We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Salt Coopers Villa, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Runaway Bay
Russell, Ontario, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for a holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were at this hotel over Easter and it was our second time at this resort. Would definitely go back again. Staff is friendly and helpful.....always smiling. Rooms are clean and have all the necessary amenities. Odaine in the Orchid Buffet went above and beyond by making sure we had a table on the patio for dinner and was very attentive to our needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your note. We are delighted to know you have had another amazing holiday with us; you have enjoyed the room, cleanliness, buffet and you have felt pampered by our staff. Thank you for your words about our coworker Ms. Odaine, we will make sure to let her know about your compliments.

We appreciate your loyalty to our resort and we can’t wait to host you back in your upcoming vacation.

Yours faithfully,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,048 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,247
    2,013
    977
    482
    329
See reviews for
1690
2632
72
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,564)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blainville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

April 12 - April 19 2013

We were 2 couples travelling together, our first visit in Jamaica. We looked at the Riu and the Bahia, our travel agent insisted that we take the Bahia, which we did.

We were booked as Royal Golden, which included some little attentions here and there. The main value is the location of the room you get. As great sea front, in the 23 block, at the 6th floor. This made the time we were in our room as good as when we were elsewhere on the resort.

The staff is very friendly, and so helpful. We did read a couple of comments from people complaining about the staff being a little "cold". We learned that some of the Jamaican people that work there look cold at first sight. It must be some of their English origins. But when you get in contact with them, they almost all endup being very nice and they do everything they can to make your stay the best possible experience.

We had 4 À La Carte restaurants:
-The Grill: very good meat with a nice choice of entries served as buffet.
-The Teppanyaki: Great show (like almost all resorts), and very good food.
-The Dolce Vita: This is a OK place... They announce the Chef's Special, and everybody we met told us the same story we lived, the Chef was not working that day, so no special. Great selection of entries served as buffet
-The Don Pablo: Really a MUST at the Bahia. the Chateaubriand is just incredible, service is perfect, entries amazing and the bananas flambe as desert, very good!

The buffet has a very good selection, and the Beach Snack is a must, mainly for the Jerk Chicken... that we had 5 times on 7 days...

The beach is good, but really not at the level of what you'll find at Negril. It was a long walk from our room (23615) to the beach (may be 15 minutes). It's quite windy as well.

So overall, we really enjoyed our stay and this week made us fall in love with the Jamaica people. We will go back to Jamaica, and will probably want to stay at a different place of the island, but it won't be because we did not appreciate the Bahia!

Room Tip: Rooms in block 23 are quieter because they are far from the main spot where the partys are, and wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for publishing your review. We appreciate you have let us know you enjoyed the room, views, buffet, A la Carte restaurants, specially Don Pablo restaurant and overall the food and the services provided by our staff has been able to fulfill all your expectations.

On behalf of our General Manager and all Team Members at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica by Bahia Principe, we thank you for your valuable comments and we hope to have the pleasure of host you again in our property.

Yours respectfully,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Was there for one week over Easter. The resort was very nice, clean, beautiful beach and great food. We especially enjoyed Odaine's fantastic service at the tables on the patio outside the buffet restaurant. He was very attentive and friendly which goes a long way. Special mention also goes out to Natoya who was responsible for activities. Even though we didn't really participate, she came by regularly to see how we were enjoying ourselves. We miss her beautiful smile and those funky little shoes! Negatives: A pair of gold earings went missing from my room when I left them in sight. My fault, but still upsetting! Additional chairs around the pool would be a good idea.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your remarks in regards with your recent stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort. Thank you for your words about the resort, cleanliness, beach, food and the services; we will make sure to transmit your kind words to Mr. Odaine and Ms. Natoya.

It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their holidays to the full. We hope to host again in your upcoming vacations.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

First of all I would like to say that the resort is beautiful and we can't wait to return! It is huge with lots of stairs but also has elevators. The jerk chicken is to die for!! It is to the right if you are facing the beach. The beach is gorgeous and there are enough chairs and huts to go around! The food was amazing! We really enjoyed the Picasso. The Orchid buffet was always great for all meal choices. Look for Marvelous Marvin!! He always has a smile! The lady making fresh pasta( sorry I can't remember your name) was great and she had a fantastic sense of humour!! People complained about running out of bacon..they replenish it frequently, it may last longer if people did not take a full plate of it and shared alittle, just saying! We were in room 18105 and the room was amazing! Our housekeeper was Jennifer and she did a fabulous job and always had a kind word. What a hard worker!!! They all work so hard and keep this resort beautiful!! We arrived late on April 11th due to our plane needing de icing and the manager kept the buffet open for an extra 1/2 hour so we could all eat before checking in.The rooms are beautiful and the beds are so comfortable. WE couldn't ask for a nicer place with the nicest people to be around.
I would recommend this resort to anyone who asks...see you soon!

Room Tip: Block 18 is close to beach, pool, shopping, night show and jerk chicken. You can also get hamburger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for publishing your review. We appreciate your words about our resort, cleanliness, beach, food and the services provided by Miss Jennifer, Mr. Marvin and overall the members of our staff. We are glad to know you have enjoyed your stay and your expectations were fulfilled.

On behalf of our management and staff, we thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica and hope to host you in your next Jamaican vacation.

Your sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was a bit skeptical about this resort from some of the reviews i've read, but found that most of the bad reviews must have come from people who are never satisfied with anything. This resort was beautiful inside and out. The staff was very helpfull and always friendly, even the grounds keepers and maintanence workers were friendly and willing to answer any questions we had, or just simply give a quick hello. The food selection on he buffet was plentiful so that even the pickiest of eaters could find something to eat. The ala carte dinners were a gamble at times, but all of them besides the don pablo also came with a mini buffet so that if you didn't like your main course you always had other options. This resort is also in a great location for many of the excursions in ocho rios. I highly recommend the Dolphin cove park!
The beach is huge and never a hard time finding a chair to sunbathe on. Even though every room was booked when we stayed, it never felt crowded since this resort is large enough to handle that many people.
I highly reccomend upgrading to the don pablo suites, the view is amazing and the extras you get are well worth the cost. I booked thru apple vacations and they gave us an automatic upgrade, very excellent!!
If i had to find any down sides to this resort the only complaints i could come up with would be that the drink glasses/cups at the bar and buffet are small, the beds are a bit on the hard side, and the sheets are a bit stiff and could be replaced since they looked well used. But overall i would give this resort a 9.5 out of 10. The AC unit was noisy the first night but then i realized that if i clicked it down one notch from High it quieted down to a soft humm and still kept the room plenty cool.

Room Tip: building 23 will give you the best views in the don pablo section. The top floor is the best even th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your remarks with us. We are satisfied to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful property and location, room, views, food and the services provided by our staff were up to par.

We appreciate your recommendations and we can assure you that they will be taken into consideration.

Thank you again for your collaboration; we look forward to host you in our property in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

It was my first time to Jamaica and can’t say I loved it but didn't dislike it either. We got our bracelets on the bus on the way there, so that was neat and saved a lot of time!

We got the Golden Club option which frankly doesn’t make a difference. The only things we got vs. the regular deal were guaranteed 5th floor room, 4 a la carte dinners instead of 3 and the lounge where you could use your computer. There is free WiFi in the lobby so no biggie, not worth paying for unless you get a deal.
The resort is big but nothing compared to some in Mexico, so don’t worry, it's not huge. The only downside is that the most accessible beach is the very windy pebble beach and the white sand beach is to the side of the resort.
Beware of the people dressed in white that want to give you the VIP package and breakfast presentation. I’m not sure what it is, but it didn’t sound very exciting to me. Probably some time share or something similar. But they are everywhere!

The good:
1. People – Those who worked at the resort are extremely courteous and friendly, they make the resort so much better!
2. Food - is amazing! Now, I didn’t dig into everything especially if I didn’t know what it was, but 99% of the time the food was delicious. The jerk chicken at the beach restaurant is a MUST! Beware of the hot sauces, they are extremely HOT!!! Scotch Bonnet peppers all the way! Not sure why all the desserts at all resorts always suck, here was no different.
3. A la Carte - Yes, Don Pablo is the best a la carte by far! Go if you can.
4. Grounds - Are absolutely beautiful, kept in pristine condition, very well groomed.
5. Beach - There are two lovely (but small) beaches, the white sand cove (on the left side of the resort) and the pebble cove. Both nice depending what you like. If you are a snorkeler, make sure you take your gear with you, there is quite a lot to see and the water is very clear. There seemed to be more snorkeling at the pebble beach. We never had problems with finding chairs although people do love to save chairs… please stop. It’s not very nice, especially when chairs stay empty for 3-4 hours.
6. Drinks – pretty good and can be very strong. :)
7. The best night show was the one with the band playing the steel drum. That was quite amazing!

The not so good:
1. This resort IS NOT all inclusive. It’s mostly all inclusive which defies the purpose of “all.” The safe costs $6 per night (!!!) for regular suites and $3 a night for Golden Club or VIP. Also, the international drinks cost anywhere from $3-$6 I believe, if not more, and that means anything imported. I wanted one of those coconuts with liquor in them one night, $5! So, no thank you. It’s not the end of the world but then don’t advertise all inclusive. I think that after you pay who knows how much for the trip, and then they ask for another $42 or $21 for the safe, it’s ridiculous!
2. There were times when we didn’t get towels, water, nor the 2 beers for the mini fridge (or all of the above) and we would have to call 3-4 times for someone to bring some (especially water). We asked for more than 2 beers every time but no matter how much tip we left or how nice our notes were, it didn’t happen. Maybe just bad luck I guess, I see some people had really nice rooms with caring maids.
3. Our room (16519) was quite ordinary, the walls were falling apart and there had been a leak which now caused ceiling pieces to constantly fall everywhere and get blown around by the fan… we were told twice someone would come to fix it… no such thing. The beds were kind of hard and so were the pillows (the stiff type). I liked that the room faced the sand beach, it was beautiful but it's right beside the nightly shows and it's VERY loud!!!
4. I tried to switch rooms, since that one was crappy, but it was such a hassle, I stopped trying.
5. The nightly shows are not that great and the disco, despite being the best one I’ve seen in a resort, the music seemed to be mostly local soka/reggae. If you like that, good but if you’re not a fan, maybe try more Appleton. :)

We went to Dunn’s River Falls and Green Grotto, it was amazing and I highly recommend them, in that order. Dunn’s Falls is an amazing experience you probably won’t easily find anywhere else and it’s less than 20 minute drive from the resort. The Green Grotto is very interesting and about 10 minute drive from the resort.

Overall, this resort is not a 5 star, is not all inclusive but the weather was great, the food was amazing, the people were super nice and the Appleton rum and the local beer was great for us so, it was nice, relaxing but not the most amazing experience I’ve ever had…
Would I go back? To Jamaica, yes. To Gran Bahia, no.

Room Tip: Don't take room 16519. :( It faces the main sand beach but it's falling apart and it's l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed the facilities, staff and services, lush manicured grounds, weather, beaches, food, local beverages and entertainment options.

It is with regret that we learnt, we couldn't impress you with the Golden Club inclusions. However, let us kindly inform you that in our official website appears the detailed information about what is included in our package and what it is not. This information is provided to allow our potential guests to know in advance, what would be available as an additional cost. Then again, we apologize for any inconveniences in that regards and also concerning the supply of room amenities. We assure you the situation you have described is not in way representative of our overall service. Please, rest assured that all your comments have been taken seriously and have been already forwarded to the relevant department’s heads in order to avoid the re-occurrence of such situations.

We will be more than happy if you would like to re-evaluate to give us the opportunity to host you again in our resort or in another of our chain in the future.

Yours respectfully,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fords
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

so we check in pretty fast, and the room was nice but when I went to shower they had one bottle of body wash and no conditioner for your hair.

Called the desk 2 days later I got more shower gel and they don't give out hair conditioner so bring your own.

The pool was beautiful..
The food was way off for me , had to wait for bacon in the morning and scrambled eggs were runny :( lots of fish but they don't tell you what kind.. Lots of property.

AND ONLY HAD MANGO'S ONE NIGHT AND THEY WERE GONE IN A FLASH ..
Very dark rooms, and the hallways .

The beach was beautiful and the speciality restaurants were nice but make sure you get an early reservation, otherwise the food looks like its been there all night .

Room Tip: higher then the 4th
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We are glad to know you have enjoyed the beach, specialty restaurants and pool. However, we regret we were not able to impress you with our performance.

In regards with the food, allow us kindly point out, all guests not only have the possibility to request to our chef, eggs prepared at the moment in their presence the way they like, but also it is through surveys that we have learnt the high level of satisfaction concerning the quality and variety of food according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires. Nevertheless, we deeply sorry our food services did not meet your expectations and these and all of your comments will be seriously taken into consideration.

Thank you for vacationing with us; we will be more than happy if you provide us the opportunity to regain your confidence in us.

Yours respectfully,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: Salt Coopers Villa, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Amex, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.