We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Not Return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Salt Coopers. Runaway Bay. Jamaica | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter up to 50% off
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
toronto,canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Would Not Return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned from a week vacation at the Bahia, and to be honest I would NOT return. The hotel rates it's self as a 5 star but it is perhaps more like a 3 star, very big and be prepared to do alot of walking. Check in went very smooth however it was nothing special...no caribbean music playing, no welcome drink..I believe that this hotel is owned by Spanish Investor's & everywhere you go you see Spanish first then English which I thought was really strange...We had requested adjoining rooms (1 king & 2 queens..rooms 23403/23404) which we had been given . The rooms do need some TLC they are dated, beds are so bloody hard & the pillows are like rocks..however the housekeeping staff was amazing...our rooms were cleaned in the morning & we had plenty of towels, our mini bar was stocked every day with beer,choclate,pop & banana chips(we had the same housekeeper daily & did tip her on our last day) Beach was a trek to get to, crowded, rocky & for myself was not worth the trek..Pool is very large, clean, loud at times(quite near the Don Pablo section)shade seating is limited(chair hogs seem to grab them early..6am? & half the time they sit empty)Food..Breakfast is Buffet which has alot of selection however alot of greedy people filling plates up with bacon,sausage's etc...Lunch is also buffet either by the pool or at the Grill near the beach. Dinner can be either the Buffet or at 1 of the selected restaurants. We ate @ Don Pablo which had wonderful food(perhaps the best) but the service was very rushed & abrupt. The Grill & Dolce Vita were more relaxed, not rushed, server's @ both locations were very friendly, food is ok ..your app's & dessert are both buffet style & your main is off the menu. Just a FYI the House Wine (both R&W) are terrible!!! never tasted wine so horrible....so if you want wine you might want to order off the wine list & pay extra(they charge it to your room) The staff @ the restaurants, pool bar, bar's are very friendly & outgoing... the front desk staff was ok,( not very friendly). They do charge $8 daily for the Safety Deposit Box however we travelled with Air Canada Vacation's and it was FREE. The Wi Fi is terrible...didnt work in the rooms had to go to the lobby.

Room Tip: best time to change your beach towels is in the morning, don't turn them in at the end of the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we are glad to know that you have enjoyed our gastronomy, cleanliness, and our Hotel amenities. However it is with regret that we learn we couldn’t impress you with the size of our Hotel, as you said our hotel is huge but all our buildings are interconnected with elevators for the easy movement of our guests.
We also noted your observation, which we have discussed with our team.

Thank you for vacationing with us and we hope to be given the opportunity to regain your trust in us.

Best regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,654
    2,436
    1,198
    570
    386
See reviews for
2,043
3,131
92
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,034)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Bahia was a very nice resort. Was our first visit to jamaica and won't be our last. All the staff here are wonderful. They all try provide the most enjoyable stay possible. Pool bartenders Omar and Gregory are fun and very pleasant. Lloyd the bar supervisor was awesome. The food at the buffets as well as the a la cartes was amazing. Everything was delicious with tons of variety for everyone. He nightly entertainment was very nice. They put on some really great shows. Won't be our last visit to the Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted reading your note letting us know that you have had an amazing holiday during your first visit to our property. Thank you for your words about our cuisine, entertainments and overall the services offered by our wonderful staff.

Looking forward to host you again in our Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica your best all inclusive Hotel in the Caribbean.

Kind regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful. From the minute we landed at the airport, the Jamaican hospitality was evident. From the minute we checked in till we left a week later, the staff was extremely helpful. It is such a pleasant having happy helpful people. A very big shoutout to Shanna Kay in the orchid buffet restaurant -- she made our dining even more pleasurable. Remembered us from day one, our drinks of choice and always greeted us with the best smile ever. Antonio in the daiquiri lounge makes a great drink special. Even better than the 'Bob Marley' drink.
Rooms were clean and very spacious, beach was good and would recommend this all-inclusive.
On the downside, the rooms could use a little TLC. Light bulbs burnt out, missing soap dish in shower, handle missing from closet door. Had a small TV in the suite but the day before we left, it had been upgraded to a flat TV.
---Don&Elayne

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Don&Elayne,

It is thrilling to know that since your arrival you could feel the warmth and friendly of our staff as well as we were able to exceed your expectations during your Jamaica Vacation.

Thank you for your comments. We will be more than happy to host you in your next trip to our Grand Bahia Principe, a 5 stars experience in Jamaica.

Yours faithfully,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit so it had a lot to live up too. We found the staff as friendly as ever and even got remembered by some even though it had been 3 years since we had been there. I didn't like the room we were given as it looked out to the square so it was noisy late at night, but after I spoke to the lovely man on reception he moved us to a room next to where we had stayed previously, so I was happy no problem. There is such a variety of food I can't understand anyone complaining. Our housekeeper was a gem, everyday she would put fresh flowers on our bed with a new design she would do with the towels, also kept our room spotless and no problem with clean towels. We had no problem getting clean towels at the pool or sun beds. We went to the lobby every night and found the waitresses hard working and friendly especially Bridght. The hotel could do with a bit of tlc, but it is a big hotel so wear and tear is understandable. We had a amazing time and will be returning for a third visit. Thanks to all at Gran Bahia, you make the experience well worth it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Our team is proud to know that you have had a good vacation. In our Hotel we work with the commitment to become truth our guest’s dreams during their vacation so it is good to know that you have enjoyed your second time with us.

Thank you for your comments. We will be more than happy to welcome you again in our

Yours faithfully,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We just got back from the Grand Bahia in Runaway Bay Jamaica. The overall experience was really good. This was our first trip to Jamaica. We hired a private driver to bring us from the airport to the hotel. We were greeted with a drink at check in. The resort was 100% booked so we couldn't check in early, so they held our luggage for us so we could venture around. The resort is huge! Rooms are beautiful. We had a king size bed, and a beautiful view of the ocean, ocean view is definitely worth it. We do regret not booking for the upgrade of Don Pablo. The food was fantastic everywhere we ate. Akeem Campbell at the swim up bar was truly fantastic service! We really appreciated his quick service. Our house keeper was great as well. I truly believe they appreciate their tips. A few things, the resort does need a little maintenance work inside, but the outside property and lawn maintenance is FANTASTIC! The beaches were more rocky then expected. The beach fills up fast, but there seems to be lots of room around the beautiful pools that they have. I'm a photographer, and this property was a BEAUTIFUL one to photograph!
Over all, definitely a great bang for your buck! We left there with a great tan, and so many fantastic memories! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Our goal is to achieve the maximum satisfaction of all our guests; your opinion helps us to enhance and improve our services. Thank you very much for your positive comments about our restaurants and the quality of the food you have enjoyed during your stay.

On behalf of our General Manager and staff, thank you for vacationing with us and we are waiting to host you again in our Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica in your next trip to this beautiful Island.

Warm regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We chose the GBP Runaway Bay, Jamaica as we had previously stayed at one in Mexico. The hotel is a lot smaller than the one in Mexico and not up to the same standard.
Firstly, check in was ok. However, there was no help to get our luggage to our rooms. Before arriving I had emailed the hotel to request 2 queen sized beds for my son and his friend. On entering the room they were shocked to find they had been given a king size bed. Naturally we rang to request either a change of room or another bed and were assured that they would bring another double bed to put in the room. After we waited for over an hour and no sign of the other bed, we went to speak to the desk, in person. I pointed to both my son (aged 18) and his friend (aged 26) and stated that they did not want to share a bed. Once again we were assured that the bed would be delivered to the room. As we had just arrived we decided to explore the hotel. On returning to our rooms my son was shocked to find that the bed had been delivered was a 'crib', which we found hilarious but frustrating. When the man came to collect the crib he asked if we were "sure we hadn't requested a crib"! Eventually a double bed was brought to the room.
The television in my room didn't work and there was no plug and some other minor issues but we didn't complain. However, on Wednesday 17th July we reported three times that our toilet was nearly overflowing. Although the desk said that maintenance had fixed the problem it was still the same when we had returned to the room. Once again I telephoned to report the issue and was told that it was fixed! My husband and I went to bed as we gave up on anyone coming repairing the toilet. At 2.20 am I got up to use the toilet and slipped in water and fell to the floor. Our room was flooded! I rang and reported the problem yet again. Maintenance arrived within 30 minutes to fix the toilet and he requested that housekeeping come and clear the water from our bedroom floor. We waited over 3 hours for someone to come from housekeeping and believe if we hadn't of rang that no one would have come. I was in agony, I was later to find out I had a slipped disc in my neck which then caused me to have an MS relapse! Marlon the manager was condescending when I reported the incidents and admitted the following day, that he thought I was exaggerating my injuries. The management team seriously need to be replaced by those that have good customer relation skills.
The food was good, especially the jerk chicken at the beach. The buffet was small and there were occasions that people had to queue to get in. The Japanese food was good but the entertainment was not up to the Mexican standard. They were also very slow to serve drinks. The best a la carte was the Grill, which is located close to main pool.
The beach was very disappointing but we were always able to get a lounger. This was not the same by the pool.
The Hacienda shows were disappointing but there was a good atmosphere there. The sports bar was good fun and had one arm bandits, which were inexpensive to play and you could win money!
The 'SKA' disco was disappointing and smelt stale. Premium drinks come at a cost however; if you drink enough the local brands do the same thing, especially the rum.
The entertainment staff was excellent and although they encouraged you to join in, you were never forced.
We went on 2 trips. First was to Dunn's River Falls. Personally, I didn't think it was worth the money but did enjoy the boat trip on the return journey. Nine Mile was fantastic. Our guide was Captain Crazy and certainly lived up to his name. There is a hole in the wall that you can buy cannabis and brownies from, but was expensive. Apparently you can buy it cheaper from others within the complex. Although it is readily available, it is against the law!
We did meet a fantastic couple, Sophie and Jay who helped to make our holiday more enjoyable.
Overall, I would not return to this hotel as it does not compare to GBP in Mexico. However, I loved the Jamaican people and their attitude to life and would be tempted to go to Negril or Lucea but not Runaway Bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is good to read that you have enjoyed some of the tour offered in our property as well as our entertainment staff. On the other hand we have noticed your discomfort, which we have already discussed with the related department; please, accept our sincerest apologies.

Please, allow us inform our customers, that right now all our rooms has flat-screen TVs. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to be given the opportunity to host you again.

Best regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The resort owned by Spanish Investors and we did expect more from supposed to be 5 star resort. I guess in our scale it was 3 and a half, but we still enjoyed because we missed the sun and warm weather coming from NY. The hotel is about over an hour and 15 minutes away from the airport. Everybody drives crazzzzy slow their, that may be a reason takes so much time to get there. Get a bus there and it is not that expensive.
Before you get there make sure take your own beach towel since we were begging for 2 days to have one for the beach and they did not have a clean one. Majority vacationers did not return them back to clean and kept them in their rooms hanging outside on balconies to dry them up. We also asked in the morning for the room towels and after 3 times ( I guess, 3 times is a charm, you have to ask for charm time), we finally got them after midnight.
We booked almost every restaurant in resort and my Paisano twice left from them not waiting till the end of the service, the food was not that great and we followed him to go back to the buffet, where food was way better. That was really funny. Waited for the glass of red wine, it literraly took over 30 minutes to get one after when my SPOSA decided to serve herself and grabbed the bottle behind our table poured the wine to our glasses. I actually tipped my wife for doing that!!! Most liquors were local, even Vodka I have never heard of it. For 7 days of staying there on their premises, we were asking for Mohitos, the answer we received was funny too: we do not have the mint leaves, so we can not make it, get something else.
The entertainment was average, so was really nothing to do at night and nowhere to go, because the place is located far away from some place you could visit.
You get wacked for safe box and they will charge you $8.00 per day plus internet another $75.
However, the beach was pretty good and lot of friendly staff.

Room Tip: Most rooms are outdated with a lot of thing not working. Make sure check the equipment before checki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to learn that we could be able to meet your expectations during your visit to our Resort, we really appreciate you have shared your review. On the other hand we have pointed out your observation toward our performance to take it into consideration.

On behalf of our team members thank you for your comments. Hope to see you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: Salt Coopers. Runaway Bay. Jamaica | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 812
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 8 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 850 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Otel so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.