We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go and ENJOY!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Salt Coopers Villa, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Runaway Bay
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just go and ENJOY!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just got back on the 17th of Nov; I went with my 2 young kids (3 years and 6 months), my wife and her brother's family (3 kids and his wife who is in a wheel chair). I read all the negative reviews and I wonder to myself was I at the same place?!?
-THE RESORT: was nice (nice pools, nice beach, nice bars, nice restaurants and nice lobby) a few renovations and changing the carpets in the hallways wouldn't hurt, but overall NICE.
-THE STAFF: were super nice, personable and always willing (Personally I thought they were a bit understaffed with the waiters but still nothing worth making a fuss about) DEAR TRAVELERS if you complain about service or rudeness how about you tip the hard working poor people and notice a 180 degree change (they live in a 3rd world country and this is how they put food on their tables). I had a mix up in my room and the issue was rectified by 'Ada' within 24 hours. Its not about having no problems, its about how you deal with them!!
-THE FOOD: my only complain is about the "a la carte" they were BAD. The buffet (was not great but average and surprisingly better than the a la cartes)...again my opinion
-THE ROOM was clean, well kept and always smelled great, no mosquitoes but very small insects here or there (again, Ill go back to the whole you're in a 3rd world country point).
-ENTERTAINMENT: Too much Bob Marley (no offence) but nice surprise bands and singers on a couple of occasions by the pool. The night shows were actually worth attending after a long day of being in the sun.

Go with a positive attitude, don't listen to the negative comments, mingle and have a great time with the staff and put yourself in their shoes and take care of them so they can do the same to you.

YA MON!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, we hope you had a nice trip back home and we really appreciate that you took your time to share your experience in Trip Advisor. Always our guest comments help us to improve our level of service. We cannot tell you how glad we are to learn that we reached your expectative. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,023 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,240
    2,005
    972
    480
    326
See reviews for
1678
2622
72
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,557)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I miss Janaica, my first time. Oct.30 came Nov. 6 went. I was amazed at the resort. the food was good, the rooms were exellent and the service was good. The daily and nightly events were out of this world. Special thanks to your entertainment team Antonia, Ronan, Kevin and all the others they treated us like Family and they gave it all 150%. Cheers to all of you.Your bar tenders are the best. We hope to return to Gran Bahia in the near future and i will definitley recommend Gran Bahia to all my friends. Thanks a million.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to apprecaite your comments. Our objective is always the maximum satisfaction for all our guests and we are glad to know that we could reach our goal with you. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming once again in our Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica to can say to you thank you personally.

Yours respectfuly,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have visited this property twice last year. The first time in December during winter break and the second in february for reading week. This Hotel is wicked! i am extremely picky with food and I have to tell you, From the Buffets to the A La Carte, Everything was clean and tasty! Huge Selection of food! One of the weeks I was there Celebrity Chef David Adjey was on the property and actually gave a cooking tutorial for those lucky guests . The head chef was present and these guys take pride in their work! Go there with an open mind and I guarantee you will not be dissapointed. Pool is gorgeous absolutely huge. BarTenders are super friendly over all the jamaican people are one of a kind! this hotel accommodates families just as well as it does couples and singles! I am so thrilled with the quality of service at this hotel I have booked again for this Winter break!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor; less bugs. Bring insect repellent and candles to reduce insect bites After...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Receive warm greetings from all the Staff working at Gran Bahía Príncipe Jamaica.

For us is marvelous read your review, we thank the time you spend for sharing with us your experience in our hotel just few days ago.

Reviews such as like yours are what motivate us as a team everyday to improve the quality of service that we offer and fulfill our commitment with customer satisfaction.

On behalf of our General Manager, we would like to remark that we will be more than happy to host you in our resort once again.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us for your next visit to our Resort, We hope to see you very soon…

Yours faithfully,


Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Whoever gave this place 4-5 stars was either paid by the resort or has never stayed anywhere other than an Econolodge. Staff is HORRIBLE. Food is bad. Drinks are bottom shelf. The pool is a weak attempt at college spring break with middle-aged folks. Tricked us into upgrading to GOLD. What a SCAM. Although the location is great, and the beaches are beautiful. DO NOT STAY HERE. We had a great time because we came with a great group, but the resort added NOTHING to the experience. BAD STAFF, BAD FOOD, BAD RESORT.

Room Tip: If is choose to stay here, which i wouldn't recommend, request a beach view. We have 3 rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest:

We would like to thank for taking the time to share your review trough Trip Advisor.

We are very concerned about your disappointing experience and we are sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations. Your opinion help us in our efforts to improve in some areas and take the corrective measures to be better.Thank you so much for helping us to improve in that sense.

We are committed with our guest, please receive our honest apologies for all the inconveniences during your stay and of course, we would like to have the opportunity to can host you and recover again your trust not only in our Resort but also in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just returned from a really great relaxing holiday at GBPJ and have read a couple of negative reviews about the hotel which bemuse us. Our (my wife and I) experience was one of happiness, friendliness and politeness from all staff at the hotel. Despite having to deal with some loud arrogant and ignorant people the staff remained polite and attentative. The best memory of the holiday is the attitude of the Jamaican people.
The hotel itself was good with a couple of minor issues i.e. running out of English tea bags at breakfast plus the odd "finishing touch".
The food was good whether in buffet or a la carte. There was a very varied menu breakfast lunch and dinner. A special mention for the jerk chicken centre and beach bar where the staff were absolutely great, Devon, Sheniah, Pauline, Marlene, Damian and all other staff made us feel so welcome!!!
On the beach we met with similar friendliness from the staff organising kayaks diving etc.
We made a decision not to use the tour operators, but to use local taxi's and were rewarded by Kevin (local taxi driver) with short off road excursions to experience the local culture and first hand history accounts. This was in addition to the main intended destinations.
In a nut shell - a great holiday (we intend to return). As the song goes WONDERFUL WORLD<
BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE. Dave and Julie Southampton England

Room Tip: Our room had a view looking across the pool into the beach/sea it was a great view to start the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Receive cordial greetings from Jamaica, on behalf of all our staff members of Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your experience with us. We sincerely appreciate that you have selected us.

It is a real pleasure perceives how much do you appreciate the Jamaican people culture, a big value in our service in constant improvement. We will presenting to our staff your special mention, they will be so happy!

Hoping to receive you again in near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any request or further information.


Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We arrived at the hotel on 25.11.12 for 4 night this hotel was not for Kids the adults was having Adult sexual fun broad day light in the pool instead of in their room. The food was not that good it got boring.The staff had no manners and the sale people tried to make you feel guilty for not buying there VIP rooms after 2 hours trying to sale VIP once you say no to the sale and received your free bottle of Rum and Rum Cream for coming they change their posh accent to Jamaican Slang lol we couldn't stop laughing. I travel a lot and I can surely advise not to take your kids there even though they had a Holiday Clubs for Kids the Kids Rep looked Bored lol. I would truly not return back there again But I did give a Tip to the cleaner who maintained the toilet she was lovely and was ready to chat an make you feel welcome, if I ran an hotel i would give her a job for Head reception because none of the receptionist had a smile or gave you eye contact. No Grand Bahia Principe for me or my Friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Receive cordial greetings from Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica.

It is indeed with great regret that we have learnt that we could not impress you with our Resort during your stay. We are very concerned to learn that we could not fullfil your expectations with our Kids Club and our Front Desk. We would like to inform you that we have already addressed your comments to our Magament and departments heads to take good note about your opinion and discuss those issues.Regarding the Privilage Club sellers we also addressed your review to their Managers, again our apologies for any inconveniences that this situation may you cause.

Thank you so much for helping us with your opinion to improve our services and of course for taking the time to share them with us.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Arrived at GBPJ October 28 for a week. This was our third visit to this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed it and look forward to returning sometime in the (hopefully) near future.

Beach and Pools: It is always a hard decision after breakfast whether to head to the beach or the quiet end of the pool but the beach won most times! I have no idea why some people say the things they do about the beach. It is beautiful, kept clean, and is sandy, safe and warm to swim in. The lifeguards keep a close watch on people and the swimming conditions and do not hesitate to change the warning flags or pleasantly let people know they shouldn’t be where they are and/or doing what they are doing is inappropriate. The beach was still being cleaned up after the hurricane and the staff were cheerfully working as hard as they could in the heat to make it nicer for their guests. There are other beaches for snorkeling or just sitting quietly. The pools and deck are big, kept clean and it is a beautiful area. Have never had a problem getting beach towels changed. If for some reason they have run out of clean ones we just go back later or the next day. – not a big deal. No complaints.

Rooms: We have now stayed in 3 different rooms with different views. We have never felt we needed to request a room change. This was the first time in the “Diamond” service. We had a beautiful room on the 5th floor overlooking our favourite sandy beach. Our room was clean with a king bed (which we had requested) and everything worked. We did notice there were only 2 bath towels in the bathroom so a couple of days we left a note for housekeeping to please leave us extra towels and they would. I think we must have had a different maid each day though as we found we needed to leave a note each morning with our requests for extra towels and extra water. No problem receiving them. It would have been nice to have met our maid(s) and known their names and this was the first visit that didn’t happen. Our room was kept clean and we had no mouldy smells or bugs. We have not experienced smells or bugs in our rooms on any of our visits to this particular hotel. The maids in the corridors were always friendly, smiling and happy to say hello, how are you. Yes, sometimes you notice a bit of wear and tear but that is normal when the hotel is not brand spanking new! Again, no complaints.

Food and Restaurant Service: We enjoy the buffet here more than any other hotel we have stayed at. There is plenty of variety and lots of different vegetables. We are vegetarian but do eat fish at this hotel as we like the way they cook it, and the variety of fish. I agree it is not always piping hot but it is buffet style so…. Also, if you walk around first to decide what you might want to eat before you actually begin filling your plate your food stays warmer. If you are looking for something, for example a banana for breakfast and there are none to be seen, a staff member will go to the kitchen and try to find one for you if you ask. They will always try to find what you are looking for but they may have run out, it may not be in season or it may be something they don’t offer. Staff were great as usual, lots of trainees that were giving good service. We were happy to see Kevan and Marcia still in the buffet for breakfast and lunch as they were there our previous visits and gave us a very warm welcome back, even though it had probably been close to 3 years since our last visit. They both always give great service with a smile and are very professional. We missed Raymond as we were told he now works in the A-la-carte’s. Can only comment on the Japanese A-la-carte (one visit at a regular table). We were disappointed as sake is no longer served and they don’t offer tofu as an alternative anymore but that’s OK things change. Can’t comment on Beach snack bar as we only stopped for French fries one day.

Bars: Friendly service (so my husband says as he usually spoils me and becomes my personal waiter) at the pools, lobby and snack bar. Beach bar by nude beach was great – I took my turn getting the drinks there. Colin is really good at his job and always looked directly at me when I ordered and I always left feeling happy from his lovely smiles.

The Rest: Grounds as beautiful as remembered. Lots of birds. Always someone working on the grounds and keeping the property clean and tidy. Saw the hallway carpets being vacuumed and even steam cleaned. They can only do so much cleaning up after everybody each day. Public bathrooms always clean, even at the beach. There were a lot more security personnel than before but they were friendly and I guess it helps the tourists feel safer.

We were not disappointed returning to GBPJ. We were welcomed “home”. We would like to thank all the staff for working so hard and for your smiles. We love the Jamaican’s as young and old look directly at you when talking to you, have lovely smiles and make you feel welcome. They appreciate tourists.

Thank to Marshalyn Dean for all she did to make our stay enjoyable. Thanks everyone for the smiling, courteous service you give and for your hard work at trying to please everyone from all walks of life. You all do a great job.

We stayed at a GBP property in Mexico a few weeks prior and it was not as clean, the food not as good nor the staff as friendly as the one in Jamaica.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

It is trully a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay and you appreciate our hard work and efforts to make our guests stay the best as possible ... specially thank you for your congratulations to our Public Relation Executive, Mrs. Dean. We feel very proud and glad .


We hope to can have the opportunity to host you very soon once again and please for your next visit do not hesitate to get in touch with us for any special request or assistance. We will be more than happy to can assist you.


Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: Salt Coopers Villa, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.