We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star describes the amenities...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Salt Coopers Villa, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“5 star describes the amenities...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is the fifth resort I've been to on the island. The buffet is always the same at all resorts.
I expected a lot for a five star resort but was quite disappointed. The party scene was average. The specialty restos lacked any local flavor which is what tourists want. If you're a first timer you might enjoy it. But there's very little Jamaican about it's quite generic. Get out and see this beautiful island try a bed and breakfast or rental property. The star rating often describes how many pools, bars, restos, gym basic amenities you would expect anyway... This is a DOMINICAN owned resort. Keep that in mind if you're looking for a taste of Jamaica. Oh and for a five star you would think WIFI was included. Not!

Room Tip: If you work up a sweat brushing your teeth like me be warned. This a huge resort. Lots of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention which will be taken serious into consideration. We sincerelly regret that we were not able to fulfill your expectations and we have taken good note about your suggestion to improve our " jamaican flavour " in our Resort.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,351
    2,097
    1,021
    498
    339
See reviews for
1,798
2,714
75
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,654)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a great time at this resort! The food, pool, and people are fantastic! The rooms can use a little bit of updating, and we were on the main floor and had some issues with mosquitoes, but other than that this resort was the perfect get away we were hoping for. Only 45 minutes from Montego Airport, is reputable, and is well known by all major tour guides there.

The food at the buffet was quite good, lots to choose from and they mix it up every day. They don't make much at their jobs so tip them at the buffet and they will definitely treat you well. The service we got after leaving a few bucks felt like fine dining.

If you're into snorkeling this is the resort you want to be at - the reef comes right up to the beach! The beach isn't great... I prefer soft white sand and this was more like rocky pebbles, but the brightly colored fishes and sting rays swim only a few inches away from the shoreline, and there is plenty more to see from the snack bar including crabs and sting rays.

The tour companies know plenty about the excursions - climbing Dunn's falls is amazing but take the catamaran option instead of the bus. And if you have the time, go to Somerset Fallls, Port Antonio, and the blue lagoon. It's a full day but SO worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of all our guests and we are happy to see that we have achieved this time with you.

Looking forward to welcome you at our Resort very soon.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouyn Noranda, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Grand complex. As a matter of fact, the premises although beautiful, were way too large for our liking. Walking to the beach took forever. Not easy for handicapped and elderly! The beach is man made peebles. Shoes are necessary to walk ,no sand. Beach is so so .
They are building an extra wing so they are selling units. They WILL TAKE YOU ON A TOUR and try to sell you a vacation package between $30,000. and $3000, and use most of a good day's vacation!
On the good side the place is beautiful, the food is great, the theater is conveniently located centrally around all the complex boutiques and there are a lot of them! And the pool is huge.

Great place for a wedding, there were at least five or six a day

Room Tip: If you want to be close to main desk and other amenities, Wi-Fi, bars, etc., ask for a room close o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of our General Manager and all Team Members at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica we thank you for your remarks and we look forward to host you in our property in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our grand daughter got married on the beach. When we got there our entire group was upgraded to the highest class possible which included rooms in the new addition, private pool area, our own bar by the pool, and four restaurant reservations. This was all at no cost to us at all. We all had full access to all of the resort features and had an absolutely wonderful time. We did two tours, Bob Marley, which was bus trip (worth the tour cost by its self) into the interior to visit his home, and a tour to Dunn River Falls. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The wedding went off without any problems, as did the wedding supper and dance. Overall a fantastic experience and we would return in in a heartbeat. Ten stars if possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest,
Receive very warm greetings from Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica.

It is a pleasure for us to learn that you were satisfied with your grand daughter s wedding and that you enjoyed not only this moment but also your stay with us in our new section.

We feel very proud to receive this kind of communications and in the name of our General Manager and all our staff Members we would like to say thank you for your time to share your opinion through Trip Advisor, so importan for us, and we would like also to remind you that we are at your disposal for any further request, assistance or information for a next visit to our Resort or others in our Bahia Principe chain.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Myself and my mother went from the January 14th to 21st to the Grand Bahia and we found the hotel to be amazing and the staff to be a delight. I am 25 and my mother is 60 and the hotel catered to both of our needs. The food was gorgeous and there is something for every taste. We ate in the japanese, grill and french. The grill was delicious and I am still dreaming of the surf and turf!!! mmmmm....
The staff made the trip. Everything was 'No problem'. Some weren't as pleasant as others but that's how different personalities go. I'll concentrate on the majority nit the minority.
Drinks were flowing, the dry martini could strip paint, and the coffee is magnificent.
We preferred the beach, the pool was a bit loud for us but not unbearable. no issue with getting beds, there seems to be a large supply.
Thank you Grand Bahia for a great trip and I hope we see you again in 2014!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so mcuh for your kind review shared through Trip Advisor and we are very glad to learn that we exceeded your expectations especailly with our meals and with the friendliness of our staff. We very appreciate your comments and we hope to see you very soon again.

Best regards,

Helena Gomez
Customer Sevice Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAUBEKA, WISCONSIN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

As many mentioned the grounds were beautiful. Our sea view room was OK but on one side of the very large balcony was a roof (21309). The balcony was also very dirty but we still used it so it could not be that bad...right? The TV in our room did not work but it would have been nice to watch after sun time and before dinner.
The main buffet was good but we liked the one nearest the beach...great jerk chicken at noon but get there on time as when it is gone, it is gone! We dined at their new Spanish restaurant, steak and Japanese. The Japanese was the best but really they were all good. Service was just ok. The waitresses were very accommodating but the bartenders, not so much.
My husband enjoyed a massage on the beach which he said was very good. He said his masseuse really knew how to work out the knots.
The beach was nice but far from our room. We did the beach in the am and pool pm-that worked great for us. The had some awesome Reggae bands too.
I'm more of a Mexico type of fan so probably won't go back. If you like laid back Jamaica this resort will fit you fine.

Room Tip: Definitely a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Receive cordial greetings from Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica.

First of all our apologies for the little issues experience in your room during your stay, we would like to assure you that we have taken very good note of them and they have been addresed to our Department heads to take the corrective measures. Thank you so much for letting us know.

By the other hand, it is also a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your vacations and beside those little events , you were satisfied with our servicies , especially our Restaurants a la Cart and our Snack on the beach.

Looking forward to host you again.
Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel was beautiful with a lot of nice amenities. We stayed there for 11 days for our wedding and honeymoon. The food was amazing and the staff very nice. I could write a short novel about all the great things and all 28 of our wedding guests loved it. My only advice is be prepared for a horrible, terrible check in process. Once you are checked in, you won't regret it. Every person in our group along with everyone we talked to had a horrible experience getting their room. Expect for it to take 2-3 hours once you get to the front desk until you get to your room. Once we finally got our room, it was occupied and we walked in on a guy in his underwear. The hotel didn't ever apologize or do anything to make up for it. That said, once you get past check in, you won't regret it. Our wedding was perfect, the hotel is beautiful and the food delicious.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are glad to know that you not only enjoyed the wedding but also your stay , however we would like to send you also our most sincere apologies regarding the check in process. We would like to inform you that of course, our guest’s opinion is very valuable for us and of course, we have addressed your comments to our Front Desk Director to make her aware about the situation mentioned and take the corrective measures to avoid these situations in the future.

Thank you so much for letting us know and helping as to improve our level of service with your comments and recommendations and we sincerely hope this issue does not tarnish your perception of our Resort, and you could give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future.


Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: Salt Coopers Villa, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.