We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Inclusive Gran Bahai Principe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Salt Coopers Villa, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Runaway Bay
Toronto
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“All Inclusive Gran Bahai Principe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

We just spent 7 days at the Gran BP in Run- Away-Bay, Jamaica
The resort has 767 rooms each one a suite. Very clean and the
balcony views were awesome in most rooms. One and a half
hour drive from the Airport. Air Transat Vacations reps met us
at the airport, they had already booked us into our rooms - no
line ups to check in. Because our flight arrived at 10pm and the
drive to the hotel put us arriving near Midnight, the hotel kept one
of the
restuarants open so we could have a meal upon arrival.
It's true that the hotel has a rooster that roams around the grounds at will. Security was very tight at the BP. Even on the beaches. 4 beaches in total, one a nude beach fenced off away
from the public side. 4 pools and 2 swim up bars, staff had
daily entertainment at the pool and on the beach. Food was very
good and the hours great for any schedule.
The resort has a sports bar, disco, casino and shops that are
resonably priced.

We would recommend this resort to anyone. Awesome time in
Jamaica (no problem mon!)

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,958 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,211
    1,985
    960
    479
    323
See reviews for
1655
2599
71
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iceland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

I stayed there for 8 nights with my family and we had a very plesant stay, the jamaican people are so frendly and most of the staff was great, the food was amazing! and the rooms and the pool where in superb condition.

This is a 5 star hotel with all its qualitys, we saw other hotels on the Island and we where quite shocked, this is really the only place to stay if you go to jamaica, and a tip is always apreciated from the staff.

The only thing I didnt like was that the great staff didnt get paid overtime, the owners of the hotel should realy take a look at this, its a disgrace!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

My lady and I stayed here the week of october 15 through 20th.
What an awesome experience. Like most I was very hesitate about booking this property after reading some of the reviews.
However, we did our homework and booked this trip. The property is breathetaking from the resort's entrance to the beaches overlooking the caribbean sea. The food was outstanding. Not what you would normally find at a all inclusive
caribbean resort. From the buffet to all the specialty restuarants.
The shops on the property are designed like a mini outlet mall,
with very good prices on everything. During the ride over from the
airport their were multiple conversations by severals travelers bragging about how much they spent and how nice their propertys were but when we arrived at gran bahia to the person
their mouths drop opened and asked," who is staying here". My lady and I looked at each smiled and replied we are. Then I told them the great deal that we paid through bookit.com. Several of them got of the bus to take a better look. But this was understandable, because from the property entrance, the lobby, the large suites with marble baths you saw elegance. The out door swimming pool was the largest and best that I have ever experienced. Ladies and gents this is truthfully a four star property. I travel alot about four to six times a year. I have visited all the hawaiian islands, most of the caribbean and west indies islands, the dutch antilles, mexico and the south pacific. Bottom line I seen and enjoyed alot of property's you Will enjoy the gran bahia principe. If Jamaica is your travel destination stay at the gran bahia. During your stay on the island you will see alot of the other hotels and resorts after those visuals you will be glad you stayed at the Gran bahia.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

The hotel is beautiful looking and the rooms a large and nicely appointed. The problem is with the horrible service. Twice in 4 days my room was cleaned but no towels were in the room. The resort is huge but they have not staffed it properly. Several times there were not enough staff where breakfast was being served. I found it strange that the only official language in Jamaica is English yet all the hotel literature has Spanish as the first language. When we received restaurant reservation slip, it was entirely in Spanish! Jamaica has a strong and distinctive culture and there is no reflection of it at this resort. I have been to Jamaica several time and at each resort the entertainment and food were Jamaican. The hotel room doors have no peep hole which I found quite strange! The most troubling aspect was the fact that all the management of the hotel was Spanish and workers Jamaican. A few times I saw staff being publicly berated by a Spanish supervisor. I feel bad the employees at this Hotel! A lot of them are overworked and treated poorly.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2007

I booked this holiday through Directholidays.com and got what I felt was a more than fair price for this hotel. We upgraded to premier service on the plane and we would certainly recommend that.

We were greeted with a drink and the ever-present smiles when we first arrived at the hotel and check in was very fast and problem free, our cases arrived within minutes, the porter was very polite and friendly. The first room was clean and the furnishings like new but we were overlooking the shopping centre so we changed rooms on the second day without any hassle at all. We got a room on the sixth floor (which is what we asked for) with a direct view of the pool and the sea, again in very good condition.

We enjoyed the food in the buffet restaurant and visited the Grill and the Japanese restaurant which we also enjoyed very much so no problems whatsoever with the food. We tended to visit the beach snack bar for lunch and were delighted with the food and the service there too, there is a barbecue down the steps from the snack bar several times a week, I don't know why its not more widely publicised. We had read reviews where people had had to wait a long time for drinks but we had no such problems in any of the restaurants, as soon as we sat down we were poured water and asked for our bar orders.

During the day we used the beach by the gazebo as, although it was more rocky, we were bitten when we used the main beach. It was also close enough to the snack bar to get a fanta every hour to make sure we didn't dehydrate in the lovely sunshine. We had a couple of days of cloud and some rain but it was so warm we weren't disappointed and usually the rain cleared up within half an hour or so. We had no problems getting sunbeds and umbrellas on the beach whatever time we went but if you want an umbrella by the pool I would suggest you are there before 9 am.

We took out kayaks and pedallos but didn't bother with the catamarans as it was breezy and we had seen at least one catamaran get into trouble on the reefs each day. We hadn't upgraded to gold, but these were part of the all inclusive package. We tended to snorkle each day and saw loads of fish and one day a whole family of cuttle fish. My husband is a keen angler and had taken a telescopic fishing rod, he fished from the rocks several days and although he usually threw all he caught back, one day he saved his catch and handed it to Denzel for his dinner. Denzil was absolutely delighted!

We enjoyed three trips (see the photos), the Cool Runnings boat trip to Dunns River Falls which was great (our coach driver, Marlon Brando, was a scream"), the H'Evans Scent trip where we glided down the main zip wire (exhilarating) and drove quad bikes - it was a rainy afternoon and we got filthy but the laundry service at the hotel was cheap, quick and very good. However, our favourite trip by far was the Chukka Cove horseriding trip where we trekked and swam with the horses. There is a similar trip (Hooves?) where guests only got five minutes in the water but we were in the water for at least 20 minues, probably half an hour, and we didn't stop laughing all the time we were in there. One horse was actually swimming and the guides were doing circus tricks on their horses. I can heartily recommend it.

We have stayed all over the world and enjoyed excellent service but the service we received from the staff at this hotel was so amiable, friendly and smiley that it was a joy to be served by them. Our favourite barmen were Evrol in the Lobby Bar and Antonio in the Daiqueri Bar. The karioki bar was fun too.

On the down side, the hotel works on a one week cycle so if you are there for two weeks, after the first week you will find the food is exactly the same, and unbelievably, the shows are exactly the same. The shows are of a poor standard to be honest and if you don't enjoy watching dancing you're in for a disappointment.

We took the instructions from this website on how to use the safe and that saved us a great deal of money for tips so thank you very much for that Trip Advisors! We only once were short of towels and they arrived within the hour of letting reception know. We also had a problem with the mini bar which was sorted very quickly and maintenance sorted out our blocked toilet straight away. We tended to tip our maid $1 every day rather than at the end of our stay and left a tip whenever we had had good service but don't believe the service would have been worse had we not tipped.

If the hotel asked me for recommendations for improvements I would suggest their building programme includes another bar for the evenings and that perhaps it would be a good idea to make the resort adults only. Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday here, would recommend both the hotel and the island to anyone, and would return again!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Occasionally the corridors needed cleaning
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

We were indeed pampered at the Gran Bahia Principe in Jamaica...This was our first trip to the Jamaica...so grateful to our travel agent for recommending this new property. It's excellent...new...elegant...the rooms are just as exquisite as shown it the photos.
The grounds and gardens and the beach are excellent.
The staff were amazing...we enjoyed them and their eagerness to make our stay 'the best"...Before we even arrived to hotel we had our gold wrist bands on and were all ready to begin our days of luxury!!!...no hassles...We were met with that delightful, warm Jamaican welcome! It was "hugs" along with the good-bye at the end of our 7 days...we'd love to return...we are delighted with this "find"!!!!

  • Liked — The elegance plus the gardens/greenery and The Staff!!!!!
  • Disliked — There was no significant disappointment; we would have liked more opportunity to use our allowed # of ala carte meals...they were heavily booked but still enjoyed the buffet so it wasn't a really big loss to us.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

Like others read the reviews previously and was a little concerned - but we had the time of our lives at Gran Bahia - first time on all inclusive.

My wife and I travelled with my wife and daughter (18 years), we arrived after a 10 hour flight with Thompson (possibly one of the most comfortable long haul flights we have been on - plenty of leg room, entertainment and quality of meals served).

The check-in was smooth and simple. The room was fabulous size, everything worked, the room was well serviced daily as was the mini bar fridge and toiletries - it was also very quiet (15206) at all times. The a/c worked extremely well - wow you really need it!

The meals were well prepared and served, we ate in all the outlets. The quality of the food was fine to excellent - Breakfast was our favourite meal of the day - the choice was fabulous, nothing ran out and we had bucks fizz daily!

The bars were all great, service varied between the pool bar, main bar and beach bars. Service was quick - only negative was the spirits served were local and not branded - small issue really.

Other guests included Americans, Canadians, Spanish and Portugese.

In terms of all inclusive - it really did include the lot - from bar drinks, snacks, meals, wine with meals, sailing, pedlo, snorkelling...etc.

Jamaican people were great and very friendly, thought the staff were very warm and very well presented.

The setting was fabulous, loads to do, the swimming pool - is one the largest I have ever seen...the staff were continually seen cleaning - the place was very well kept.

The beach (although man-made) was fab - no issues, staff even on the beach clearing up any washed up seaweed!

We went on the Dunns Falls excursion - excellent day out, the DVD cost $40, just seen it at home and well worth it! Also went to swim with Dolphins - they say it is one thing that you need to do before you die - they are right! Again we paid for the DVD - cost $49 and although we were with a group of 8 others, we asked for the DVD to be of our family of three only and they obliged!

Overall, one of the the best weeks we have spent - so would definately recommend, would definately go back to Jamaica and would definately use the Gran Bahia group again.

  • Liked — Quality and choice of meals, choice of facilities on site, all inclusive really meant all inclusive
  • Disliked — Local branded spirits served in bars, mosquito's
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: Salt Coopers Villa, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.