We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service, amazing honeymoon!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Salt Coopers. Runaway Bay. Jamaica | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint John
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous service, amazing honeymoon!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This resort was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon. A couple of things to note if you stay here: the buffet lunch and dinner is hit or miss. We ate mostly at the snack bar for lunch (amazing jerk spread there!) and we just crossed our fingers if we had to go to the buffet at dinner. Sometimes it was great and sometimes it was terrible. The a la carte restaurants WERE AMAZING!!!!

The resort is huge and sometimes getting around is annoying because of the sheer vastness of the place, but it's not a deal breaker. For the money, this resort is excellent and the staff were truly wonderful. We loved everyone we met, they were incredible.

The weather was gorgeous and we went in the "off season" absolutely wonderfully hot and sunny.

I don't understand the negative experiences here we had a marvelous time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thenk you so much for taking your time to let us know your expereince and about all your suggestions regarding our meal services in our Buffet. We are very appreciative of these comments and we have been taken good note of the to address them inmediatlyto our departments heads to discuss this situation and look for the corrective measures. As you know, only through this kind of comunications we have the opportunity to evaluate and improve our facilities.

In the name of our General Manager and all our Staff Members we are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to host you again in the future.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,666
    2,451
    1,204
    571
    387
See reviews for
2,051
3,147
93
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,046)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I love this place. Me and my mother had a fantastic relaxing time. I really have no complaints. Plan on taking the kids back next year. Only thing I did not like was that the buffet was not open 24 hours.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear guest,

It is trully a pleasure for us to learn that you hada great time with us and you were satisfied with our services and facilities. Of course we will be more than happy and we are looking forward to can host you the next year with all your family.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I visited this hotel in June 2012 with my husband to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We had a great trip! The resort is beautiful, people were friendly and all the food was yummy. My problem with the trip started after I got home when I started having terrible stomach problems and was eventually diagnosed with an intestional parasite. It's terrible. I only ate or drank on the resort (except for one small sandwich at the airport that my husband and I shared--he's ok!). I did brush my teeth with the tap water so that might have been where I got it. I usually don't do this but I was assured by everyone that it was very safe! Anyway, enjoy the resort and have a wonderful trip but don't let the tap or shower water get in your mouth, and avoid things that may have been washed in tap water or look shady. I guess it's hard to know where I picked it up, so it's hard to avoid. Just wanted to let everyone know in case I could help someone avoid getting this (still fighting it three months later)>

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear guest,

Receive cordial greetings from Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica.


It is truly a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay and you wer very satisfied with our services and facilities, we are very appreciative of your comments and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share them with us.

However we deeply regret to learn that you had some stomach problems. Please kindly note that we work with a well establish health and safety company, Cristal, which is managed on a daily basis and ensures the maximum safety of our guests and employees. On all our monthly assessments, excellent results are received. Along with Cristal, we have our own health department which carries out daily assessments.

Our guests’ health and well-being are our top priorities. We work with established hygiene and sanitation standards, which are monitored continuously. Please kindly note that we did not find any record regarding a stomach problems during these days in our property.

According to Jamaican Public Health, it is recommend always keeping daily hands hygiene especially before eating because in our skin there is an organism that if it is ingested or on contact with food produces such stomach disorders.

On behalf of our General Manager and all ours Staff Members we would like to thank you for vacationing with us and we hope that for your next visit to Jamaica you could give us the opportunity to can host you again in our Resort.

Yours faithfully,


Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manitoba
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

my husband and i went to gbh first time for our 40th anniversary we have gone back 4 times since and we are both looking forward to going back for the 5th love love love the staff if u treat them with respect u will get it back 10 fold cant say enough about the buffet and the beautiful people that keep it running Wayne, Lamont to mention a couple both very very beautiful people Marlene at pices u go girl always a smile and a wonderful greeting havent had a bad room yet be back soon a Jacadian

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear guest,

It is trully a pleasure to learn that you have been always satisfied with our facilities every time you visit us. Thanks you so much for your kind reviews and please do not hesitate to get in touch with us for any further request or information for your next visits.

Looking foward to host you again very soon..

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, FL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My stay was mostly business from 9/20 to 9/22/12. I loved the lobby and the property had some beautiful views. The food was good; plenty to choose from and the rooms were clean (although I did notice a couple baby roaches...looked-like.?). The beds were hard for my liking. The staff was friendly & overall I had a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Receive very cordial greetings from Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica.

We would like to acknowledge that we have received your good reviews through Trip Advisor and we would liek to express our gratitude regarding your good comments.

On behalf of our General Manager and all our staff Members we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we hope to have the pleasure to can host you in the future.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Excellent resort, people very friendly and funny ... everything was NO PROBLEM.
The rooms were clean and pretty big. The fridge was replenished daily with beer, water and pop. We requested few things from our housekeepers and they responded in a timely manner (thanks Gloria and Olive)
The beach, plenty of beach chairs and shade (much needed), also very clean and you had the chance to go to the other beach for snorkeling (highly recommended)
Restaurants ... OMG excellent specially Grill and Japanese "keep up the good cooking" Plenty of choices for any picky eater.
Swimming pools, good but I would set up a couple of automatic vacuums to work at night ... they need a little clean.

Room Tip: DO NOT Stay in the first floor ... the mosquitoes will eat you alive .... the sprayed our room twice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guest,

It is trully a pleasure to learn that you were satisfied with our Resort and specially with our services in general and staff.

Of course, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing these comments with us and for taking your time to do it.

Sincerelly we hope in your next visit to Jamaica, you could give us the opportunity to can host you again.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

OK where to start? Checking in to our hotel on the bus, was a very nice touch. We had a lovely welcome at our hotel, Then escorted to room 11609, Excellent start. Our pool view room was beautiful, it had everything you need, lovely bathroom and the view from the balcony doors was absolutely superb. There is quite a few mosquito's so don't forget your repellent! Our room was cleaned daily, we left a tip every day for the maid and it was well deserved.The room was spotless. She left Pringle's and extra beer, with some very creative towel art. Also heard stories of thefts, was a little worried with our valuables, we didn't pay for a safe and had no problems at all. The food and restaurants were excellent, breakfast was fantastic, everything you could want. Full English breakfasts and help yourself to tea and coffee or wait to be served. Evening buffet always very nice and always something to choose from. Chinese night was my favourite. During the day we went to the jerk centre, beautifully cooked chicken, salads, breads, pizzas and burgers as well as lots of other options. The jerk hut looked out onto beach and was very nice. The first morning after our welcome meeting (which was entertaining and fun) we booked all our a la carte restaurants there and then with no problems. Japenese was delicious, Steak House was very nice, Italian, the missus loved it but it was just ok for me The A La Carte was superb . Bars, the lobby bar had some nice music and singers entertaining you whilst sipping kamikazee cocktails which was my favourite and red stripe on an evening - very very nice atmosphere. Activity pool bar where we hung out could get a little loud but the other pools had a quieter pool bar. Big thankyou to Jerome and the guys.They were fantastic all day. Sports Bar was fine, small but done the job, Beach Bar at the other end of the beach, again small, but enough. Daily Entertainment team worked tirelessly day and night and was brilliant just to watch or get involved if you wanted. On evenings at the pueblo principe there are shops and evening entertainment A lot of laughs. When the shows finished there was the karaoke bar which was a lot of fun, then the disco, It wasn't busy but if you wanted a late night night it was there for you. There are plenty of shops for gifts to take home not expensive but not cheap either, The Staff, wow! From our Thomas Cook staff who are there daily to daytime pool entertainment, from the smiling helpful staff at the restaurants who were always singing as they worked to the lobby bar staff were all just superb. The Beach to the left of the hotel next to the jerk hut was really nice,sandy beach, beautiful warm Caribbean waters and plenty of shade if you want it. Snorkelling was the only down side for me, I still snorkled every day, at the top of the beach by the beach bar was the best, some rays, angels and the odd barracuda but ive been spoilt as ive been 5 times to the Red sea so didn't expect to much. Excursions, the cool runnings trip is a must!!! Dunns River Falls is a must!!! it was fantastic, again a bit loud on the way back but a good laugh.Nine Mile Bob Marley trip was everything and more and saw the real Jamaica.All in all it was a fabulous holiday, read this and go! You will love it, we are returning in 2014, we have never returned to the same hotel and we have had some fabulous holidays, Its just something we have never done. Back to the red sea next year then THE GRAND BAHIA PRINCIPE!!! IRIE
Hope this helps
YEAH MON

Gary and Doreen

Room Tip: we had room 11609. Top floor front of hotel, amazing views of the whole pool and carribean sea. Ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Definitelly, it is an honor for us to leran that we will be the first hotel where you will return. We are very proud to learn that and we really apprecaite your kind reviews.

In the name of our General Manager and all our staff Members we woulod like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience trought Trip Advisor and we are lookimg foward to host you again.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: Salt Coopers. Runaway Bay. Jamaica | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 812
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 8 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 850 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.