We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I rather stay in a richer environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Salt Coopers Villa | Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Runaway Bay
Hiram, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I rather stay in a richer environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staff was fine but they seem like they are from a poor community so they friendliness only extends as far as your tip can. There is only 1 ATM on site so bring cash for other things if needed. The room was lovely and the grounds were clean but aging in some places. The dinner at the buffet was tasty and the sandy beach was amazing.

It is far away from places to visit so arrange for cab services as well. The ocean and pool is beautiful.

Room Tip: Stay in a 14-1600 room so that there does not have to be so much walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IselS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Zinga,

We appreciate your feedback and your kind words about the lovely room, cleanliness, food at the buffets, the pool and beach.

On the other hand, we are overwhelmed knowing the impressions with which you left our property and we do apologize for this situation. However, kindly let us point out that it is through our customer satisfaction surveys that we learn in the great majority of the cases our staff is able to show to our guests the warmth, friendliness, joviality and hospitality that characterize the Jamaican people.

We are very sorry that we were not able to show convincingly these qualities in your case and we apologize again for any inconvenience you may have had.

We thank you for vacationing with us and we sincerely hope to be afforded with the opportunity to host you again in the future and provide you a more enjoyable stay.

Respectfully,

Isel Salgado
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,611 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,041
    1,885
    917
    454
    314
See reviews for
1549
2479
66
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,408)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willingboro, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We traveled August 24 - 31, 2013. I have visited Jamaica five times and this was by far the best resort stay. I loved the property and the service. The staff is wonderful, great food and entertainment. I prefer the location away from the city - Montego Bay.

One negative about the stay; the housekeeping staff is great but you do not receive washcloths in a timely manner. I read about this in an on-line review prior to leaving and purchased a package of washcloths to bring with me. That was a smart move.

Other than that, I love this resort and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean view; the sunrise/sunsets are the best I have seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IselS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Marilyn,

We appreciate your warm review. Many thanks for letting us know that you have considered your vacation with us as your best resort stay so far in Jamaica. It is thrilling to learn that you enjoyed the location, food and entertainment.

It was a pleasure to serve you. We sincerely hope to see you again in our property on your upcoming trip to Jamaica.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A wonderful holiday with my family who enjoyed every moment of their visit and cant wait to return The few issues we had were immediately rectified.Nothing to really mention as these occur even in our own homes.You cant please everyone no matter how you try.On percent of the human race will find something to fuss about and nothing you do will satisfy them.

Room Tip: All the rooms have something to offer whether its the ocean or the beautiful landscape so each one h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IselS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Lucas,

We much appreciate your kind note. It is thrilling to know that you and your family have enjoyed your vacation to the full and are considering returning to us.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your recommendation to other possible travelers. We cannot wait to serve you again in our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Jamaica.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took our 8 year old here and we loved every minute if it. The hotel was clean and beautiful. The pool is awesome. I lived at the swim up Bar where there was free flowing Appleton Rum. Rauel the bartender at the pool is awesome. The food in the buffet was good. The ala cart restaurants choices were great as well. Great views of the ocean and beaches. Even though it was a big resort it never felt crowded. Plenty of kids to keep my only child occupied.

Cons- The nightly entertainment leaves something to be desired. They did run out of clean towels more than you would expect for a large resort.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IselS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind note. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed every minute of your vacation, especially the pool and swim up pool bars, the beauty and cleanliness of the hotel, food at the buffets and a la cartes, the staff and the kids' friendly environment.

We thank you for your observation and we can ensure that your comments will be taken into account, to rectify this situation.

Thank you for choosing our Grand Bahia Principe Hotels and Resorts to stay in Jamaica; we sincerely hope to see you again, very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My sister-in-law & I went in August of 2012 and were very happy with our stay. This a big beautiful resort with incredible beach access and breathtaking views. The accomodations were wonderful and the resort was clean. We weren't interested in reserving the restaurants and were not disappointed at all with the buffet choices. I loved that there were so many authentic Jamaican dishes!
The Jerk Chicken Pit was by far the BEST ever! Entertainment was nice this is a family resort and they certainly cater to that. I was disappointed with the Wifi being offered in the lobby only. It's Wifi! It made no sense and it wasn't very good either, fortunately I can just turn my phone off but sucked for my SIL that had to call and check in at home.

Room Tip: I didn't take much notice of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IselS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Giulia,

Thank you for your warm review. Our hotel management and staff take pride in offering an outstanding vacation to all our guests. It is rewarding to see that we have achieved that goal with you. Thank you for your words about the room, cleanliness, food at the buffet, Jerk Center and entertainment.

We would like to take this opportunity to point out that as per our standards accessing to the Wi Fi it is for free at the lobby; however, it is possible to access to Internet from all the places at the hotel, as an additional cost.

We thank you for vacationing with us and we sincerely hope to serve you again in our Grand Bahia Principe on your upcoming trip to Jamaica.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Grand Bahia Jamaica looked amazing from the outside. The lobby area is spectacular!! The hotel is a large complex with plenty of bars, resturants and a massive interconnecting pools. There is plenty of evening entertainment from a quite bar, piano bar to the entertainment square which was pretty, had shops, sports bar, karaoke, disco and outside stage with a show on each night.When you are at the shops you can haggle them down for a lower price in all the shops. just act real interested and then start to walk off. They always come back at about 1/2 the original cost.The rooms where amazing, great views of the ocean. The beach was very nice not a real shortage of chairsn Get up early if you want a good seat around the pool though.The only down side was the mattress ,very hard !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IselS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ken,

We are pleased to hear that we have met your expectations during your vacation with us. Thank you for your description of the property, amenities and entertainment options. We also have taken note of your observation and will make sure to forward your comments to the related manager, to take it into consideration.

Thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica; we will be more than happy to host you again in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The Grand Bahia Jamaica looked amazing from the outside. The lobby area is spectacular, very busy at times with hotel guests taking advantage of the free wifi which is only available in the Lobby. We had a few issues with the shower door and the toilet not flushing on quite a few occasions but once reported at the front desk was sorted within a couple of hours.
The Japanese restaurant, Don Pablo and the Grill are highly recommended. However, you must try the Jerk place on the beach, you must try the jerk chicken and also the curry goat. We were quite disappointed with the Buffett, the food was okay, but could do with more Jamaican cuisine. On the positive side the staff in the Buffet worked very hard, 2 in particular were exceptional, Jason, and Jermaine (trainee waiter). I hope the maitre De David Williams passed on our positive comments to Jason & Jermaine. Management please pass this on. Nadine kept our rooms clean and tidy and always singing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, directora de calidad at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to acknowledge that we have received your comments concerning your recent stay at our property, the Gran Bahia Principe Resort here in Jamaica. We also would like to thank you for taking the time out to communicate the impressions of your vacation with us.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you appreciated the professionalism of our staff, especially Mrs. Nadine and Mr. Jason and Jermaine, we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services. We are very proud to have received your excellent comments regarding our employees. make sure that we will extend to our management and to Mr. Jason and Mr.Jermaine your congrats on your behalf.

In the name of our General Manager and staff , we would like to thank you for vacationing with us at the Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort and we hope see you very soon in our property.


Best regards,


Helena Gomez

Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay
Address: Salt Coopers Villa | Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Venere, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.