really are no shopping options on the resort -- it's either tacky tourist crap or a high-end jewelry store.
(8) The beach was great -- some areas are sandy, others are pebbly. It seemed like more people went to the pool than to the beach so there was always open space, plus one section of beach was far enough away from the main resort that you weren't subjected to listening to loud blaring music and people playing silly grade-school games or doing water aerobics. Ooohhh .... they have a nude beach, too, tucked away behind a fence at the corner of the resort!! Overall, the beach never felt crowded and that was preferable than going to the pool, mainly because I wanted to feel like I was at the ocean.

Finally, I do recommend this place and would go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Rishel,

It is rewarding to know that you were satisfied with your vacation experience and you have enjoyed our services and amenities as well as our staff. We also appreciate all of your observations that certainly will help us to enhance and provide a better service. We will forward them to our management to analyze and take action where is needed.

We have felt honored being your hosts during your trip to Jamaica and we will be more than happy to serve you again on your upcoming vacation.

Best regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,448
    2,181
    1,055
    517
    355
See reviews for
1,863
2,816
79
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,754)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Beautiful resort friendly staff clean rooms and grounds , safe and fun excursions .delicious food we ate steack buffet sea food great selection of desserts.
the nightly entertainment got be dull after a while gift shops too expensive better to buy at duty free at the airport. We highly recommend bamboo boat down the river 2hr excursion beautiful sceanery

We would most definitely would return♥♥♥♥♥♥

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous note. It is thrilling to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and the room cleanliness, variety and quality of the food and our friendly staff have been able to reach your satisfaction.

Thank you for vacationing with us and for choosing our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best vacation experience in Jamaica.

Warm regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just got back this morning February 10th. 2014.
I must say that this resort is ginormous. My calves hurt by day two. This resort is quite spread out. Best part of beach to the west side of resort. Shopping and entertainment also on the west side of resort. Vacation club is on the on the east side of resort. Restraunts and main lobby in the centre of resort.
The pool was wonderfully long ,spreading from centre of resort all the way around to east side of the resort.
The best restraunt was at lunch at the jerk buffet on the west side of resort near the beach. Our server was Kenardo, a joyful funny young man saving to go to collage. Very friendly always eager to please. Kept calling my husband "Uncle Phil" . Obviously a duck dynasty fan.
Some of the people to see there. Go see Shanae . She is in the office where you book your day trips. She works for Blue Mountain tours. For little snacks a and water stuff. Go see Delissa at the little cart on the far side of pool near the privelage section.
What ever you do, tho if you should decide to go on the upgrade tour please read reviews for RCI vacation clubs. They say 90 minutes it is closer to three hours. Yes even if you do decline, to purchase you still get lots of nice free gifts. Although it sounds good and yes when you figure out the member price plus all your vacations over the next ten to 30 years it is a great deal. But really who keeps that one large sum in the bank or a credit card limit that hi. The get kinda loud when you are trying to decline. Kinda entering you out.

All in all I would recommend this resort for another do nothing , simply relaxing vacation. I loved everything about the resort. The food, the rooms, the service everything.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. 90 percent of them you can see the ocean. The Junior suite is mor roomy tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is great to hear from you as soon as you reached home, letting us know that you have had a wonderful vacation experience with us. Thank you for your words of praise toward our staff who will appreciate.

Thank you for your comments and for choosing our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a wonderful experience in Jamaica.

Yours sincerely,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto,canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned from a week vacation at the Bahia, and to be honest I would NOT return. The hotel rates it's self as a 5 star but it is perhaps more like a 3 star, very big and be prepared to do alot of walking. Check in went very smooth however it was nothing special...no caribbean music playing, no welcome drink..I believe that this hotel is owned by Spanish Investor's & everywhere you go you see Spanish first then English which I thought was really strange...We had requested adjoining rooms (1 king & 2 queens..rooms 23403/23404) which we had been given . The rooms do need some TLC they are dated, beds are so bloody hard & the pillows are like rocks..however the housekeeping staff was amazing...our rooms were cleaned in the morning & we had plenty of towels, our mini bar was stocked every day with beer,choclate,pop & banana chips(we had the same housekeeper daily & did tip her on our last day) Beach was a trek to get to, crowded, rocky & for myself was not worth the trek..Pool is very large, clean, loud at times(quite near the Don Pablo section)shade seating is limited(chair hogs seem to grab them early..6am? & half the time they sit empty)Food..Breakfast is Buffet which has alot of selection however alot of greedy people filling plates up with bacon,sausage's etc...Lunch is also buffet either by the pool or at the Grill near the beach. Dinner can be either the Buffet or at 1 of the selected restaurants. We ate @ Don Pablo which had wonderful food(perhaps the best) but the service was very rushed & abrupt. The Grill & Dolce Vita were more relaxed, not rushed, server's @ both locations were very friendly, food is ok ..your app's & dessert are both buffet style & your main is off the menu. Just a FYI the House Wine (both R&W) are terrible!!! never tasted wine so horrible....so if you want wine you might want to order off the wine list & pay extra(they charge it to your room) The staff @ the restaurants, pool bar, bar's are very friendly & outgoing... the front desk staff was ok,( not very friendly). They do charge $8 daily for the Safety Deposit Box however we travelled with Air Canada Vacation's and it was FREE. The Wi Fi is terrible...didnt work in the rooms had to go to the lobby.

Room Tip: best time to change your beach towels is in the morning, don't turn them in at the end of the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we are glad to know that you have enjoyed our gastronomy, cleanliness, and our Hotel amenities. However it is with regret that we learn we couldn’t impress you with the size of our Hotel, as you said our hotel is huge but all our buildings are interconnected with elevators for the easy movement of our guests.
We also noted your observation, which we have discussed with our team.

Thank you for vacationing with us and we hope to be given the opportunity to regain your trust in us.

Best regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Ontario
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

The Bahia was a very nice resort. Was our first visit to jamaica and won't be our last. All the staff here are wonderful. They all try provide the most enjoyable stay possible. Pool bartenders Omar and Gregory are fun and very pleasant. Lloyd the bar supervisor was awesome. The food at the buffets as well as the a la cartes was amazing. Everything was delicious with tons of variety for everyone. He nightly entertainment was very nice. They put on some really great shows. Won't be our last visit to the Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted reading your note letting us know that you have had an amazing holiday during your first visit to our property. Thank you for your words about our cuisine, entertainments and overall the services offered by our wonderful staff.

Looking forward to host you again in our Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica your best all inclusive Hotel in the Caribbean.

Kind regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful. From the minute we landed at the airport, the Jamaican hospitality was evident. From the minute we checked in till we left a week later, the staff was extremely helpful. It is such a pleasant having happy helpful people. A very big shoutout to Shanna Kay in the orchid buffet restaurant -- she made our dining even more pleasurable. Remembered us from day one, our drinks of choice and always greeted us with the best smile ever. Antonio in the daiquiri lounge makes a great drink special. Even better than the 'Bob Marley' drink.
Rooms were clean and very spacious, beach was good and would recommend this all-inclusive.
On the downside, the rooms could use a little TLC. Light bulbs burnt out, missing soap dish in shower, handle missing from closet door. Had a small TV in the suite but the day before we left, it had been upgraded to a flat TV.
---Don&Elayne

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Don&Elayne,

It is thrilling to know that since your arrival you could feel the warmth and friendly of our staff as well as we were able to exceed your expectations during your Jamaica Vacation.

Thank you for your comments. We will be more than happy to host you in your next trip to our Grand Bahia Principe, a 5 stars experience in Jamaica.

Yours faithfully,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit so it had a lot to live up too. We found the staff as friendly as ever and even got remembered by some even though it had been 3 years since we had been there. I didn't like the room we were given as it looked out to the square so it was noisy late at night, but after I spoke to the lovely man on reception he moved us to a room next to where we had stayed previously, so I was happy no problem. There is such a variety of food I can't understand anyone complaining. Our housekeeper was a gem, everyday she would put fresh flowers on our bed with a new design she would do with the towels, also kept our room spotless and no problem with clean towels. We had no problem getting clean towels at the pool or sun beds. We went to the lobby every night and found the waitresses hard working and friendly especially Bridght. The hotel could do with a bit of tlc, but it is a big hotel so wear and tear is understandable. We had a amazing time and will be returning for a third visit. Thanks to all at Gran Bahia, you make the experience well worth it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Our team is proud to know that you have had a good vacation. In our Hotel we work with the commitment to become truth our guest’s dreams during their vacation so it is good to know that you have enjoyed your second time with us.

Thank you for your comments. We will be more than happy to welcome you again in our

Yours faithfully,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.