We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just got back this morning February 10th. 2014.
I must say that this resort is ginormous. My calves hurt by day two. This resort is quite spread out. Best part of beach to the west side of resort. Shopping and entertainment also on the west side of resort. Vacation club is on the on the east side of resort. Restraunts and main lobby in the centre of resort.
The pool was wonderfully long ,spreading from centre of resort all the way around to east side of the resort.
The best restraunt was at lunch at the jerk buffet on the west side of resort near the beach. Our server was Kenardo, a joyful funny young man saving to go to collage. Very friendly always eager to please. Kept calling my husband "Uncle Phil" . Obviously a duck dynasty fan.
Some of the people to see there. Go see Shanae . She is in the office where you book your day trips. She works for Blue Mountain tours. For little snacks a and water stuff. Go see Delissa at the little cart on the far side of pool near the privelage section.
What ever you do, tho if you should decide to go on the upgrade tour please read reviews for RCI vacation clubs. They say 90 minutes it is closer to three hours. Yes even if you do decline, to purchase you still get lots of nice free gifts. Although it sounds good and yes when you figure out the member price plus all your vacations over the next ten to 30 years it is a great deal. But really who keeps that one large sum in the bank or a credit card limit that hi. The get kinda loud when you are trying to decline. Kinda entering you out.

All in all I would recommend this resort for another do nothing , simply relaxing vacation. I loved everything about the resort. The food, the rooms, the service everything.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. 90 percent of them you can see the ocean. The Junior suite is mor roomy tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is great to hear from you as soon as you reached home, letting us know that you have had a wonderful vacation experience with us. Thank you for your words of praise toward our staff who will appreciate.

Thank you for your comments and for choosing our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a wonderful experience in Jamaica.

Yours sincerely,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,442
    2,171
    1,053
    514
    352
See reviews for
1,855
2,808
79
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,741)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto,canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned from a week vacation at the Bahia, and to be honest I would NOT return. The hotel rates it's self as a 5 star but it is perhaps more like a 3 star, very big and be prepared to do alot of walking. Check in went very smooth however it was nothing special...no caribbean music playing, no welcome drink..I believe that this hotel is owned by Spanish Investor's & everywhere you go you see Spanish first then English which I thought was really strange...We had requested adjoining rooms (1 king & 2 queens..rooms 23403/23404) which we had been given . The rooms do need some TLC they are dated, beds are so bloody hard & the pillows are like rocks..however the housekeeping staff was amazing...our rooms were cleaned in the morning & we had plenty of towels, our mini bar was stocked every day with beer,choclate,pop & banana chips(we had the same housekeeper daily & did tip her on our last day) Beach was a trek to get to, crowded, rocky & for myself was not worth the trek..Pool is very large, clean, loud at times(quite near the Don Pablo section)shade seating is limited(chair hogs seem to grab them early..6am? & half the time they sit empty)Food..Breakfast is Buffet which has alot of selection however alot of greedy people filling plates up with bacon,sausage's etc...Lunch is also buffet either by the pool or at the Grill near the beach. Dinner can be either the Buffet or at 1 of the selected restaurants. We ate @ Don Pablo which had wonderful food(perhaps the best) but the service was very rushed & abrupt. The Grill & Dolce Vita were more relaxed, not rushed, server's @ both locations were very friendly, food is ok ..your app's & dessert are both buffet style & your main is off the menu. Just a FYI the House Wine (both R&W) are terrible!!! never tasted wine so horrible....so if you want wine you might want to order off the wine list & pay extra(they charge it to your room) The staff @ the restaurants, pool bar, bar's are very friendly & outgoing... the front desk staff was ok,( not very friendly). They do charge $8 daily for the Safety Deposit Box however we travelled with Air Canada Vacation's and it was FREE. The Wi Fi is terrible...didnt work in the rooms had to go to the lobby.

Room Tip: best time to change your beach towels is in the morning, don't turn them in at the end of the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we are glad to know that you have enjoyed our gastronomy, cleanliness, and our Hotel amenities. However it is with regret that we learn we couldn’t impress you with the size of our Hotel, as you said our hotel is huge but all our buildings are interconnected with elevators for the easy movement of our guests.
We also noted your observation, which we have discussed with our team.

Thank you for vacationing with us and we hope to be given the opportunity to regain your trust in us.

Best regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Ontario
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

The Bahia was a very nice resort. Was our first visit to jamaica and won't be our last. All the staff here are wonderful. They all try provide the most enjoyable stay possible. Pool bartenders Omar and Gregory are fun and very pleasant. Lloyd the bar supervisor was awesome. The food at the buffets as well as the a la cartes was amazing. Everything was delicious with tons of variety for everyone. He nightly entertainment was very nice. They put on some really great shows. Won't be our last visit to the Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted reading your note letting us know that you have had an amazing holiday during your first visit to our property. Thank you for your words about our cuisine, entertainments and overall the services offered by our wonderful staff.

Looking forward to host you again in our Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica your best all inclusive Hotel in the Caribbean.

Kind regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful. From the minute we landed at the airport, the Jamaican hospitality was evident. From the minute we checked in till we left a week later, the staff was extremely helpful. It is such a pleasant having happy helpful people. A very big shoutout to Shanna Kay in the orchid buffet restaurant -- she made our dining even more pleasurable. Remembered us from day one, our drinks of choice and always greeted us with the best smile ever. Antonio in the daiquiri lounge makes a great drink special. Even better than the 'Bob Marley' drink.
Rooms were clean and very spacious, beach was good and would recommend this all-inclusive.
On the downside, the rooms could use a little TLC. Light bulbs burnt out, missing soap dish in shower, handle missing from closet door. Had a small TV in the suite but the day before we left, it had been upgraded to a flat TV.
---Don&Elayne

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Don&Elayne,

It is thrilling to know that since your arrival you could feel the warmth and friendly of our staff as well as we were able to exceed your expectations during your Jamaica Vacation.

Thank you for your comments. We will be more than happy to host you in your next trip to our Grand Bahia Principe, a 5 stars experience in Jamaica.

Yours faithfully,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit so it had a lot to live up too. We found the staff as friendly as ever and even got remembered by some even though it had been 3 years since we had been there. I didn't like the room we were given as it looked out to the square so it was noisy late at night, but after I spoke to the lovely man on reception he moved us to a room next to where we had stayed previously, so I was happy no problem. There is such a variety of food I can't understand anyone complaining. Our housekeeper was a gem, everyday she would put fresh flowers on our bed with a new design she would do with the towels, also kept our room spotless and no problem with clean towels. We had no problem getting clean towels at the pool or sun beds. We went to the lobby every night and found the waitresses hard working and friendly especially Bridght. The hotel could do with a bit of tlc, but it is a big hotel so wear and tear is understandable. We had a amazing time and will be returning for a third visit. Thanks to all at Gran Bahia, you make the experience well worth it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Our team is proud to know that you have had a good vacation. In our Hotel we work with the commitment to become truth our guest’s dreams during their vacation so it is good to know that you have enjoyed your second time with us.

Thank you for your comments. We will be more than happy to welcome you again in our

Yours faithfully,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We just got back from the Grand Bahia in Runaway Bay Jamaica. The overall experience was really good. This was our first trip to Jamaica. We hired a private driver to bring us from the airport to the hotel. We were greeted with a drink at check in. The resort was 100% booked so we couldn't check in early, so they held our luggage for us so we could venture around. The resort is huge! Rooms are beautiful. We had a king size bed, and a beautiful view of the ocean, ocean view is definitely worth it. We do regret not booking for the upgrade of Don Pablo. The food was fantastic everywhere we ate. Akeem Campbell at the swim up bar was truly fantastic service! We really appreciated his quick service. Our house keeper was great as well. I truly believe they appreciate their tips. A few things, the resort does need a little maintenance work inside, but the outside property and lawn maintenance is FANTASTIC! The beaches were more rocky then expected. The beach fills up fast, but there seems to be lots of room around the beautiful pools that they have. I'm a photographer, and this property was a BEAUTIFUL one to photograph!
Over all, definitely a great bang for your buck! We left there with a great tan, and so many fantastic memories! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Our goal is to achieve the maximum satisfaction of all our guests; your opinion helps us to enhance and improve our services. Thank you very much for your positive comments about our restaurants and the quality of the food you have enjoyed during your stay.

On behalf of our General Manager and staff, thank you for vacationing with us and we are waiting to host you again in our Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica in your next trip to this beautiful Island.

Warm regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We chose the GBP Runaway Bay, Jamaica as we had previously stayed at one in Mexico. The hotel is a lot smaller than the one in Mexico and not up to the same standard.
Firstly, check in was ok. However, there was no help to get our luggage to our rooms. Before arriving I had emailed the hotel to request 2 queen sized beds for my son and his friend. On entering the room they were shocked to find they had been given a king size bed. Naturally we rang to request either a change of room or another bed and were assured that they would bring another double bed to put in the room. After we waited for over an hour and no sign of the other bed, we went to speak to the desk, in person. I pointed to both my son (aged 18) and his friend (aged 26) and stated that they did not want to share a bed. Once again we were assured that the bed would be delivered to the room. As we had just arrived we decided to explore the hotel. On returning to our rooms my son was shocked to find that the bed had been delivered was a 'crib', which we found hilarious but frustrating. When the man came to collect the crib he asked if we were "sure we hadn't requested a crib"! Eventually a double bed was brought to the room.
The television in my room didn't work and there was no plug and some other minor issues but we didn't complain. However, on Wednesday 17th July we reported three times that our toilet was nearly overflowing. Although the desk said that maintenance had fixed the problem it was still the same when we had returned to the room. Once again I telephoned to report the issue and was told that it was fixed! My husband and I went to bed as we gave up on anyone coming repairing the toilet. At 2.20 am I got up to use the toilet and slipped in water and fell to the floor. Our room was flooded! I rang and reported the problem yet again. Maintenance arrived within 30 minutes to fix the toilet and he requested that housekeeping come and clear the water from our bedroom floor. We waited over 3 hours for someone to come from housekeeping and believe if we hadn't of rang that no one would have come. I was in agony, I was later to find out I had a slipped disc in my neck which then caused me to have an MS relapse! Marlon the manager was condescending when I reported the incidents and admitted the following day, that he thought I was exaggerating my injuries. The management team seriously need to be replaced by those that have good customer relation skills.
The food was good, especially the jerk chicken at the beach. The buffet was small and there were occasions that people had to queue to get in. The Japanese food was good but the entertainment was not up to the Mexican standard. They were also very slow to serve drinks. The best a la carte was the Grill, which is located close to main pool.
The beach was very disappointing but we were always able to get a lounger. This was not the same by the pool.
The Hacienda shows were disappointing but there was a good atmosphere there. The sports bar was good fun and had one arm bandits, which were inexpensive to play and you could win money!
The 'SKA' disco was disappointing and smelt stale. Premium drinks come at a cost however; if you drink enough the local brands do the same thing, especially the rum.
The entertainment staff was excellent and although they encouraged you to join in, you were never forced.
We went on 2 trips. First was to Dunn's River Falls. Personally, I didn't think it was worth the money but did enjoy the boat trip on the return journey. Nine Mile was fantastic. Our guide was Captain Crazy and certainly lived up to his name. There is a hole in the wall that you can buy cannabis and brownies from, but was expensive. Apparently you can buy it cheaper from others within the complex. Although it is readily available, it is against the law!
We did meet a fantastic couple, Sophie and Jay who helped to make our holiday more enjoyable.
Overall, I would not return to this hotel as it does not compare to GBP in Mexico. However, I loved the Jamaican people and their attitude to life and would be tempted to go to Negril or Lucea but not Runaway Bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is good to read that you have enjoyed some of the tour offered in our property as well as our entertainment staff. On the other hand we have noticed your discomfort, which we have already discussed with the related department; please, accept our sincerest apologies.

Please, allow us inform our customers, that right now all our rooms has flat-screen TVs. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to be given the opportunity to host you again.

Best regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.