We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A PLACE FOR FAMILY AND FRIENDS TO COME TOGETHER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Salt Coopers Villa, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A PLACE FOR FAMILY AND FRIENDS TO COME TOGETHER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A wonderful holiday with my family who enjoyed every moment of their visit and cant wait to return The few issues we had were immediately rectified.Nothing to really mention as these occur even in our own homes.You cant please everyone no matter how you try.On percent of the human race will find something to fuss about and nothing you do will satisfy them.

Room Tip: All the rooms have something to offer whether its the ocean or the beautiful landscape so each one h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IselS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Lucas,

We much appreciate your kind note. It is thrilling to know that you and your family have enjoyed your vacation to the full and are considering returning to us.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your recommendation to other possible travelers. We cannot wait to serve you again in our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Jamaica.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,342
    2,093
    1,019
    497
    338
See reviews for
1,792
2,705
75
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,648)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took our 8 year old here and we loved every minute if it. The hotel was clean and beautiful. The pool is awesome. I lived at the swim up Bar where there was free flowing Appleton Rum. Rauel the bartender at the pool is awesome. The food in the buffet was good. The ala cart restaurants choices were great as well. Great views of the ocean and beaches. Even though it was a big resort it never felt crowded. Plenty of kids to keep my only child occupied.

Cons- The nightly entertainment leaves something to be desired. They did run out of clean towels more than you would expect for a large resort.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IselS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind note. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed every minute of your vacation, especially the pool and swim up pool bars, the beauty and cleanliness of the hotel, food at the buffets and a la cartes, the staff and the kids' friendly environment.

We thank you for your observation and we can ensure that your comments will be taken into account, to rectify this situation.

Thank you for choosing our Grand Bahia Principe Hotels and Resorts to stay in Jamaica; we sincerely hope to see you again, very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My sister-in-law & I went in August of 2012 and were very happy with our stay. This a big beautiful resort with incredible beach access and breathtaking views. The accomodations were wonderful and the resort was clean. We weren't interested in reserving the restaurants and were not disappointed at all with the buffet choices. I loved that there were so many authentic Jamaican dishes!
The Jerk Chicken Pit was by far the BEST ever! Entertainment was nice this is a family resort and they certainly cater to that. I was disappointed with the Wifi being offered in the lobby only. It's Wifi! It made no sense and it wasn't very good either, fortunately I can just turn my phone off but sucked for my SIL that had to call and check in at home.

Room Tip: I didn't take much notice of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IselS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Giulia,

Thank you for your warm review. Our hotel management and staff take pride in offering an outstanding vacation to all our guests. It is rewarding to see that we have achieved that goal with you. Thank you for your words about the room, cleanliness, food at the buffet, Jerk Center and entertainment.

We would like to take this opportunity to point out that as per our standards accessing to the Wi Fi it is for free at the lobby; however, it is possible to access to Internet from all the places at the hotel, as an additional cost.

We thank you for vacationing with us and we sincerely hope to serve you again in our Grand Bahia Principe on your upcoming trip to Jamaica.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Grand Bahia Jamaica looked amazing from the outside. The lobby area is spectacular!! The hotel is a large complex with plenty of bars, resturants and a massive interconnecting pools. There is plenty of evening entertainment from a quite bar, piano bar to the entertainment square which was pretty, had shops, sports bar, karaoke, disco and outside stage with a show on each night.When you are at the shops you can haggle them down for a lower price in all the shops. just act real interested and then start to walk off. They always come back at about 1/2 the original cost.The rooms where amazing, great views of the ocean. The beach was very nice not a real shortage of chairsn Get up early if you want a good seat around the pool though.The only down side was the mattress ,very hard !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IselS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ken,

We are pleased to hear that we have met your expectations during your vacation with us. Thank you for your description of the property, amenities and entertainment options. We also have taken note of your observation and will make sure to forward your comments to the related manager, to take it into consideration.

Thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica; we will be more than happy to host you again in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The Grand Bahia Jamaica looked amazing from the outside. The lobby area is spectacular, very busy at times with hotel guests taking advantage of the free wifi which is only available in the Lobby. We had a few issues with the shower door and the toilet not flushing on quite a few occasions but once reported at the front desk was sorted within a couple of hours.
The Japanese restaurant, Don Pablo and the Grill are highly recommended. However, you must try the Jerk place on the beach, you must try the jerk chicken and also the curry goat. We were quite disappointed with the Buffett, the food was okay, but could do with more Jamaican cuisine. On the positive side the staff in the Buffet worked very hard, 2 in particular were exceptional, Jason, and Jermaine (trainee waiter). I hope the maitre De David Williams passed on our positive comments to Jason & Jermaine. Management please pass this on. Nadine kept our rooms clean and tidy and always singing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, directora de calidad at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to acknowledge that we have received your comments concerning your recent stay at our property, the Gran Bahia Principe Resort here in Jamaica. We also would like to thank you for taking the time out to communicate the impressions of your vacation with us.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you appreciated the professionalism of our staff, especially Mrs. Nadine and Mr. Jason and Jermaine, we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services. We are very proud to have received your excellent comments regarding our employees. make sure that we will extend to our management and to Mr. Jason and Mr.Jermaine your congrats on your behalf.

In the name of our General Manager and staff , we would like to thank you for vacationing with us at the Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort and we hope see you very soon in our property.


Best regards,


Helena Gomez

Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family stayed at this resort for 10 days! Kids loved the pool and resort was beautiful. Rooms were big and had nice decorations. Everything was clean and comfortable. Must pay a $6/day fee to use the safe in your room. Check in is cumbersome and seemed unorganized. too much paperwork to fill out and then you have to stand in another line for the safe key. Went to 4 of the specialty restaurants and was not impressed. Japanese and high end took over 2.5 hours at each location. Food was not worth it. Steak rest. had the toughest overdone prime rib I have ever eaten. The Italian restaurant was the best out of the 4 we tried. Most staff is friendly, if you tip them. The only problems we had was the head host at the buffets (the one's with the oversized black coats). they are very rude and talk to their staff and customers horribly. I think the black coat has made their head too big. Watch on tipping, whomever picks it up gets it. Find a person you like and request them. The jewel is the smaller buffet on the side! and the beach buffet at the beach! try the Curry Goat and the jerk chicken. The pools were nice, get your seat early. The best beach was out by the "naked beach" they have a close restroom, bar and shaded. kids loved the current and seems safe. Lots of weddings at the pier. Snorkling on the left side is great , lots of fish. dead coral from everyone stepping on it. But otherwise enjoyable. Lots of excursions to take. They have a really small room with all the companies to help you. JTL is the best and accommodated us well. Plus, we backed out on an excursion and they promptly refunded our money. Went to Appleton Rum, YS falls and Black River. great trip, very very long but get to see wonderful scenery and high mountains. Not enough time at the YS falls. They take you to a cheesy house on the hill for lunch. so take snacks. Mystic mountain is great and kids loved it. the ticket only includes you to go down the bobsled once and the zip line once. otherwise you must pay additional money. They do have changing rooms, lockers, restaurant and pool there. Kids loved the slide and pool. the tram up the mountain was the best views ever. Took Catamaran to Dunn River falls and climbed falls. Watch out, hands are out everywhere for tips! You can go up by yourself, but guides are nice. you can walk up the stairs and go in at different levels if you do not want to climb the whole way. Catamaran snorkeled out of Ocho Rios which was nice, but really windy. Beware all kids under 12 must wear those awful orange life jackets. no exceptions. hounded you the whole time trying to sell you shirts, caps, cameras, snack from cool runnings. I mean hound you to death until you have to get rude. Dancing was good and rum punch and red striped beer is plentiful. So when it is time to go home you will be nice and drunk and tip well!!!. Hotel is far from a lot of towns, so be prepared to pay to go somewhere. However, was nice not to have to worry about safety and kids could go where they wanted. I would go to this place again, gave a 4 star only because the food situation and a few rude people. Note: it was said that the hotel tells the servers not to fraternize with the customers. You have to make the effort to have conversation. Shows were good, not advertised that much accept posted outside the lobby. The dancers are phenomenal . The outside stage is a little hot and crowded with smokers. However, still had a good time and you can shop before hand. Kids have a disco night before the show and is fun as well. Checked out the kids club and lady seemed very nice. did not use, but wished we did. Scuba shop is nice, however watch for tipping. they go to same places and no night dives. I didn't see many if anyone using the sail boats or equipment. No advertising it either. If you want change go down to the bottom gift shop, buy a $1 coke and get change. Spa was really nice, lady did a good job , but when told her no so hard, she didn't ease up. tipping has to be done by cash only. the treatment is put on your room and no tip can be added. They will give you a envelope to bring back some money. Otherwise, seemed over priced. but would go back. Ask the servers about hair braiding. Some will do long hair for $30 or even the lady at the scuba area at the pool. Do not pay $110-150 at the spa. Dunn river there are tons of people ready to braid. Take some money everywhere you go, either for tipping or buying soveniers. You also can haggle them down for a lower price in all the shops. just act real interested and then start to walk off. They always come back at about 1/2 the original cost.

Room Tip: stayed in 2613 , sea view (a must) far from everything, but nice. Was not near the loud pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, directora calidad at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear guest ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and let us know that you enjoyed your stay. We very appreciate your positive remarks and your time to post your opinion in Trip Advisor. Of course thank you so much for your recommendations and suggestions made to our operation.
Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us for any further assistance or requirements for you next visit to our Resort always your home in Jamaica.

Best regards,

Helena Gomez
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is a large complex with plenty of bars, resturants and a massive interconnecting pools. We manage to find a "quite area" at the other end of pool away from the games, sports and dancing as not our thing - but lots of goings on for those that do. The quality and range of food in the buffet resturants was great. The Jerk Chicken at lunch time down at the beach is a must. Also loved the way they insisted on people entering the buffet resturant where dressed and dry! Don't know how people can't manage to do this themselves but hey. There is plenty of evening entertainment from a quite bar, piano bar to the entertainment square which was pretty, had shops, sports bar, karaoke, disco and outside stage with a show on each night. The beach is not one of the best I've seen if you are used to caribbean beaches but on the plus side if you had children the waters are very calm and shallow. Overall would recommend hotel but would be wary of going in height of season as would imagine it may quite overwhelming at full capacity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, directora calidad at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their holidays, we transmit your satisfaction to our staff and we sincerely hope to see you again very soon.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: Salt Coopers Villa, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.