We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel in a quaint area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piper's Cove Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Piper's Cove Resort to your Saves list
Piper's Cove Resort
Salem, Runaway Bay Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Runaway Bay B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel in a quaint area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Piper's Cove is off the main highway and next to the sign labeled Jewel's Cove which is the resort next to it. The hotel is as expected for the price and offers a budget traveler a nice option for a place to stay. The staff is super friendly and were helpful to give local tips regarding the area. The room was as expected and clean. Do not expect "resort-like" amenities but enjoy a quaint hotel with peace of mind. Wifi is available at no extra cost and the hotel touts a decent sized pool and area which connects to the beach. There is a local Jamaican eatery across the main street called "Jam Dung" which has excellent chicken foot soup (better than the stuff they push in a cart). We stayed at the hotel for only 2 days but were pleased by the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piperscove, Front Office Manager at Piper's Cove Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely wish to thank you for having made this review. Your opinion is most valued. May the authentic Jamaican experience you indicated always remind you of us and those within our local community with whom you interacted as we look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    27
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
38
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed again at pipers for another wonderful stay over new years...

Clean and peaceful except for a couple of children screaming for dear life the last few days of my stay very unpleasant!!!

Otherwise always to expect the best personal service, helpful staff, very accommodating hostess Miss chin , Beres, Diane, Verona, Oswald, and the rest if I have forgotten...cheers to a wonderful bunch of "classy" beautiful people!! Pipers best of the best!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piperscove, General Manager at Piper's Cove Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us again and for bringing such positive vibes to the property and the Pipers Cove family.

We look forward to your continued visits and sincerely wish for you a wonderful 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Piper's Cove was the second hotel of five my partner and I stayed at during our two week trip to Jamaica. To be honest, we had low expectations of the hotel in comparison to the others we had booked. Finding it wasn't easy and the sign directing us to its location left a lot to be desired but on arrival were pleasantly surprised. The grounds are beautiful and you have the immediate sense of being in a remote secret getaway, a sharp contrast to the busy A road you turn off to get to it. It is gated and quiet with a small number of apartment style blocks. The reception is small and homely with a sparse games room, which seemed a little ill-suited to style of the hotel, on one side and an unused dining area on the other. The staff was very welcoming.

Our room/apartment (B3) was lovely: high ceilings, very spacious bedroom, a kitchen/lounge area with a small dining table and could have easily accommodated another two people. The space was clean, the bedroom had a powerful air conditioner and fans for the other rooms (which was fine in November though I suspect they're not cool enough when it's hotter (Jan-Apr)), mosquito nets covered the windows and it was clear significant improvements had been made since the poor reviews here on Trip Advisor. The kitchen contained a toaster, basic utensils, an iron and ironing board and coffee filter and complimentary coffee (though we would have preferred a kettle and complimentary tea bags - being British and all!) also a dish cloth would have been helpful. Wifi was also available in the room but it was a little temperamental and could turn off at any moment. There was no overhead light in the bedroom which made it really hard to see with just the side lights when the sunset, especially when we went as it set earlier at about 5.00pm. Plus with the bedroom being overlooked it meant we had to have the curtains drawn most of the time (just in case) which made it difficult to see in the mornings too! The apartment also boosted a sea view which it had but it also overlooked an unattractive plot of land next to the hotel and was overlooked by the other apartments opposite, making it feel a little less private. Luckily while we were there it was out of season so we were able to enjoy the view as no one was staying opposite. Finally, with regard to the room, B3 is located in a block which also has high ceilings. I'm guessing birds sometimes get trapped here as both mornings of our stay we left our room to find bird droppings on the door and landing. It was usually cleaned up by the time we left but just worth knowing.

In terms of some of the other cons, as other reviewers have pointed out, this is certainly not a resort and the 'beach' is not a real beach, it is a tiny addition to the pool area with minimal sand that provides direct access to the sea which is lovely but only has space for two sun loungers (some of the pictures are a bit misleading - it's smaller!). Again this was great for us as a couple going out of season as we had the whole area to ourselves but if you're a family or large group going during peak season I don't think this will cut it if you hoping to lounge on a beach without going too far. Disappointingly Piper's Cove's 'beach' does overlook a much nicer, larger, sandy beach which belongs to another hotel.

As breakfast was not included we did have to pay separately for this and we ordered lunch during our stay, both as room service. We found that food was very overpriced for what we got which was ultimately on the small side and of homemade standard, though very nice all the same. If you're looking for somewhere to eat for breakfast, lunch or dinner, I'd recommend not ordering from the hotel and instead venturing out, turning left on the main road and visiting the eateries which are 10-15min walk away. If you have a car and want something really tasty, then the Ultimate Jerk Centre is a must for meat lover s (turn right on the main road) or Sharkies (turn left) for the best seafood. For a starter and main plus drinks for two people, we spent approx. US$ 55 at Sharkies.

During our stay here we did the Horseback Ride 'N' Swim activity with Chukka which we tried to organise through the hotel. Initially Chukka had offered to pick up from the hotel and then refused when we said we wanted to pay when we arrived and that there were only two of us. This was a great activity nevertheless; definitely recommend it for novice horse riders but it is about 20 min drive away and I personally don't trust the public transport!

All in all this is a great budget hotel (minus the food) and I'd recommend staying here if you're looking for somewhere quiet with nice surrounds but are happy to venture out for food and things to do. Also I'd recommend having a car if you want to stay here as there are only really shops/supermarkets/places to eat in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piperscove, General Manager at Piper's Cove Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write such a fulsome review of our property.

We appreciated your description of our beautiful gardens, cleanliness of the property, friendliness of our staff and the highlighting of our hotel. Improving the quality of our product is very essential and ongoing goal for us, therefore we thank you for your input.

We are physically limited by the size of our beach which is man-made and situated in a cove unlike the natural beach which was referred to. Although the area is small it does adequately accommodate our guests who wish to use it.

It is our policy to assist our guests in arranging services which are not available at the hotel. For example we learnt of your difficulty with the tour companies policy and was able to assist on short notice with your tour, to which you stated you enjoyed..

Although we have an appreciation for your personal opinion about your meals, we consider peoples opinion about food & pricing as highly individualistic (our menu items ranges from US$4.50-US$15.00 per person + tax) which is considered average.

Pipers Cove believes in exposing our guests to the diverse offerings of the local community and do encourage our guests to patronize the local restaurants, entertainment and gym to name a few.

Once again we thank you for your visit and a most helpful and insightful. review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Mrs. Chinn refused to give me a single coffee bag on the 5th and last day of our stay. I understand she has to work within a budget but we were paying a significant sum in the off season and I felt I should be able to have a cup of coffee in the morning. So for one bag she started a big fight and lost our business forever!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piperscove, General Manager at Piper's Cove Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely regret very much that a difference in opinion as to your sense of entitlement was viewed as a fight.

We value each and everyone who visits us at Pipers Cove especially when we are aware that you have other choices, therefore we understand that you have chosen to exercise that choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed at Pipers Cove as part of a wedding party and we have a great time. We we relaxed and content. The rooms with modern and well kept. We were able to prepare our own meals and have parking for our vehicles. The outside view was great.
I really loved that it was close enough to residential homes since I have family in that area - but also wanted to have that vacation feel.

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Piper's Cove May 7-15th, 2013 and was very pleased. Ms. Chin, the owner, is a most humble and accommodating hostess along with Latoya who can always be found at the front desk smiling and very willing to help in any way possible.
Firstly, the grounds are kept immaculate, the rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. Some of the rooms are 1 bedroom apartments with a full kitchen, living room, dining room, bathroom, bedroom and a small balcony, there are also studio apartments. Some have ocean views and others have garden views. There is a kitchen on the property where you can order meals if you do not feel like venturing out. There is a small pool to take a dip/swim in along with a small beach area. This was our 2nd wedding anniversary and we were looking for peace and quiet and we sure found it at Piper's Cove ;-) ;-). I must say that every staff member was courteous, pleasant and very willing to help in any way. We want to thank Ms. Chin, LaToya, Beres, Dianne, the 2 wonderful women who cooked our meals along with the rest of the staff for everything. Beres, hugs and kisses to you darling for all that you did for us.
When ready to venture out there is a beautifully clean and wonderful beach within walking distance called Flavours Beach and there is a bar/restaurant right there and the food is pretty good. If you take public transport (van) into the town of Ocho Rios it is dirt cheap and takes about 20-25 minutes to get there and you can pick up your souvenirs, etc. A very short drive from the hotel you will find small stores and small supermarkets (L&M was my favorite). Of course, there are places to get good jerk, I liked Scotchie's Jerk Centre but did NOT like Ultimate Jerk Centre.
If you are not looking for the run of the mill all-inclusive, activity ridden type place and prefer a simple, small, quiet and personable hotel then please give Ms. Chin and LaToya a call, they will only be too happy to answer any questions you may have. Also, feel free to contact me if you have any questions regarding my review.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Mrs Chinn is truly a Gem!!
I've stayed at Pipers cove several times over the past couple of years and recently I married the love of my life there. It was soooooooo pretty!
Mrs Chinn and her staff were outstanding. She worked with me and helped me to have a beautiful ceremony and stay within my budget. It is quite a challange to plan and arrange a wedding and not be there to be "hands on". But Mrs Chin made it happen!

Pipers Cove is a wonderful place to stay if you want to just chill and wind down. It's not party central or a place where kids can go go all day. But it is a place where you can depend on a clean bed, good food and a wonderful caring staff!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piper's Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piper's Cove Resort

Address: Salem, Runaway Bay Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piper's Cove is a tranquil ocean view resort located in a Cove along the magnificent Runaway Bay north coast 1n Jamaica . Warm, sunny tropical days with brilliant sunsets are the norm, with cool evenings and star filled nights. This unique property is family owned.It provides the perfect destination for your vacation. The hotel offers 14 spacious one bedroom Apartments, some with ocean or garden view, and 6 Studio Rooms with a view of the mountain. All are equipped for self-catering (kitchenette with refrigerator, stove and cooking utensils),air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, intercom telephone and a patio. Free WiFi is available on property and in all guest rooms. A Restaurant (meals are prepared to order), Bar, Small Private Beach for relaxation & leisure,Swimming Pool are on property. Delicious, fresh and healthy Caribbean cuisine is the specialty of our culinary staff, featuring lots of seafood and delectable native fruits. If you have some particular preferences or dietary requirements, don't hesitate to ask. Our friendly staff always aim to please. Be sure to sample our special tropical drinks and Jamaica's world renowned rum. We take great pleasure in hosting your special occasions including Weddings, Receptions, Family Reunions, Luncheons & Parties. Piper's Cove is 60 minutes from the Montego Bay Airport, 25 minutes from Ocho Rios and Dunn's River Falls and close to many other attractions and entertainment for which we offer tours. Airport transfer can be arranged.At Piper's Cove Resort our guests set the pace for their vacation. Just let us know your speed... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Piper's Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piper`s Cove Hotel Runaway Bay
Piper's Cove Resort Jamaica/Runaway Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piper's Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.