We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Salt Coopers. Runaway Bay. Jamaica, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were here from Jan. 6th to Jan. 13th.
We HIGHLY recommend that you upgrade to the Don Pablo area of the hotel. The extras are outstanding. We loved the special lounges, and pool area that we had access too. We were quite impressed with the restaurants that we had access too as well.
We had a great time here, and were able to spend some relaxing time. The staff is amazing and will bend over backwards to make you happy. The food was great, and the grounds were immaculate. The rooms were really well kept, and very clean. The ocean views are spectacular...
I only have 1 issue with the entire resort... AND that is with how much and OFTEN that they were bugging us to sign up and take a 'tour" or the resort... they "guaranteed" that it would only take 90 minutes of our time, yada yada yada... which in fact it took 3 HOURS. And at this point they were not willing to give up.. after they had stressed over and over, that once we said "no" that was it... NOT SO! They even went so far to call ahead to our Spa appointment and tell them, that we were going to be late for our massages....???!!!??? Not COOL.

SO whatever you do (unless you are willing to drop the $27 thousand dollars... of which you can pay 50% up front) just IGNORE their spiel about signing up. Its a total waste of time and energy. I mean how much is a beach bag worth anyway??
I get it that they are expanding and that they are very excited about it, but... i just can't share in their enthusiasm...

Room Tip: wing 24 was amazing. we had 6th floor, and the views were unreal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is thrilling to hear that we have played such an integral role to provide you a memorable vacation. Your comments about our service, drinks, swimming pool area, and overall the acommodating and friendliness of our staff mean a lot to our team.

Thank you for your recommendation to other possible guests and for choosing our Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica; we can't wait to host you again on your next trip to Jamaica.

Best regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    152
    52
    14
    13
See reviews for
64
353
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed for 5 days, and really wanted to stay longer! The Don Pablo upgrade is the way to go. The private check in with champagne was a perfect start, all our a la carte dinners were pre-booked for us, and anything we needed, the butler service was just a phone call away. The private section of the pool was fantastic and the staff made sure we were very well looked after. I was very impressed with the food. We had our breakfasts at both the Picasso, and Palmyra Buffet. Richard and staff at the Picasso were wonderful and very attentive. The Palmyra Buffet (whether for breakfast lunch or dinner) had lots of choice and again the staff were all very attentive. Also, I don't eat meat (chicken, pork, beef etc.) and there were lots of vegetable and fish options. The Don Pablo lounge was great place to check our e-mails (unlimited Wi-Fi) and have cocktails. It was usually very quiet, so if you are more into "people watching" the terrace bar has more happening, but doesn't have the "Don Pablo" level service. All of the staff, all over the resort were very friendly.
We only have 2 complaints (though very minor) 1: the elevators are a little slow, and 2: one night we ordered room service (after a long day trip didn't feel like going for dinner) and it took a lot longer than the 45 minutes we were told.
Considering all of the positive things about our trip, these 2 things seem very minor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. After reading it we can realize that we were able to impress you with most of our services during your stay, and we have provided you a memorable vacation in our Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection.

Thank you for vacationing with us. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to host you soon in our property

Best regards,

Marvelis Symister
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great experience overall, service was top notch, staff was always very attentive. Weather was perfect, not as humid as Mexico or Dominican. Didnt spend any time at the pool as we are beach people. A special thanks goes out to Tevary McGregor at the Palmyra restaurant. Make sure to visit the Jerk Chicken centre on the beach for lunch. Would consider returning in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Good view of the ocean from building 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greeting from our team.

At our Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection we always want to exceed the expectations of our guests; that is why we‘re so happy to read that you have had an amazing vacation with us.
Thank you for your comments and for letting us know that you would like to return in a heartbeat. It was our great pleasure to host you and we hope to see you again in your best Hotel in the Caribbean.

Yours faithfully,

Marvelis Symister
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

absoloutly fantastic !! this was our first time to Jamaica, and loved it. the hotel was fantastic !, was a very large resort, also another first for us, being used to smaller resorts, took us a bit to get used to it, but was great. was a bit of a walk to the beach everyday, but hey, your on "Jamaica time" / relax, it was irie ! the staff did everything they could to make you feel welcome, being in the don pueblo section was definite benefit, and totally worth the cost ! rooms were great ! balcony, awesome! have your own buffet, pool area, beach area with waiter service !! you definatley don't have the large crowds to deal with, that the rest of the resort has to deal with. great ! as for the food in the buffet, was terrific ! there was a few days when we didn't even go to our a la carte, and just did the buffet. was that good. the hotel itself, was great,i see on here people complaining( some people just have to complain about everything) they were always painting/ working on something. was a pleasure to explore everyday. just to sum up, we had a absolute amazing time, and wont hesitate to return !! and will highly recommend to anyone !! we only had the one complaint. were the sheets. when you come in from your day, the sheets were really rough, and seemed to have the thread count of paper towel lmao.. when your sunburnt- its a little painful. lol. but. fabulous resort. and will be back soon !! a special shout out to Holly ( waitress in don pueblo buffet) went out of her way to welcome us , and compliment my girlfriend everynight. just wanted to say thank you !! you did more than you knew. lol

Room Tip: we had a room on the 2nd floor( don pueblo), was a terrific location, great view of ocean, and garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that we have read that you have had a fantastic experience during your first trip to our Resort in Jamaica.

We would like to thank you for your review, and we hope to host you again in the near future in our Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, a 5 star experience in the Caribbean.

Yours faithfully,

Marvelis Symister
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed for a week at the beginning of the month. Maria in the Don Pablo office could not have done enough for us. What a lovely lady and we wish her all the very best in the future. Garey was our butler and he was wonderful. Jody was our maid - always with a smile. David the Room Service Supervisor was really terrific and arranged some nice things for us. We were not overjoyed with our room especially the bed however the staff and the food made up for it. As I mentioned in the survey that was requested by LBP, it is too bad that they couldn't have taken the rooms and view from Cayo Levantado Samana Dominican Republic and combined them with the staff and service of Runaway Bay - now that would be a winning combination!! There are so many wonderful servers at all of the restaurants and I cannot just mention one or two. I do need to give a shout out to Gary who is an artist in Pueblo Principe. He painted me a picture that I will have forever. Please check out his work and if there is something that you would like him to paint he will do it for you and his costs are very reasonable. Overall this was a bang on holiday and the people who work here should be proud of themselves for a job well done. Thanks for all of your hard work to give us such a great holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a king bed. The mattresses may be hard but far better than the two doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

At our Luxury Runaway Don Pablo Collection, we always try to make our guest’s vacation dreams come true; that is why it is always an honored to us to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay.

We thank you for your comments, and we would love to be afforded with the opportunity to host you once again in our property or other of our Hotel chain.

Yours sincerely,

Marvelis Symister
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was our first trip to Jamaica we booked at the luxury gran Bahia in the don Pablo collection.
Worth every penny resort was beautiful don Pablo is really adults only super plus for us.
Service to your lounge bed in this wing the staff are so helpful happy and friendly. Donnette made sure our room was very well cleaned and well stocked and her towels creations were a nice touch. For breakfast in the palmyra it was a great to see Tommy and her huge smile. In the Grill we were lucky enough to have Alcott twice he wa so sweet and attentive. Thanks to all the staff who knows this might the first resort we return to . It was very enjoyable. Rooms appeared slightly worn though. But everything else was perfect.

Room Tip: Most ocean view have two beds ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very proud that you have chosen our Resort for your first trip to our beautiful Jamaica and the fact that we have been able to surpass your expectations with our services.

We would like to express our gratitude for your review and your honest words and we hope to host you again on your next vacation in our Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection your best Hotel in the Caribbean.

Warm regards,

Marvelis Symister
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Overall not a bad experience. Paid the extra for the Don Pablo upgrade, worth the money. Towels and Bar fridge not restocked daily and alot of road noise from busy hi way out front. The evening staff at the DP pool bar were NOT friendly at all, it was not busy in the evenings there and we looked like we were really an inconvienience. Staff in the Don Pablo reservation area not friendly either.
Holly and Wayne in DP buffet were fantastic! Marvalin on the DP beach area was also fantastic!!
I must say that if the hotel wants to have cats around, they should look after them. They had open wounds from ticks or fleas and wanted to jump on on the people's laps. They are all pregnant as well with no where to have their kittens! This was very upsetting to see!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is good to know that despite of some issues that you experienced in our Resort you have enjoyed your New Year vacation with us. We also have noticed your observations. We assure you that corrective measure will be taken so as not to have a reoccurrence of such situations.

It has been our pleasure to host you and we will be more than happy to host you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection

Address: Salt Coopers. Runaway Bay. Jamaica, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (20% discount on some treatments) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) 2 main restaurants 5 speciality restaurants 5 Bars 1 Snack bar Exclusive terrace bar serving Premium drinks Private check-in/out Late check-out subject to availability 18 hole golf course. Pueblo Principe: stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 70 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: Four poster king size bed or 2 full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting are with sofa Balcony or terrace with sea view Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower, hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathro be and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Ironing set Beach towels in rooms 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms (available on request) Evening turndown service Pillow menu Safe (no additional charge) Internet and international newspapers and magazines in the Club House WiFi (additional charge) Aroma menu Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only): The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.