We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 25th wedding anniverary trip to look back upon with wonderful memories!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special January Sale!
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A 25th wedding anniverary trip to look back upon with wonderful memories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Overall, this was a wonderful experience for my wife and I. This trip was a gift my wife and I gave to each other in celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary. It also just happened to be my wife's birthday for the first day of our stay. I had mentioned it to the staff in the Don Pablo lounge when we checked in, and when my wife & I returned from dinner that first night, we were overwhelmed with how the room had been decorated with lit candles, balloons, rose pedals, and a bubble bath that had been prepared for my wife to enjoy. In addition, they left us a bottle of iced down champagne with two glasses. This was extremely thoughtful and wonderfully overwhelming!!

The resort is beautiful. I understand it is only 5 years old, so it is in extremely good shape. The landscaping and gardens are kept up beautifully! You can't go wrong with the half dozen restaurants. The Dolce italian restaurant was our favorite. Set right on the water, the view is breathtaking! We were able to take in the unbelievable sunset, which I took many pictures of, and also played photographer for a number of other couples.

We stayed in Bldg 24, which is one of the newest additions and part of the Don Pablo collection. We highly suggest you request this location with an upper floor (ours was on the 5th floor, room 24501). We had a corner unit, so we were able to view our pool, the gardens, ocean, and mountains.

The beach area is a little walk because it is to the opposite side of the resort from where we were, but not too awfully bad. There is separate location for the Don Pablo guests, but we preferred to walk down to near the very end of the beach, where there were trees to lay under or just enjoy the sun. This area was breezier, too, which was nice. This location also had a restroom, plus a small bar hut serving up any type of drink you wanted.

This resort was truly paradise, and we would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Building 24 is newest addition, and part of Don Pablo collection. Corner room on the 5th floor gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Kurt,

Congratulations for your 25th Anniversary. We appreciate that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate such an important date.

Thank you for providing us with the warm account of your experiences. We are delighted to know that we have been able to surprise you with unexpected details; you liked your room and its location which allowed you to have perfect views of the surroundings. We are glad to read that you have also loved the food, especially at the Italian restaurant where you enjoyed the cuisine and the sunsets.

It is motivating to our entire team when we see reviews like yours. It was an honor to be able to serve you; we are already looking forward to host you on your upcoming vacation.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

during our stay at the bahia we found that the don pablo was well worth the extra cost.it provided all the extras of a private club as a home away from home.the ladies there were really great and went beyond the call of duty.Lorraine, the manager was on the beach each day,seeing all were happy and helped organize a birthday party with more than we could done ourselves.Petagay,too,was good.They were the bright point of our stay.
Otherwise,the Bahia could use a new executive chef.
Simon K
Alla R

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Simon,

We value your note about your stay with us. It is rewarding to know that you enjoyed the amenities and overall the services provided by the accommodating staff that made you feel in your home away from home. We sincerely regret we couldn't impress you with our chef and we wholeheartedly apologize for any inconvenience you may have had.

We sincerely hope that this situation will not tarnish your overall perception of your stay and you will grant yet us another opportunity to host you and provide an amazing vacation.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

As an employee of the Hospitality and Tourism Industry, I would very much like to congratulate the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Management team on proving their true worth. My family and I stayed at this luxurious property for the weekend and I must say that we loved, loved, loved it :)))

We stayed on the Don Pablo section which is truly luxury. Top quality service is definitely guaranteed there. Upon arrival we were greeted by our butler Peta- Gaye, who was so warm and friendly with kids. We were taken to the Don Pablo Lounge where we were checked in by a most knowledgeable and friendly Agent Cordell. Our room was on the 7th floor on building 24 and the view was spectacular :))) We dined at both buffet and Mikado (Japanese Restaurant) and the food was scrumptious to the fact that I'm still reminiscing on the "fried ice cream" that we ordered for dessert at Mikado.

I must commend the cleanliness of the resort, the spacious rooms and bathrooms. We were never short on amenities. My kids also loved the kids club. The Harmony dance group is very talented. The group did a rendition of Michael Jackson on Sunday night and it was well applauded. This is my third time at the Grand Bahia and there will be a fourth,fifth and forever time, lol !!

I would like to thank the GM Ricardo Esteban and Don Pablo's Lounge Manager Lorraine for their warm hospitality. Am pretty sure that all Apple Vacationers will truly enjoy your wonderful property and share the wonderful experience with their family and friends alike. I will be back :)))

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Elena,

Firstly we would like to thank you for your praises to our Management team; we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed all of your stay specially the luxurious room and views, butler services, cleanliness and the accommodating staff. Thank you for mentioning the name of some of our coworkers that gave you the feeling of being truly pampered in your home away from home.

On behalf of General Manager and staff, thank you for choosing the Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection. We are already looking forward to see you again in our hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My family and I had a great time at Bahia Principe. The staff and service were excellent. The ladies in the Don Pablo lounge made us feel special and we just loved them (check them out Lorraine, Coredell and Peta Gay...among others, just can't remember their names). We felt like we were home away from home. We did not want to leave. This was our second time there and a lot of the staff remembered us. We will definitely go back and third time and beyond.

Room Tip: The newer sections of the resort are amazing especially if you prefer sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection for the second time and also for letting us know that you have enjoyed the services and the hospitality of the staff. It is grateful to learn that we have been able to provide you a home away from home.

On behalf of our management and staff thank you for sharing your remarks with us. We cannot wait to see you again very soon in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Isel Salgado
Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our stay at the Grand Bahia Principe was fantastic. We are going to give you an honest review of our stay with all of the bonuses, and pitfalls of staying at this resort.

First and foremost, the Don Pablo Collection is THE way to stay at this resort. When my new wife and myself first checked in, we were mistakenly placed in a standard room without a view (due largely to our idiot travel agent). The standard rooms are alright, but not even close to what we were expecting. We opted to upgrade, and it was the best decision we could have made! The service was impeccable, prompt and really made you feel like royalty.

In the Don Pablo, you are issued your own butler. I know it sounds a little extreme, but these people help to make the experience that much more special! Our butler, Peta-Gey was everything we could have hoped for, and really was an amazing woman. After a very rough start to our vacation (travel agent), we went for dinner, and returned to our room covered in little candles and flower pedals with a message written on the bed. As I said, while the butler service seems a little extreme, they really do make the experience special.

The Don Pablo section of the pool was nice, not very busy, and quiet (exactly what we wanted). The pool-bar service, however, wasn't nearly as prompt as the standard section. With the exception of Rouel, the Don Pablo bartender, the rest were either 'pre-occupied', or greeted you with a rude and irritated attitude. Over our stay, the only bartender we saw going poolside for drink orders was Rouel.

All of the a la cartes were great. The buffet was typical buffet food. The Don Pablo restaurant, however, is the class of the entire resort. Entirely table service, our server Dameon made each and every other waiter/waitress we encountered over our stay seem sub-par. If you can get a reservation in the Don Pablo Restaurant, take full advantage!

*NOTE* If you're looking for a party-vacay, the Don Pablo Collection is NOT what you're looking for. This section is for those who are here to relax, enjoy the atmosphere, and be pampered.

Recap:
- Good resort: not much to do in terms of activities, but the Don Pablo upgrade made it worth it!
- Drinks: Go see Rouel and ask for the Cool, or Frozen Runnins' (expect a laugh)
- Servers: In Don Pablo ask specifically for Dameon, and order the 'prime rib'. UNREAL!
- Butler: Peta-Gey, big smiles and big laughs. Amazing woman who will make your experience truly special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Brian,

We appreciate your remarks about the amenities of our Luxury Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection. It is thrilling to know you have enjoyed the butler service, beach and pool, in-lounge bar, food and overall the services and facilities.

Thank you, for your effort to remember the names of our staff that had the pleasure to serve you and made of yours, a delightful stay.

Should you stay with us again, we will be more than happy to provide you with other amazing vacations.

Yours faithfully,

Isel Salgado
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Requested Block 24 prior to arrival as this is the newest section of the resort. Upon arrival, we discovered our request was met. We were given rooms in this section ( Don Pablo) without the upgraded service or cost. Very happy with the rooms, spotless, luxury feel.Rooms in this section furthest from lobby, restaurants, entertainment and best beach area but very quiet and the walking was welcomed . This is our fourth stay in a Bahia and we would recommend this resort to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onthemira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for publishing your remarks on TripAdvisor. We appreciate how you have described the feeling of luxury in your accommodation and you have enjoyed the private lounge as well as the sections at the beach and the pool.

Looking forward to host you again at our resort,

Yours faithfully,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I had originally booked this hotel with a Diamond level of service, we had a king bed, ocean front next to the beach area.

We took-up the Bahia's offer to stay at Secrets Resort for two days to help elevate the Bahia's over-booked situation, upon our return we were to be upgraded to their highest level of service Luxury for the remainder of our vacation.

That is when our positive feelings for this hotel ended there were 8 of us returning from Secrets, in Montego Bay and had each booked this excursion individually. Firstly the bus sent to pick us up was 1 hour late and when we got back to the hotel "none of us" had rooms reserved and Staff in the Luxury Level said they would need to speak with the manager first and to return in a half hour to give them time to sort this mess out.

When my husband and I returned this is now after 5 pm we were given a room with two double beds we had a king bed before we left for Secrets?

After demanding to speak with a manager personally the staff "on their own" decided to switch the room being given to one being held for travellers who were yet to arrive that day. Perhaps this should have been done in the being when we all arrived? By the time all of us were in our respective rooms it was getting on to 6:30 pm. Our entire vacation day was wasted by this fiasco.

The Luxury level provides room-service, something the Diamond level did not, but there was no room-service menu in the room, had to call down twice for that. Also the key for the room safe was to be provided with our room package, but they ran out of keys that day it does not work without a key?

My experience with Bahia's different levels of service, is although the thought is there to make guests believe they are being treated special the only real differences where in the private lounge area provided for each of these levels. Each upgrade had a larger lounge area with premium brands of alcohol

Diamond Level Lounge - provides free Internet service in their lounge, no bar
Gold Level Lounge - a bit larger had free internet service and a small bar
Luxury Level Lounge - contained two rooms one for staff for inquires and one with bar complete with bartender and two laptops for free internet service

Once out of the Lounge area and in the resort you get what everyone else gets no matter the colour of your bracelet.

All rooms look the same inside and all provide slippers and robes. Gold and luxury level rooms are closer to the lobby and include 2 mini bottles of liquor in the fridge also included are added a couple more al cart reservations which we never received when we returned and lost the ones previously booked before we left, because now our room number was different. Free Internet is only available in the lobby or your specified level lounge.

This hotel is extremely large and always seems to be over-booking itself, perhaps a few more staff being hired for the dining areas and better management in the booking area would elevate some of the problems we occurred. Carpets in hallways are well worn and stained and were never vacuumed the entire week of our stay. Sometimes you get face cloths sometimes not sometimes you get blanket in your room and sometimes not???

Also I would like to suggest to management that someone from the hotel board the bus before guests disembark to enter the hotel and direct guests as to where they need to check in for their level.

There is no signage provided in the lobby and everyone lines up and goes to the front desk just to be sent off to their designated level lounge, some of these lounges are quite a ways from the front entrance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wpgtraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilse S, Social Media Coordinator at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret that we were not able to fulfill your expectations and we are very appreciative of your review. We can assure you that we will take good note about it to check this information with relevant department’s heads to give these matters the proper attention.

On behalf of our General Manager and all Team Members, we apologize for the situations you experienced during your stay; we would appreciate the opportunity to revise your perception of our hotel.

Yours respectfully,

Isel Salgado
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
30.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
1.5 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
12.4 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
27.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection

Address: Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (20% discount on some treatments) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre Wedding gazebo WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) 2 main restaurants 5 speciality restaurants 5 Bars 1 Snack bar Exclusive terrace bar serving Premium drinks Private check-in/out Late check-out subject to availability 18 hole golf course. Pueblo Principe: stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 70 Deluxe Junior Suites Room facilities: Four poster king size bed or 2 full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting are with sofa Balcony or terrace with sea view Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower, hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathro be and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Ironing set Beach towels in rooms 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms (available on request) Evening turndown service Pillow menu Safe (no additional charge) Internet and international newspapers and magazines in the Club House WiFi (additional charge) Aroma menu Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only): The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing